We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Grinnell hotels

Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 West Street South, Grinnell, IA 50112
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Benjamin B Enon, Ohio
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
35
15
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Enon, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The facilities all appear to be up to date and in good working order. The lot is spacious enough so you don't worry about people mangling your car. The beds are comfy and the noise level is low. All in all with a great staff this is a fine place to stop, and it doesn't break the bank.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

What a comfortable room and bed. We slept great. We had a standard King room. Shower was hot and refreshing, nice hair for sitting and a satisfying breakfast with options of waffles, cereal, yogurt, bacon,eggs,sausage and many beverages. We would stay here again. The only negative was getting the tv to work, they did not respond until the morning but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We are very pleased that you gave us with the opportunity to serve your family and with the excellent feedback you have provided us with. Our top priority is to creating an environment in which our guests can relax and recharge. I am glad to hear that you have had... More 

Madison, WI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

OK. I was going to let it all slide but I am now writing my first review ever on TripAdvisor because I am so disgusted with this place. And they could have had my business for years while my child went to the college in town. I checked in and got minimal information from the clerk (she admitted she was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

I would like to first apologize for the issues your family had while you were here. There is a field behind our hotel and when they mow it does on occasion send bugs into our hotel. We do have an exterminator that comes out often to spray and maintain our hotel. We will continue to make every effort to making... More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We had a horrible experience here. Bugs in our room, charged us for 2 nights that we didn't stay and wouldn't refund our money. Went through Better Business Bureau and no response from hotel. Management very uncooperative and disrespectful. Will NEVER stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Sorry for the issues you have been having with us here at the Comfort Inn I apologize for the inconveniences this issue must have caused. If you contact the hotels number and ask for the General Manager Monday- Friday any time after 8am I would be more than happy to help you resolve this issue. Once again I do apologize... More 

Evening Shade, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

After staying in H Inn Xpress for a few years, and landing in one in Des Moines this weekend with bugs I am now switching alliegence to Comfort Inn. This place has the most comfortable beds and pillows and very quiet place to sleep……will stop here and at others in the chain from now on…..Great coffee shop downtown called Back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey we really appreciate the excellent feedback. Also we are very pleased to hear that you liked us and have decided to switch to the choice brands of Hotels. In the future if there is anything we can do to help please let me know. More 

Rochester NY
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Very nice quiet hotel room with comfortable beds and clean bathroom. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast. There was no coffee!! Apparently the coffee for the machine was frozen so had to be thawed. The food was mostly carbs - pastries made with white flour. More fruit could be offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. I apologize for the way our breakfast was as you should have been able to get coffee at any time throughout the day. I will make sure to get with the staff and make sure they understand that we need to be making sure the things we offer are... More 

Ruidoso, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

These guys were pretty great. Stayed here twice in a week. Both times the rooms were nice and clean, Breakfast was good their pool has awesome lights Anthony and Cindy were great THANKS GUYS definitely see you all next time around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey it is really appriceated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and hope that we see you again the next time you are in our area. More 

Lincoln, Ne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We were in one of the queen 2 room suites. My girls loved that our room had a living room attached. Our room was quite, clean and comfortable. We arrived late and needed to find milk for our 1year old, the desk person heard our daughter begging for milk and let us have some from the breakfast room! What a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey we really appreciate your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Comfort Inn and hope that in the future if there is anything we can do to help that you do not hesitate to let us know. More 

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Hotel seems to have been constructed cheaply. I am a frequent traveler and I have never heard someone snoring in the next room as loud as I did here. In the middle of the night I though the ceiling was leaking because of the loud water running. Only to realize that it was someone flushing the toilet. I could hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

My staff and I would like to take the time to thank you for giving us your feedback. We are very sorry about the issue with your swimming trunks, and would like to apologize for this happening. We have looked into and fixed the issue with the pool. More 

Newburyport
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a nice hotel. Clean, comfortable beds, and quiet. The night desk clerk, Justin, was very helpful. It is close to the highway, and there are several decent restaurants nearby. We would definitely stop there again when we drive through Iowa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

My staff and I would like to take the time to thank you for giving us your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are very glad to hear that you will be coming to visit us again. If there is anything we can do to help please do not hesitate to let us know. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

Address: 1630 West Street South, Grinnell, IA 50112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grinnell
Grinnell Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell Iowa

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay