We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1630 West Street South, Grinnell, IA 50112
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Christina P
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
38
15
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While on the road we had a wi-to computer emergency. Anthony was kind enough to let us plug in and meet the college assignment deadline(professors are unreasonable). Anthony also offered us coffe and breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We are very pleased that you gave us with the opportunity to serve your family and with the excellent feedback you have provided us with. Our top priority is to creating an environment in which our guests can relax and recharge. I am glad to hear that you met your... More 

Lemont, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night while there was a big swim meet in town. Hotel was full. Had some difficulty getting housekeeping to do a decent job. They took our open soap, shampoo and conditioner after the first night and did not replace it. They also made only one of the 2 beds. And they did not replace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

We would like to appoligize for the issues you had while you where here and I would like to inform you that we are making some changes to the way we haddle situations to make sure that in the future that this type of thing doesn't happen again. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night while there was a big swim meet in town. Hotel was full. Had some difficulty getting housekeeping to do a decent job. They took our open soap, shampoo and conditioner after the first night and did not replace it. They also made only one of the 2 beds. And they did not replace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. Our housekeeping individuals we ask to not move personal belonging and to clean around them to ensure we do not throw anything away that is not suppose to be. More 

Enon, Ohio
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The facilities all appear to be up to date and in good working order. The lot is spacious enough so you don't worry about people mangling your car. The beds are comfy and the noise level is low. All in all with a great staff this is a fine place to stop, and it doesn't break the bank.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for picking the Comfort Inn and Suites while in the Grinnell area. We are very pleased that you gave us with the opportunity to serve you! Our top priority is to creating an environment in which our guests can relax and recharge. I am glad to hear that you have had a great stay with us at our... More 

Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

What a comfortable room and bed. We slept great. We had a standard King room. Shower was hot and refreshing, nice hair for sitting and a satisfying breakfast with options of waffles, cereal, yogurt, bacon,eggs,sausage and many beverages. We would stay here again. The only negative was getting the tv to work, they did not respond until the morning but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We are very pleased that you gave us with the opportunity to serve your family and with the excellent feedback you have provided us with. Our top priority is to creating an environment in which our guests can relax and recharge. I am glad to hear that you have had... More 

Madison, WI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

OK. I was going to let it all slide but I am now writing my first review ever on TripAdvisor because I am so disgusted with this place. And they could have had my business for years while my child went to the college in town. I checked in and got minimal information from the clerk (she admitted she was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

I would like to first apologize for the issues your family had while you were here. There is a field behind our hotel and when they mow it does on occasion send bugs into our hotel. We do have an exterminator that comes out often to spray and maintain our hotel. We will continue to make every effort to making... More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We had a horrible experience here. Bugs in our room, charged us for 2 nights that we didn't stay and wouldn't refund our money. Went through Better Business Bureau and no response from hotel. Management very uncooperative and disrespectful. Will NEVER stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Sorry for the issues you have been having with us here at the Comfort Inn I apologize for the inconveniences this issue must have caused. If you contact the hotels number and ask for the General Manager Monday- Friday any time after 8am I would be more than happy to help you resolve this issue. Once again I do apologize... More 

Evening Shade, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

After staying in H Inn Xpress for a few years, and landing in one in Des Moines this weekend with bugs I am now switching alliegence to Comfort Inn. This place has the most comfortable beds and pillows and very quiet place to sleep……will stop here and at others in the chain from now on…..Great coffee shop downtown called Back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey we really appreciate the excellent feedback. Also we are very pleased to hear that you liked us and have decided to switch to the choice brands of Hotels. In the future if there is anything we can do to help please let me know. More 

Rochester NY
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Very nice quiet hotel room with comfortable beds and clean bathroom. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast. There was no coffee!! Apparently the coffee for the machine was frozen so had to be thawed. The food was mostly carbs - pastries made with white flour. More fruit could be offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. I apologize for the way our breakfast was as you should have been able to get coffee at any time throughout the day. I will make sure to get with the staff and make sure they understand that we need to be making sure the things we offer are... More 

Ruidoso, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

These guys were pretty great. Stayed here twice in a week. Both times the rooms were nice and clean, Breakfast was good their pool has awesome lights Anthony and Cindy were great THANKS GUYS definitely see you all next time around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey it is really appriceated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and hope that we see you again the next time you are in our area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question