We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Grinnell hotels

Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 West Street South, Grinnell, IA 50112
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
irate g Evening Shade, Arkansas
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
34
15
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Madison, WI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OK. I was going to let it all slide but I am now writing my first review ever on TripAdvisor because I am so disgusted with this place. And they could have had my business for years while my child went to the college in town. I checked in and got minimal information from the clerk (she admitted she was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

I would like to first apologize for the issues your family had while you were here. There is a field behind our hotel and when they mow it does on occasion send bugs into our hotel. We do have an exterminator that comes out often to spray and maintain our hotel. We will continue to make every effort to making... More

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a horrible experience here. Bugs in our room, charged us for 2 nights that we didn't stay and wouldn't refund our money. Went through Better Business Bureau and no response from hotel. Management very uncooperative and disrespectful. Will NEVER stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Sorry for the issues you have been having with us here at the Comfort Inn I apologize for the inconveniences this issue must have caused. If you contact the hotels number and ask for the General Manager Monday- Friday any time after 8am I would be more than happy to help you resolve this issue. Once again I do apologize... More

Evening Shade, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After staying in H Inn Xpress for a few years, and landing in one in Des Moines this weekend with bugs I am now switching alliegence to Comfort Inn. This place has the most comfortable beds and pillows and very quiet place to sleep……will stop here and at others in the chain from now on…..Great coffee shop downtown called Back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey we really appreciate the excellent feedback. Also we are very pleased to hear that you liked us and have decided to switch to the choice brands of Hotels. In the future if there is anything we can do to help please let me know. More

Rochester NY
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Very nice quiet hotel room with comfortable beds and clean bathroom. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast. There was no coffee!! Apparently the coffee for the machine was frozen so had to be thawed. The food was mostly carbs - pastries made with white flour. More fruit could be offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. I apologize for the way our breakfast was as you should have been able to get coffee at any time throughout the day. I will make sure to get with the staff and make sure they understand that we need to be making sure the things we offer are... More

Ruidoso, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

These guys were pretty great. Stayed here twice in a week. Both times the rooms were nice and clean, Breakfast was good their pool has awesome lights Anthony and Cindy were great THANKS GUYS definitely see you all next time around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey it is really appriceated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and hope that we see you again the next time you are in our area. More

Lincoln, Ne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We were in one of the queen 2 room suites. My girls loved that our room had a living room attached. Our room was quite, clean and comfortable. We arrived late and needed to find milk for our 1year old, the desk person heard our daughter begging for milk and let us have some from the breakfast room! What a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey we really appreciate your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Comfort Inn and hope that in the future if there is anything we can do to help that you do not hesitate to let us know. More

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Hotel seems to have been constructed cheaply. I am a frequent traveler and I have never heard someone snoring in the next room as loud as I did here. In the middle of the night I though the ceiling was leaking because of the loud water running. Only to realize that it was someone flushing the toilet. I could hear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

My staff and I would like to take the time to thank you for giving us your feedback. We are very sorry about the issue with your swimming trunks, and would like to apologize for this happening. We have looked into and fixed the issue with the pool. More

Newburyport
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a nice hotel. Clean, comfortable beds, and quiet. The night desk clerk, Justin, was very helpful. It is close to the highway, and there are several decent restaurants nearby. We would definitely stop there again when we drive through Iowa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

My staff and I would like to take the time to thank you for giving us your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are very glad to hear that you will be coming to visit us again. If there is anything we can do to help please do not hesitate to let us know. More

Grand Ledge, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This is a nice property, nothing fancy but the room was nice and clean. A little bit off the beaten path (from the town) but that made it a quieter stay. Breakfast was good and the front desk person was extremely nice and helpful. Only negative - the towels were quite threadbare and really needed to be tossed and new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

My staff and I would like to take the time to thank you for giving us your feedback. We are very sorry about the issue with our towels, and would like to apologize for this happening. We are looking into getting all the worn towels out of our inventory and replaced with new ones. We are very glad you enjoyed... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

All things being said be assured these are NICE people. It is Iowa and the hotel business, so they should be nice people. There are hard working Midwestern folks. Poor Josh took in a family that wanted adjacent rooms just ahead of me and another fellow. The 90-day wonder Josh just was not trained enough to efficiently do this. Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthonyGMGrinnell, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. I have decided to do retraining with my employee's to make sure these types of situations Do not happen again as this is unacceptable. I am very sorry about the situation with your toilet and you are correct they should be flushing them. This happens in my opinion when they... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

Address: 1630 West Street South, Grinnell, IA 50112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grinnell
Grinnell Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell Iowa

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby