We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Grinnell hotels

Super 8 Grinnell

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2111 West Street South, Highway 146 and I-80 Exit 182, Grinnell, IA 50112
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Grinnell to your Saves list
Super 8 Grinnell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
18%
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    21
    14
    23
See reviews for
28
11
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had left some collectoe coins on the cabinet in front of the The reason for our stay at the Super 8. After a quite long drive from SD to Grinnell, we were hoping to have a great stay and get some rest. Much to our surprise we noticed that other patrons were allowed to have pets in their rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballwin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not return. The room was dirty, the pool was closed "due to maintenance", the air conditioning did not work, and the staff did not even bother to ask how my stay was. I will not return.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have good luck with Super 8 motels and this typical. Room was clean and neat and everything worked. Microwave and refrigerator in the room. We reserved the wrong kind of room but the manager was unable to change even though the place wasn't filled. The indoor pool was closed for repairs, but we wouldn't have used it anyway. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Iowa for a NASCAR and Indycar race. It was a nice short distance from the race track. We booked it way ahead of time so we got a great price for the room. The hotel it's self wasn't anything extraordinary but was good enough for the price and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We called the hotel direct to book a 2 nights stay for July 3rd & 4th. We were told they had rooms available, so we booked a room for 2 nights. We arrived to check in and at that time was told the hotel was being remodeled and the pool was closed for maintenance! I was not happy about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here during the college event. hotel was very cleaned and friendly. Rooms were spacious. . We have stayed at a different hotel every time. We will now be staying here, going and coming back.here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice notes about our hotel! I am sure that future guests will find your comments very useful! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you were able to visit college events while you were here! We hope to welcome you back to the super 8... More

Grinnell
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Newly remodeled, but not yet completed (no place to hang clothes, no hangers), there were clearly teething issues (I was told we were the first to stay in the remodeled room). Every time we took a shower and left the door to the bathroom open, the fire alarm/smoke detector went off (very loud). First time was 7:00 am, we were... More

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit to Grinnell, Iowa. My apologies for the challenges you experienced from our team while at the hotel. I will address the various items you mentioned in an effort to improve our overall service levels. Again thank you for staying with us and my sincere apologies for our team... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Super 8 Grinnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Grinnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grinnell

Address: 2111 West Street South, Highway 146 and I-80 Exit 182, Grinnell, IA 50112
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Grinnell 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Grinnell
Grinnell Super Eight
Grinnell Super 8
Super 8 Grinnell Iowa

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Grinnell with
any amenities