We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Grinnell hotels

Super 8 Grinnell

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2111 West Street South, Highway 146 and I-80 Exit 182, Grinnell, IA 50112
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Grinnell to your Saves list
Super 8 Grinnell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
19%
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Grinnell
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    20
    14
    20
See reviews for
26
11
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Iowa for a NASCAR and Indycar race. It was a nice short distance from the race track. We booked it way ahead of time so we got a great price for the room. The hotel it's self wasn't anything extraordinary but was good enough for the price and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We called the hotel direct to book a 2 nights stay for July 3rd & 4th. We were told they had rooms available, so we booked a room for 2 nights. We arrived to check in and at that time was told the hotel was being remodeled and the pool was closed for maintenance! I was not happy about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here during the college event. hotel was very cleaned and friendly. Rooms were spacious. . We have stayed at a different hotel every time. We will now be staying here, going and coming back.here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice notes about our hotel! I am sure that future guests will find your comments very useful! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you were able to visit college events while you were here! We hope to welcome you back to the super 8... More

Grinnell
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Newly remodeled, but not yet completed (no place to hang clothes, no hangers), there were clearly teething issues (I was told we were the first to stay in the remodeled room). Every time we took a shower and left the door to the bathroom open, the fire alarm/smoke detector went off (very loud). First time was 7:00 am, we were... More

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit to Grinnell, Iowa. My apologies for the challenges you experienced from our team while at the hotel. I will address the various items you mentioned in an effort to improve our overall service levels. Again thank you for staying with us and my sincere apologies for our team... More

Mankato Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel was under construction at the time but that was ok with us. We would have liked a refrigerator in our room but that did not turn us off. We will continue to stay at Super 8 Hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write out your stay with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Super 8 we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! Sincerely... Hema Patel More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel EVER. Floor in bathroom is falling through. Found a beer bottle under the bed and blood on the toilet. Construction workers living in the rooms walking around with their shirts off. Pool is not in service and has been for almost a year. Awful beds and the rooms are terrible. Spend a little more money and don't stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Grinnell, responded to this review

First I want to extend my apologies for your negative experience here with us. We are working very diligently to renovate the place to make our guests stay here a better one. I again want to extend our appologies and hope that you will give us another chance once these renovations are complete soon . Thanks Hema Patel More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Super 8 Grinnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Grinnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grinnell

Address: 2111 West Street South, Highway 146 and I-80 Exit 182, Grinnell, IA 50112
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Grinnell 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Grinnell
Grinnell Super Eight
Grinnell Super 8
Super 8 Grinnell Iowa

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
53

See which rooms travelers prefer