We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2210 West St South, Grinnell, IA 50112-8108
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Estelle F Colorado Springs, United States
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    18
    16
    6
See reviews for
62
23
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect hotel for families. Excellent service the staff were helpful and friendly. The facility is clean and well cared for. The rooms are good size and the beds very comfortable. Close to restaurants and gas stations.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. We appreciate all feed back, it helps use to continue to move forward and to make each and every stay with use the best it can be.. If there is anything we can help with in the future please feel free to contact use. We look forward to your... More 

Wellington, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have a great room next to the breakfast room and so convenient. Could stay here forever! This place is about seven years old and tastily decorated. There is a restaurant and bar but we didn't have time to check it out. We were just here for one night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was very clean, pool was fine - not too cold, but not warm, breakfast was good with plenty of options. There were not enough people working in the morning, but the staff was friendly and working hard to accommodate everyone. We would likely stay here again when traveling that way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

You can tell they are trying hard on a remodel. They have put in new fixtures, furniture,paint but it still smells old and musty. The hallways were kind of dark and you didn't need a key to get in the building. The wifi was also not strong enough to stay connected. All that being said The bed was comfy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the... More 

Minneapolis, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

When visiting our son at college, we always stay at the Best Western in Grinnell. The rooms are nice, sleeping is excellent, and the breakfast works for our busy schedule. Would recommend this hotel again and again. Any issues we have had have been quickly resolved.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey if helps use to contiue to improve your stay with use. If there is anything we can do please feel free to contact me at pioneerinn29@gmail.com or you may call the hotel directly at 641-236-6116. More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The hotel was under construction for Remodel and updates. There was also a college swim meet in town. We found to be very clean. The hotel is in two separate buildings, we stayed in the seperate building and it was newly remodeled and painted. The rooms are small as is the bathroom, but very comfortable, as we did not spend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey, all feed back is greatly excepted and will allow use to continue to grow. Feel free to contact use directly at the Hotel 641-236-6116 if we can assist you in the future. And again it was our pleasure having you with use. The Hotel Staff Grinnell Best Western More 

Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The Inn was pleasant - the room well appointed; only problem was the heating unit cycled every 2 minutes and was extremely noisy. If the unit were fixed it would be an excellent rating. The rooms exuded luxury - which was surprising for middle of Iowa. The steak house next door added to the stay in a positive way. Good... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the review , all feedback is very helpful in making your next stay more enjoyable. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The Best Western Plus at Grinnell, Iowa, was a super clean hotel. For me, that is most important. Everything worked properly, the beds were comfy, the staff was great. It isn't fancy, but it has all you need. I already booked my next trip there in May.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for complete the review. We look forward to your next stay and for you to see all the update we have completed . More 

Lake Mills, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

When checking in the Manager Laurie told us that they were not full and would not upgrade us even though we are Best Western Diamond Rewards Members. She said that they never upgrade and said it very nasty. She complained about being at her job all day and not leaving the building. We as guests really do not want nor... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. I do apologize if you miss understood what I was tell you at check in and that we had you in the best available room possible unless you wanted to pay for the Jacuzzi suite (this is a specialty room and not included in the up-grad promo). We always give... More 

McPherson, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times and have not been disappointed. Will stay here again. The manager assisted me at check-in and was very helpful. The room was clean and well arranged. Parking was convenient to get to my room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review. We do appreciate your feedback. We strive to make all our guest feel relaxed and comfortable plus we appreciate our returning guest . Thank you again for taking the time to help use continue to grow. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question