We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2210 West St South, Grinnell, IA 50112-8108
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites
Add Photo

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    52
    21
    19
    6
See reviews for
67
29
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came in very tired the front desk was so nice and the next morning the Breakfast was wonderful. If I come back this way I WILL stay here again. rooms clean, breakfast good, front desk and the rest of the staff very helpful and friendly. Could not asked for a better stay..

Was this review helpful? Yes
hjf46
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was clean. Property is now smoke free, but it is obvious in the halls that it used to allow smoking--that smell never goes away. But the room smelled okay. Room has been refurbished so shower and toilet were great, but there was mold on the ceiling. Breakfast was typical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly, the room was clean, our bed was comfortable, the breakfast was great, and we loved the large pool and hot tub. We stayed in the main building and had a bottom floor room. It doesn't have an elevator, and I don't climb stairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First the good: friendly staff, comfortable beds, good shower and nice pool and hot tub. Now the problems: Musty halls smell of cleaning compounds, broken outside door in south building (a security issue as people prop it open with a rock), wifi mostly not working (see previous reviews of this hotel). Very basic. Hard to believe this is the second-best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We do apologize that your stay was not to your expectation . The door and WIFI have been addressed. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 641-236-6116 . Sincerely,... More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have a great stay in Grinnell IA. We also needed to travel to Montazuma IA both days and it was very easy on I80. The hotel staff was always pleasant. The woman at the front desk was helpful with directions.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Lakeville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel room was very clean, and it looked liked the bathroom had been recently updated. The staff were friendly. There were a few youth baseball teams staying as well in the hotel but it was still quiet. The only downside was breakfast left a little to be desired. We arrived at 9:30 (closes at 10) to find it bare.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.... More 

Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has done a nice job in updating the rooms. VERY Clean and comfortable. We only stayed one night, but will definitely stay again as we travel. The HOT breakfast was just delicious. (the scrambled eggs were scrumptuous) We were there on a Friday morning, but went down just before breakfast was to end. The staff had kept plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It is really nice to here from our guest and what they like and disliked with their stay. We are doing our very best to make each stay memorable. If there is anything we can do for you please contact use at the hotel. More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After driving for 12 hours and 700 miles, we needed a place to lay our heads. Grinnell Iowa was chosen because it was the "Biggest town" that was close. I'll be honest, we didn't expect a lot. This is rather a hole in the wall town, surrounded by lots of fields and not much else. Well, we were very pleasently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. We do our very best to make each stay memorable. All feed back good and bad is appreciated so that we can continue to improve. If there is anything we can do to further assist you please contact us at the hotel. More 

Mahwah NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poor amenities, towels were few and flimsy. Had to wait for someone to come over to use the gym and they took my license until I finished. Room was large enough to accommodate 3 adults and a caged pet. Room was quiet. Breakfast was standard. Room was clean Went to Grinnell Steakhouse for dinner close by. Service was friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet you standards. As for the Exercise facility it is hotel policy that you leave your ID at the front desk, this is for security and safety reasons, this way we know when your in there and when you are done and have returned safely. We hope that you will visit our hotel again. More 

Watertown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This hotel was excellent. Very clean, beds and pillows were so comfortable, room was clean. Towels a little scratchy, but overall, a very nice place to stay. Breakfast area was neat, employees kept everything filled, food was good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey, it helps use to continually improve to make your next stay as enjoyable as ever. We will work on the towel issue and Thank you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay