We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Dubuque hotels

Days Inn Dubuque

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Dodge Street, Dubuque, IA 52003
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Dubuque to your Saves list
Days Inn Dubuque
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Dubuque
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dale R Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (238)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    80
    63
    33
    32
See reviews for
69
65
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love the electric palm trees at the entrance. Gives such a classy feel to this rather old, but well maintained hotel. Very conveniently located and reasonably priced, this hotel is a hidden gem. Much more upscale than the other chain hotels available in the area. My room was very chilly, good A/C, clean and well maintained, with a new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brown water came out of the shower. I think that's all that needs to be said, but I'll hit on other areas. The room was run down (the kind you keep you shoes or socks on in at all times). The railing outside is under construction so plywood was reinforcing it, which didn't appear very safe. It was very loud... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonably priced but needs lots of updates. Should have stayed somewhere else but we were tired and hungry and needed to sleep. TV wouldn't work so had to walk to desk for batteries because clerk was only one there, then found out the TV was unplugged in back of TV. Desk clerks were very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wish we had spent the extra money to stay somewhere else. This is not the kind of hotel you plan ahead to stay at, more like one you stop at when you are too tired to keep driving and you are desperate. First, we could hardly figure out how to get in the driveway, it is horribly marked! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We do have signage at the top of the entrance coming into the hotel, however I can see how this can be overlooked especially if its your first time in the area. I get lost or miss a turn almost everywhere I go! Most guests appreciate the outside entrances, allowing... More

Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

... but the hotel was in the middle of major construction. [6/13/14] The upper balcony railing of building 3 was supported by plywood. Which isn't such a big deal until we realized that the end staircase was also closed off, and that meant a very VERY long walk from the middle staircase to the next-to-last room at the end of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay! Our construction is now complete and all stairwells are open for use. There were safety reasons the one stairwell was off limits during the renovation. I am sorry if this was an inconvenience for you. We look forward to your next stay, located off the main highway our location is very convenient and close to... More

West Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Do yourself a favor, spend the extra money and do not stay here. People were sitting outside on makeshift chairs, drinking and smoking pot. There were old automobiles that looked like they had been parked in the same spot for weeks. It was not a good spot to stay for any amount of money. We did appreciate the staff. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

I am sorry you were uncomfortable during your stay. When somebody witnesses other people doing things they shouldn't at any hotel, this should be reported immediately to the front desk. Any front desk agent, at any hotel, would remedy and take care of the situation at hand. They are trained to handle any issues that may arise. Believe me when... More

Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Horrible! Clerk never asked how our stay was so I offered my thoughts. We are both elderly disabled and when making reservations asked to be close to lobby. We were put at the very end of a 50 unit block which had no security and on edge of woods. Unloaded bags and keys didn't work (typo). So packed back up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Wow, I am truly sorry your experience was not good. Our front desk staff tries to accommodate all special requests daily. We did have some rooms under renovation which stay vacant during the renovation process. Yes, we were limited on smoking rooms at this time. I am sorry we were unable to get you close to the lobby. The good... More

Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

if you are just visiting this hotel for the spirit bar and grill you will probably enjoy your experience but I would not recommend that anybody spend the night here especially people with children unless you want to explain why the cops are responding to this hotel numerous times a night for the delinquent people who hang out and live... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our lounge area, hotel and for the review. I am not aware of any night(s) when the police responded to our hotel numerous times for any reason. However if this was the case, I do hope you contacted our management to explain what you experienced. All hotels have had the police called, these times being very... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Days Inn Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Days Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dubuque

Address: 1111 Dodge Street, Dubuque, IA 52003
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Dubuque 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Days Inn
Days Inn Dubuque Iowa

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn - Dubuque is a large motel located in the heart of Dubuque. Located only 1 mile from the downtown area on Highway 20. We strive to be the best in service and cleanliness. Featuring: On-site Bar & Grill, Micro/Refrig in each room, free wi-fi, Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, seasonal outdoor pool and courtyard area with smoking/pet-friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

See which rooms travelers prefer