We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

3.5 of 5 350 Bell Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Amazing Autumn Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    119
    68
    52
    40
See reviews for
186
63
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (370)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
There are newer reviews for Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The rooms at the Grand Harbor while possibly on the small side for families with children were clean, equipped with the basics plus a microwave and refrigerator. The room rate was very reasonable and included a real (not continental) breakfast in the Tony Roma's restaurant that is part of the hotel. The Grand Harbor is located on the riverwalk on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed for a wedding and were extremely disappointed with the rooms. The ceiling was peeling. There were stains and holes in the couch. Everything was worn, outdated, and not overly clean. We have stayed at less expensive places with much nicer rooms. We left grossed out and unimpressed. Originally, when we booked the room, we were excited to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Davenport, We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expecatations on your visit to the Grand Harbor. We understand that over the last 9 years we have had numerous traffic through our hotel and that some of our rooms are beginning to show that traffic. We have renovated 20 rooms so far and anticipate the remainder rooms to... More

West Bengal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I went there for a conference in June. The staff is amazing! Everyone - the bell boys, the drivers, the front desk staff, the cleaning crew - everyone is so nice and friendly and helpful. Coming from a country like India, where guests are treated like family, it was a very pleasant surprise to come to the other side of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our stay at the hotel was just ok. Rooms were average and fairly clean. Best thing about the hotel is location walking distance to restaurants and pubs. We did not use the waterpark but could tell by the number of families there that it is quite popular. We would probably stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn Center, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My family (including two daughters, ages 7 & 2) stayed three nights there and were really impressed with the property. We chose the Grand Harbor Resort because of the waterpark and we were not disappointed. The waterpark was lots of fun for all of us. There were a lot of features - two hot tubs, kiddie pool with sprayers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had adjoining rooms that overlooked the river. It was wonderful to be able to get up in the morning and take a peaceful walk along the river wall after breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We planned a family trip where the kids could spend hours at the waterpark. Very disappointed in the run down condition of the waterpark area. The equipment and pools were rusty. Some of the climbing equipment appeared broken. The room was dusty and worn out. Our sheets were torn. Will not be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Aurora, My sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on your visit and we truly hope you reconsider and join us in the future and give an opportunity to correct any issues on your next stay. Please feel free to contact me so we can further discuss your next visit. The Grand Harbor has finished its... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and had a very nice time. Our room was on the top floor facing the river. Not sure if there are rooms that still haven't been redone but ours definitely had been renovated and was very nice. We got a great rate, $89, which included the waterpark. Hard to beat that when any other hotel would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Travelled to Des Moines from Milwaukee for a 3-day weekend to visit friends in Des Moines. We decided to stay at Grand Harbor Dubuque (the halfway point) on the way to Des Moines so our boys could play in a waterpark. Our boys age 4 and 2 love this indoor waterpark. They can go down just about every slide (except... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding and were disappointed in the hotel. We usually pay no more than 100 dollars and stay in nice hotels using Priceline. This hotel was 149 (including tax) and not worth the cost. The room was not nice. It felt like an old folks home with dingy cheap quilts and stained furniture. We had 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Omaha, Thank you for comments regarding your stay as we appreciate any and all feedback. I am confused regarding your "old folks home" comment and not sure what relevance that has to the Grand Harbor and its guests so I will not be able to comment towards those remarks, however it is obvious we did not meet... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Water park(24)
  • Tony Roma(12)
  • Very nice(7)
  • Mississippi river(7)
  • Second floor(4)
  • Pool area(3)

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Address: 350 Bell Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay