We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

3.5 of 5 350 Bell Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Offers & Announcements
Halloween Night only $89!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    117
    68
    52
    40
See reviews for
184
63
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (360)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Tillamook, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the King harborview suite. The room itself was gorgeous, with a wetbar, sofa, separate bedroom and a nice view of the Mississippi River, although I would have put more window area in the room. The bedroom and bathroom were generous. The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet for sleeping. There was an in-room jacuzzi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear TillyRambler, We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we would encourage you to contact us directly to discuss how we can improve more. Thank you for your suggestions, concerns and tips for our future guests. Please come see us again. More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On our last trip to Galena we stayed at this property in Dubuque Iowa. It is located on the west bank of the Mississippi river which is near the downtown area and casinos. We got a good rate and was surprised that room was like a mini suite with a sofa ,microwave, and a refrigerator. Our room was clean,the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Literod45, Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed our picturesque views and comfortable rooms. Safe travels and we look forward to your next visit. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first walked in an employee came in with us to remove a purifier from our room then proceeded to spray the room with febreeze to mask the terrible stale smell in the room which in my opinion should have been done when I made the reservation 2 hours before hand. On inspection of the room, it looked nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Courtney M, I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations for your stay. We have passed your concerns on to our team in and effort that we can make that difference for the next guest. I would however like to discuss your concerns in more detail. If you would like to discuss further please feel free to... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place for kids, we have stayed there before. This time I was just staying one night. The room was large and clean, staff was friendly, price is a little high for the market. The area is nice, but a bit stale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, We are pleased you enjoyed your one night stay with us and are also pleased your room met your expectations. I would, however like you to contact me to further discuss your slight concern with the "staleness" and "pricing" of our property. We welcome all feedback and would like to hear more from you directly. Thank you. More

dodge center mn
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I and 2 girlfriends stayed with the roll the dice package. Everything was good. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, helpful and wonderful, the "limited" breakfast menu was as much as we would have wanted for a breakfast and delicioust, the view from our window amazing. EXCEPT.....If you get this package, FORGET the wine!!!! We thought we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear RuthyVino, Thank you for your repeat visit with us and we apologize that our package did not meet your expectations. We have also forwarded your concerns on to our Winery partner so that they can address them as well. If you would like to contact me directly to further discuss how we can address all of your concerns you... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my 4th night on the road and the spacious room and the glorious view of the Mississippi river on a beautiful fall night made it seem like a vacation stay. Room was spotless, great work area with the added amenities of flat screen TV, comfortable furniture and comfortable bed made this stay one of my favorites for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your business trip to our property. We have recently gone through a remodel to accommodate our business travelers with more amenities and again we are pleased you enjoyed them. See you on your next trip to Dubuque. More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at GH for about a month while doing job training. I was amazed at how great the entire staff was. From the moment the bellman greeted me, through the seamless and polite check in, friendly housekeeping and maintenance staff in the halls, to the attentive staff at Tony Roma's...I was honestly wowed! My kids joined me for an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear jhgroves223, Thank you for your month long stay and we are pleased you enjoyed our property and our staff. I will be sure to share your compliments with all of our team. More

Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a wedding and enjoyed the resort as a by product. Great place for a wedding. The resort went over the top to make it fantastic. The hotel was very clean and quiet. If you get a chance to go, make sure you ask for a room facing the water. It is a great place to sit and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Gregg M, We fully agree with you that our river view rooms are worth asking for and we are pleased you enjoyed yours. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit whether it be for one of our "GRAND" weddings or for a casual getaway. Thank you again. More

Medford, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was thinking this would be a full service resort with a lovely view of the Mississippi, especially for the rate I paid. It's a water slide with bunch of hotel rooms attached. I have had better service at a motel 6.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Bob T, We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit to our property. If you would like to contact me directly so we can discuss your concerns in more detail. I am confident we can meet your expectations in the future and you will be able to see we do have a full service... More

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband & I stayed at the Grand Harbor Resort Sept. 18. The hotel is located on the Mississippi River. There is a great walking area along side of the river complete with sculptures and beautiful flowers. Rachel who worked at the reception desk was very friendly and accomodating. She was able to find us a great room. (we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Jackie T, Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased you enjoyed our breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. You chose a great package in our Roll the Dice package it is one of our best mid-week offers. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Water park(25)
  • Tony Roma(13)
  • Very nice(8)
  • Mississippi river(8)
  • Second floor(4)
  • Pool area(3)

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Address: 350 Bell Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay