We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
5001 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    81
    47
    23
    8
See reviews for
64
42
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Freeman, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I called early in the day and informed them of late arrival. The lady at the front desk assured me there would be a refrigerator in the room upon our arrival. This was not the case. Also informed upon arrival that pool was inoperative due to a water main break a month earlier, so no pool to relax in after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington, DC, United States
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Seems like they have given up on this hotel in putting some pride into it. The pool was green, the rooms were damp with mold on the ceilings and the rooms were crazy small for two people. One thing they had going was the breakfast staff were super nice.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freeman, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Breakfast was excellent but that did not make up for other issues that we experienced. No pool, it had apparently been down for a month and still wan't fixed. I was assured a refrigerator would be in the room upon arrival, which was not the case, for my perishables coming from Door County WI and none was there but front... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strathmore, Canada
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great staff; Great Hotel. Very Clean! Beds are extremely comfortable. Good location, close to all amenities. Is only a 14minute drive to downtown for the farmers market on Saturday's. Fantastic Vineyard moments away that the shuttle will take you to and from.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Facility is dated, confined rooms and terrible, analog TV. Toilet was already plugged on arrival, pool was not open on 90 degree day, room had 2 double beds in a space for a single king. This eliminated space for other items and ease of movement.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a good value for the DesMoines area. I thought the hotel was going to be loud because of the location to the airport. Not so, we were on the 4th floor and didn't hear anything. Yes, the pool was out, but didn't matter - it's kinda small and outdoor, so not sure I woulda used it.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience. I am glad that all aspects of your stay went well. We do our best to ensure our guests are at their utmost comfort! We hope to see you again when travels bring you around to Des Moines in the future! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms have poor maintenance. Shower valves are loose. Bed was out of its frame by 10" and my wife cut her leg on the bed frame when we entered our room. Smoke alarm kept going off in our daughters room across the hall. The swimming pool was under repair...in the middle of July. It was full of green algae... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I would like to apologize in regards to your experience. The result you had is not typical, and we do our best to ensure our guests are taken care of! Our pool is currently being repaired, and will be up by the end of August. We hope... More 

Omaha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Planned trip based on using the outdoor pool. It was broken & apparently been so for a while. We had even brought our water toys to spend a nice time in the sun. No one called to tell us pool not available. Asked at desk, they said we could us the pool next door....next door turns out to be about... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments in regards to your stay. I would like to apologize completely in regards to the pool not being accessible. We had a water main break in late June 2015, and unfortunately, the pool was affected. Please understand that we have many guests stay at our hotel, and calling each and every guest that the pool isn't... More 

Omaha, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We purposely choose motel with outdoor pool, When we got there we found the pool not to be functioning & was surrounded with construction equipment, obviously being worked on & had been being worked on for at least a week. We asked at the front desk & was told we could use the pool 'next door' at the American Inn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pueblo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hampton Inn at the airport in Des Moines, IA is a WONDERFUL place to stay. We stayed there recently & the staff are friendly & efficient. They put on a GREAT complimentary breakfast every morning, with NEW items every day. They have some sort of eggs & meat, besides Belgian waffles, bagels & other baked goodies, cereal, juice, coffee... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I appreciate the kind words, and we appreciate your business! I will definitely share your comments with my team, and we hope to see you again next time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn and Suites - Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#19 of 46 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay