We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
5001 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    77
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
38
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

if you like to stay in rundown motels that have absolutely no sound insulation, old sheets, old mattresses, bad plumbing, bad TV reception, towels that used to be white, and toilets that barely flush, all for a high price, this is the place for you!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have visited Des Moines several times in the last 3 years due to our daughter going to school there. We usually stay at this Hampton Inn. It is conveniently located close to her school. It is a little awkward getting into the property off of Fleur due to the center medians but you get used to it. The coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a typical Hampton Inn stay. The rooms are a bit small compared to newer hotels. But, that's how they were when this hotel was opened. The twin beds were standard double bed sized and not queen sized due to the smaller size of the rooms. Our grandchildren were disappointed that the pool was outdoors and not open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am pleased that you had a great time with us! We can't wait for our pool to open at the end of the month, and I apologize that it wasn't open so your grandkids could enjoy it! We hope to see you again when your travels bring... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I were staying in Des Moines and as Hilton Honors members, we like to stay in Hampton Inns typically. Des Moines is a little higher priced to begin with than other cities we stay in and if business hadn't been paying for it we never would have paid that rate to begin with. That being said, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. I would like to apologize in regards to the quality of your room. We strive to ensure that our guests have the utmost comfortable experience with us, and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I am excited to announce that we are about to renovate at... More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
25 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband & I recently spent a night here while in Des Moines visiting family. The Drake Relays were going on that weekend so rooms were at a premium. Our room had thick dust on all the furniture & the top of the coffeepot had not been cleaned in forever. We did tell the desk clerk at checkout & my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. I would like to apologize what you encountered in your room. I will definitely share your comments with my executive housekeeper, so appropriate action can be taken to ensure our rooms are rid of dust! We hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations when future... More 

Brookfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every aspect of the stay was enjoyable! Thew front desk staff was exceptional when asked for help finding a restaurant and giving directions . Also, the location to our activities was excellent. The appearance of every aspect of the hotel, room, lobby and exercise room was in excellent condition.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. I'm glad we were able to accommodate all aspects of your stay! I think we have some excellent restaurants in the area, and our front desk team does their best to ensure that you are well taken care of. We hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines! More 

Burlington, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel before flying out of Des Moines for our honeymoon July 2014. The hotel was clean and breakfast was good. We had extra bags we were not taking on our flight that the hotel held for us for no charge. We also left our car parked at the hotel with no problems and for a reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. I think we are a great asset accompanying the Des Moines Int'l Airport, and we do our best to make sure our guests are taken care of! We hope to see you again soon! More 

coeur d'alene, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this property the night before flying out from Des Moines. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. They suggested returning rental car at night as it would be less crowded. They said the shuttle van would pick us up after doing so. The breakfast was more than adequate. Even though we were only a 1/4 mile... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let us know how your stay was! I am ecstatic that your stay went well! I think we have a great breakfast, and location. We appreciate the kind words, and hope to see you again! More 

Godfrey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the popcorn as an alternative to the cookies. Very clean hotel with friendly, efficient staff. Convenient location close to the airport. Room was very quiet and didn't notice any airplane noise at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am more than pleased that you had a great stay! I think my staff is wonderful, where their number one focus is our guests! Also, our popcorn and cookies are great additions to staying with us! They are wonderful! We will see you next time when your travels bring you to Des Moines. I... More 

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was average to me as I have stayed at many Hilton properties over the years. I was there all week which worked out, but would try to find another hotel for being there that long. I think the hotel needs a little updating. The staff were very friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. I am excited to say that we are on the horizon of a renovation, and we can't wait for the new look! I'm glad my front desk staff was helpful and accommodating! We hope to see you again when travels bring you to Des Moines! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities