We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Des Moines hotels

Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Travelocity Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
42%
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    38
    30
    12
See reviews for
22
17
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great experience at this hotel. All brought about by one of the employees named Jared. What a professional, well spoken, and polite young man! He has a great sense of humor, and a quick smile. He is warm, and genuine. If he would move to Kansas City, I would hire him in a minute! I will be back.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Peters, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Available and assisting staff. Clean and comfortable...large....bedroom (especially those by elevator). Not sure about all floors, but nearly all rooms on the floor we stayed on adjoined, both sides in each room. Bed was comfortable and chair/sofa were relaxing. Convenient desk allowed to comfortably finish days programming and notes. Nice TV, though did not use. Only small complaint was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear DarkonIV, Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind, candid, and thorough review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate each and every review as it helps us to improve for the future. I am so happy to hear that you were able to relax while you were staying with us. I sincerely hope that we... More

The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Sometimes Des Moines suffers from a lack of rooms, and when you have to book at the last minute, this is what is available - here's why. Rooms are outdated and worn, location is not really downtown, place just feels worn out. The breakfast was pretty bad too. Sorry Holiday Inn, but you need to put some money into this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Whodat75, It looks as though you stayed at our hotel about nine months ago. You may have noticed that we were in the midst of a multi-million dollar, award winning renovation while you were here. We take great pride in our hotel and the services we offer. I am confident that is the reason our hotel was just voted... More

Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for business on March 3-4, 2014. The ride from the Des Moines Airport is about 12-15 minutes. The hotel lobby is very inviting. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and attentive. In the lobby area is a nice sitting area with a fireplace and tv. Behind it is a computer/internet area with two computers and infoTouch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SkatewithWild, Thank you for taking the time to offer such a kind, candid, and thorough review of your recent stay with us. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of a few of the amenities we offer which I am pleased to hear. We depend on reviews, good and bad, to help us improve for the... More

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I travel a lot and although a card carrying member for IHG, I will not be back to this property until it gets flipped. While the lobby, et al look nice and are inviting, it ends there. They go through a lot of Fabreeze here and it still does not mask the stench of cigarettes. C'mon Holiday Inn -- flip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JFSoccerCoach, Thank you for offering your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We take immense pride in our hotel and the services we offer. I am subsequently very sorry to hear we fell below your expectations. I am also disheartened to hear you smelled cigarette smoke while you were here. We have been a 100% non-smoking property since... More

albia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. When asked if we could have another room, we were told that this room was all they had available. Was in Des Moines for the weekend with my 13 year old son for his basketball tourney. I ALWAYS request non-smoking rooms. Room sucked due to the smell of the smoke. The lobby area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, Every review is important to us because it gives us information to help us improve for the future, so thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and the services we offer and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds as though we fell... More

Naugatuck, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We really wanted to like the hotel. I swear we did. We were very excited to have booked a downtown hotel at a reasonable rate. It had been 24 hours since we'd seen anything but the inside of a car or a gas station. So, we crossed our fingers and hoped for the best. Unfortunately, we must have been too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear U R, I appreciate your taking the time out of a busy day to offer a review of your time at our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and the services we offer. It sounds on this occasion we fell below your expectations as well as our own. In regards to the television problem. There was a... More

Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
133 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Well it all stated when the shuttle service told me that I had to wait 25 minutes even though the hotel was only 25 minutes away. 50 minutes later I was picked up and found out that the shuttle was an suv and can take any guest anywhere within the 2 mule radius and it was first come first serve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CecibelB, Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased to learn that you like our hotel amenities. However, I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory particularly with our room accommodations and customer service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to... More

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Lobby newly updated a remodled. Rooms are outdated and average. Nothing special. Pool is outdated and cold. The pool room was very cold and uncomfortable when normally they are balmy and humid. Customer service and food at the restaurant needs attention. The buffett needed to be restocked. The waitress brought us menus but took so long to come back that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear jorns6282, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the restaurant service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The lobby was newly remodeled so you walk in expected an updated and modern room, not the case. The rooms aren't dirty or anything, they are just outdated. The hotel also faces a highway so if you are unfortunate enough to stay on the highway side be prepared to be kept up at night. Overall there's nothing horrible to report,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear baca512, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you appreciate our lobby. We apologize for the disappointment the room accommodation and our location had caused you. Please remain... More

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa
Address: 1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Come see our new Priority Club Executive Level with the new Holiday Inn bedding. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze!Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's is the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.