We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

3.0 of 5 1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    46
    37
    14
See reviews for
29
21
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice location. Parking was a little tight but they do have an underground garage which was nice. Room service was good. Very delicious food! Rooms and hallways could use a little updating....the bathroom was really small, and there was not a lot of room to get ready in the mornings. The walls are also paper thin, but it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a rough time checking into a room since I didn't have a reservation. Usually not an issue but the guy at the front didn't really understand customer service well and thankfully I powered through that awful experience to finally get to a room where I can always expect the holiday inn feel. Room and everything else was great, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ExploreDoctorD, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your check in process was not up to your standards or our own. I have shared your input with our Front Desk Manager so we can prevent similar situations in the future. I do hope that you allow us another opportunity to... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Entrance is updated and nice. Rooms are old. Air conditioning only works in summer, when winter comes only heat is availalbe. Problem is the heat was 79 degrees in the room all the time. Poor sleeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Herb S, I am happy that you noticed our recent renovation of public areas in the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the heating and cooling. I understand that must have been frustrating, and I apologize for any inconvenience that caused you. I hope you allow us another opportunity in the future to offer... More

Bonney Lake, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I attended a conference in Des Moines on October 6, 7, and 8. We stayed at the Holiday Inn. I'd never been to Des Moines, so I didn't know what to expect. Everyone on staff at the Holiday Inn Downtown was most welcoming and helpful. This made for a most pleasant stay. Our room was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Karolina T, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I couldn't wait to share your review with all of our team members, especially Amber, JJ, Keisha, and Rashawn. I am so happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations while you were in Des Moines and at our hotel. I hope that if your travels... More

West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I attended a conference at the downtown Holiday Inn last week. I had lunch at the buffet in the restaurant. The food was fresh even though I didn't get there until about 12:45. What impressed me though was the friendliness of the lady who waited on me. She was attentive and had a big smile. Her attitude would cause me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear hawkeyejohn11, Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience in our restaurant. I assure you I have shared your input with our team members. We appreciate your business. Thank you again for reviewing your experience. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In town for a girl's weekend for a concert. This hotel is located five blocks from the Wells Fargo Arena which makes it an excellent place to stay when in DM for a concert! If the weather's not right for walking, the front desk is quick to offer their shuttle. (I regret not catching the name of the gentleman who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear nspackfan, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your, much deserved I am sure, girls weekend getaway. We appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you while you were in Des Moines. Each and every team member here takes pride in offering clean, comfortable accommodations and great service. Thank you for your thorough review. I... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had arrived around 10pm to stay for the weekend for a church conference at the arena. Our prepaid reservations were not in the system due to Expedia operator putting in the wrong dates. The dates put in were July instead of September. The staff took very good care of us finding a room for the night there for this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mr_Reeb, I was so happy to read your review of our hotel. Yours is the type of experience we strive to offer every guest, and it is so wonderful when we hear that we achieved that goal. I have shared your comments with all of our staff. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I sincerely... More

South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The hotel is right off the 235. Make sure you ask for a room not facing the 235. It is pretty loud all hours of the day and night. Rooms are good sized but need some updating. Internet is super slow. Dinning is overpriced and does not have a lot of choices. Service was good and very helpful when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JessicaKnight1972, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your input. I am very happy to know that you found our service to be helpful. I have shared your comments with all of management in order to improve the experience of our future guests, which I hope includes your next stay.... More

Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We arrived in Des Moines around 10pm and tried to find some food. It started raining really hard (so hard you couldn't see) so we called the hotel to see if they would have room service available. The girl at the front desk answered and said "yes, we serve room service all night". So, around 10:15pm we headed to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear AngieDrenkhahn, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay. While I am glad to see the high marks in regards to location and sleep quality, I am concerned about the rest of your experience. I thank you for bringing the issues you encountered to our attention. Yours is not the kind of experience... More

Forest City, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Friendly shuttle personnel!!! Nice room.elevator did not work smoothly. Very!!! Expensive! Wedding reception/dance right above sleeping room. I was there for conference and should not of had to listen to wedding dance all night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear BeverlyM353, Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am sorry to hear that the wedding made your night less restful. However, I am happy to hear how pleased you were with our shuttle service. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future and to offer you a five star experience. Thank you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay