We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1140 24th Street, Des Moines, IA 50311
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015
807Sharon Overland Park, Kansas
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
12
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This hotel is in a fantastic location for visiting Drake University! Unfortunately, the upkeep has not been maintained as well--there are always "wet paint" signs on doorways. The breakfast is usually very good, but on my recent visit the pancake machine wasn't working. Even when I requested help from the staff, it still wouldn't work, there was no sign displayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I wan to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during breakfast. This is not typical for our property or staff. Your comments are crucial to us so we know where we need to be doing a better job. I trust on your next visit to Drake you give us... More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

After a long day on the road we found this hotel. Greeted warmly at the desk. We requested restaurant suggestions and was offerer Woodys Smoke Shack (see review). The room was clean and comfortable. We did notice the cleaning staff was still busy at 6pm, with a vacuum going. Small business center with no privacy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. It pleases me that you were able to enjoy a great meal at Woody's and found your room to be clean and comfortable. We loved having you as our guest. More 

Colon, NE, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I booked this hotel using Hotwire's mystery rate. I was pleasantly surprised to find a Holiday Inn with this special. To be honest I was hoping for a hotel within walking distance of downtown and with the special rate it didn't work out. Taxi service does run from the hotel to downtown area for a fairly cheap rate. Desk clerk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. We strive to offer great customer service, and it thrills me to read we accomplished this for you. Thank you very much for your stay with us. More 

Newton, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We used this hotel twice when bad weather or early morning activities at our nearby church made an overnight stay in Des Moines advisable. It is literally the only game in this part of town, and it's obvious. The first set of problems could have been dismissed as a fluke of one stay. That such things occurred twice suggests a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the issues and the inconveniences these issues caused you during your stay. These issues will be resolved promptly. I am pleased to read about the positives you experienced during your stay. I am determined to make any future stay you have with us a... More 

Wayzata, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The room itself was certainly not brand new (peeling walls, etc) but was very clean and I felt comfortable. The wifi was great and I was able to do work in a timely manner. The walls did seem a bit thin; I could hear television on one side and a personal conversation on the other quite clearly. I had quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. We take pride in providing superior customer service, and we are delighted to read about how we accomplished this for you during your stay. We will take your feedback seriously regarding the concerns you expressed. Also pleased to read that you love our cinnamon rolls as much as we do. We... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

This was a last minute booking online due to winter weather making the roads very dangerous. The room was clean, the hotel was quite & the breakfast was good. The breakfast room was a little small but handled the flow of guests well. It is situated close to Drake University which is excellent if you're coming to town for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our property and staff. The next time you are passing through we look forward to having you as our guest once again. More 

Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Closest hotel to Drake University. Helpful staff. Have stayed here several times and property starting to need attention. On most recent stay robe hook missing, with just a large exposed metal piece on back of door. Finish on tub eroding and peeling. Room lamp didn't work,maybe lightbulb was burnt out and not replaced. Stains in carpeting. Perfectly fine for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The concerns you had in regards to your room condition will be addressed immediately. We continue to add brand new features to our public areas and guest rooms every year. However it appears we may have overlooked some minor areas needing attention in the guest rooms. We value every guest... More 

Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Clean comfortable hotel. Good location in Des Moines easy to downtown or other locations. Good diner right next door with a full bar. Other places close by. I would stay here again. Friendly helpful desk staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us. I appreciate and value all guest feedback. I am very pleased to read that you had a clean and comfortable stay, and were also able to enjoy one of the surrounding local diners. We look forward to having you again. More 

Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed here three nights for a conference at Drake University's Olmsted Center, which is pleasant walk of about 1/2 mile from the hotel. This is the closest hotel to the campus and a good choice. I arrived early afternoon to be greeted by nice front desk and housekeeping staff, and was pleased that my room was ready. The TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us and for your feedback regarding your stay. I am very pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us. We strive to make every facet of the guest's stay with us a positive one. I will be certain to promptly address the heater issue you encountered, and I apologize for... More 

New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My husband and I used this hotel in the middle of a road trip from New England to Nebraska. We found it randomly on Orbitz because weather had delayed us and we were tired. The staff at night was extremely welcoming. Although, they double the charge on my card when it was prepaid, they quickly recognized their error. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and also for the positive feedback. We take pride in providing oustanding customer service to every single guest who stays at our hotel. It is wonderful to receive positive feedback regarding our customer service, which I will be certain to share with our staff. I do apologize for the billing mistake, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities