We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Des Moines hotels

Renaissance Savery Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50322
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Savery Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Savery Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Ranked #8 of 45 hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
dmarkiowa Davenport, Iowa
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    81
    35
    17
    15
See reviews for
34
44
18
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webster City, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed her two nights for competitions my daughter was in the first night there we got a small room for the price you pay I expected bigger. Our room did not have a fridge or microwave so the bell man told us to call for one since they were free so I did, they brought it up and then we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for responding to your stay with us. I apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay. I would be disappointed if given the same situation. I will certainly get with my staff to insure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for the feedback. More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there several nights….very small room for the cost, the only nice thing was we had two bathrooms. No maid service for a couple of days. There was a charge for Beer from the bar on our stay, we told them at check out that it was not ours and they took it off the bill. The next day I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback from your stay with us. I am very sorry and disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. We take great pride in our ability to take care of our guests, but in your case we clearly did not. I apologize and hope if you are in the Des Moines area in the... More

Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been here before, were disappointed with the irregular room layout. We upgraded thid visit to a nice room on the 11th floor. Only problems-was a bit of a jolt the first time I stepped out of the bathroom, which was an inch or so higher than the other floor. And we couldn't turn off the HVAC fan ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I will certainly share this with my staff to insure we take care of the issues you encountered. My apologies for your stay not being as you would expect. Thank you again for taking the time to share. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great property in the heart of Des Moines! This property served up wonderful service from the arrival to departure! As a Platinum Marriott Guest I arrived at the property and checked in to discover I was upgraded to junior suite on the Club Floor which was fully appointed with the finer comforts of hotel stays with great work desk, couch,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind comments on your stay with us. We are very proud of our historic hotel and appreciate it when others recognize is value. Thank you again. More

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We chose this place because this was close to a bar where we wanted to catch a show. The hotel was nice, our king room had a lot of space. The room was very comfortable. Our friends had an adjoining king room had less space than we did, but everything else was the same. The staff was very helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for responding to your stay with us. I do hope your travels bring you back to Des Moines, and the Renaissance, in the near future. More

Huntington Woods, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Recently stayed there while my son checked out Drake University. Great location. Clean. Staff that went above and beyond!!!!! I had difficulty with transportation to/from Drake with the local cab companies. After talking with hotel manager, she arranged for the hotel shuttle to drive my son and I back and forth multiple times to the university. A real life saver.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We do hope your travels bring you back to Des Moines and the Renaissance Savery very soon. Thanks again. More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

All I have to say is stay away from this awful hotel. So it is nicely decorated in the lobby, but when you get to your room, it is so outdated with its hedious deco. The room is so tiny that it really can accommodate a single person, definitely not two people as you would run into each other. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I do apologize that we were no able to provide you with the level of hotel that you were expecting. We are meeting with your company representative tomorrow to discuss our long on-going relationship and hope to solidify an agreement very soon. Thank you again for your feedback. More

Waterford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I got a great deal through priceline and that's probably the main reason I was satisfied with my stay. The lobby is decorated very nicely but our room had a sloppy paint job around the bathroom door; there was paint from the door on the molding around the floor and the bottom left corner of the door was busted. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. I do apologize for the challenges you experienced and will make sure and pass along to my staff for immediate resolution. Thank you again. More

Carter Lake, Ia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We really enjoy staying at this hotel...yes, I do see some reviews that complain about the small bathrooms, but the establishment is very old, and there is not much that can be done about that...the fixtures are up to date and function fine.... The hotel is in a great location in downtown and is attached to the skywalk system that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are going to address the bathrooms in our upcoming renovation. The size may not change, but we are going to address the counter space. Skywalks are a blessing at this time of year. Thank you again, More

Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Apparently the room we were used to be two rooms. There were two outdated bathrooms with little room for toiletries. Our room had two full-size beds. The staff were very nice. Overall, we found the room to be small and outdated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We will be renovating the guest rooms this fall and addressing our bathroom issues. More

Been to Renaissance Savery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Savery Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines
Des Moines Renaissance
Renaissance Savery Hotel Des Moines, Iowa
Address: 401 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Savery Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel, located in the heart of downtown Des Moines, Iowa is within walking distance to Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center, Civic Center of Greater Des Moines, Court Avenue restaurants and nightlife and East Village restaurants and shops. Start your day off right with a visit to Coda Coffee, located on the street level of the hotel, for freshly brewed Starbucks beverages. Then return in the evening to Coda Lounge to discover the hottest new lounge in downtown Des Moines. Don't miss the contemporary midwest cuisine and local products served in BOS restaurant, also located street level in the hotel. Additional amenities enjoyed by guests include a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, complimentary airport transportation and complimentary wireless service. If you’re searching for a venue to host a romantic wedding, a business meeting or a conference, this hotel features over 12,000 square feet of function space, innovative meeting technology and a creative catering and culinary team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Savery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.