We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Des Moines hotels

Renaissance Savery Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50322
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Renaissance Savery Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Savery Hotel to your Saves list
72%
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
gbjinMT Chester, MT
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    92
    43
    25
    16
See reviews for
39
55
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Chester, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a very nice corner room looking out at the Capitol building, which was lighted on weekends. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. We were there for meetings at the Hy Vee center and found the skywalk system in downtown Des Moines very convenient. Hotel is currently under renovation but did not interfere with out stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at a lot of wonderful Renaissance hotels. I can't believe this is a Marriott property. We were in town for a concert and this was one of the few hotels with availability. It is a historic building, but lacks any charm. We had a standard room. It's was chopped into small inefficient spaces. The sitting area was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PLT Thank you for the review of your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the room that we gave you. The property here is very unique and one of the exciting things about the hotel is that we many different room types. Some of the rooms are very new and updated, but are still... More

Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Air conditioning in the room would work. The room was extremely small and the furniture was crammed against all the other furniture. TV was extremely small and couldn't be seen from the bed. Staff was rude upon checkin and when reporting problems and didn't send anyone up to check the air conditioning. If you like staying at an overpriced hotel... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Burns Please accept our apologies that your stay was not as it should have been. We spend a lot of time in training with our staff on problem resolution and customer care. It is quite obvious that you did not receive the quality service that we are very well known for. As far as the room type, as... More

Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is awesome! They are friendly, helpful and courteous. Did have an issue with the room, though. Reserved a King Suite based on the description and photo on the website. What we were given was not even close to the photo, we were told there were only 2 of those suites in the hotel, and the hotel was fully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jayalgae It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I loved hearing of your experience with our staff. I do ask that you accept my apology that we were not able to give you the room type that you wanted. Due to the historic nature of the hotel, we find ourselves with a hotel that has... More

Cibolo, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for a conference. The hotel is centrally located to everything and the skywalk makes walking through the city so much easier. I felt very safe. The rooms were clean and comfortable although the bed pillows were tiny and not too comfy. We dined in the hotel restaurant for the breakfast buffet which was convenient prior to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Quilter142 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are indeed pleased that you enjoyed your stay just as we enjoyed having so many from your quilters group in the hotel! Please be certain to see us again in the very near future! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bathroom in the room is so small you can barely turn around. Can't get FOX on TV in your room. Staff is friendly and welcoming. I would be more inclined to check out a different hotel next time for a larger bathroom and better TV options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joyce - Thank you for telling us of your stay at the Renaissance Savery Hotel. I apologize for the issue that you had with the size of your bathroom. We have 38 different room types at the Savery our bathrooms are of varying sizes. This is a result of the hotel being nearly 100 years old and over time,... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The air conditioning did not function In my room, and the only resolution was a fan placed in the room that really only helped, slightly at best, for less than half the room. Was not a very comfortable stay. My complaint seem to be brushed off as a normal occurrence.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard, I appreciate the comments in your review of your recent review of the Renaissance Savery Hotel. I apologize that air conditioning in your room was not sufficient for your needs. As an older building, we have a system that requires us to offer heat or air, but due to the design of the times when it was built,... More

Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at the hotel,is considerate and nice. Their service was very good, from valet to check in. The first night we had dinner in their restaurant and it was excellent. While the room was spacious, the bathroom was the smallest we have ever experienced. The shower was literally less than 3X3. The pillows were terrible, very flat. The rug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Debrah, Thank you for your great comments. I am so please that the service during your stay and the dinner in the restaurant rated such great comments! I do apologize for the size of the bath in your room. As you may have read in my reply to some other posts, the size of our bathrooms varies greatly from room... More

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Renaissance's Savery Hotel is a grand old hotel updated by Marriott. My room was updated and adequate and had a nice view of the Iowa State Capital. The bathroom was small (after all, this is an old hotel), and there was little room for toiletries, so I kept them elsewhere. This could be considered, by some, to more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Russ - We really appreciate it that you took the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel was enjoyable. I am sorry for the issues that you had with the bath shelf space as well as the heating system. I am excited however to tell our customers... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is very helpful in setting up our stay and taking care of us once we get there. We found that no matter what job a staff person was doing he (she) would drop everything to help us. Highly recomend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark H, General Manager at Renaissance Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, We love to hear from our guests and of course it is particularly enjoyable when we see that we have accomplished our goal of making their stay memorable! Thank you for your review, and please know that we value your business! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Renaissance Savery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Savery Hotel

Address: 401 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50322
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Savery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines
Des Moines Renaissance
Renaissance Savery Hotel Des Moines, Iowa

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay