We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

3.0 of 5 4800 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
21
9
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Belleville, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby area is very nice but the experience goes down hill from there. The ballroom area is just off the lobby. There was a party of some sort going on with music. The music was so loud it was difficult to talk to the front desk. Our room was on the third floor and it was very quiet. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Jayne C Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you found your guest room clean, comfortable, and quiet. With regard to breakfast, the Holiday Inn full service hotels have a Breakfast Package rate that can be booked at a very reasonable price; generally less... More 

Hayward, WI
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Used Priceline and got a double for $74 plus tax. Good location, room was quiet. We had a small pet and informed the desk, but they neglected to inform me of the $20 pet fee. It wouldn't have made a difference, but would like to be informed at check-in, not check-out. There was pet damage in the room, but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We ordered feather-free and got feathers. The air-conditioning was noisy and the front desk staff unhelpful. Not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in. The plus was that it is close to the interstate ring route. Restaurants were within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MikeH4Hol-Inn, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Panjshir_Phil, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the restaurant options available including our Bennigans Grille & Tavern, conveniently located in our hotel. As to your pillow question, Holiday Inn specifies the pillow type and offers two types of... More 

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed here on the way to Ft. Riley. The staff were extremely nice, the hotel was very clean. The beds were comfortable. Location was awesome for what we needed. Would for sure stay here again. I did book off priceline - so got a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Dodge, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is an old hotel. It was remodeled when it changed from a Sheraton 4 Points back to a Holiday Inn several years ago. Over the last few visits I have noticed that various parts of the hotel have been getting updated. The prices charged at this property are lower than some and higher than some. But I would say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn about 6 times in total, so I have a good sense of the average stay. Please read my entire post to get the good and the bad, or skip to the bottom to review the shortlist of Pros and Cons. Overall, it's a decent hotel that's priced at a more affordable rate than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Crag_Traveler, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am delighted to read that you liked our comfortable bed and pillows. However, I regret the issues encountered with the level of cleanliness,... More 

Monster Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had to make a last minute hotel reservation the weekend of Iowa State Fair, so my expectations were very low knowing I would be left with whatever room was on hand. I was pleasantly surprised at the layout of the room and thought it was very good value. Nice business desk with charging station, excellent big screen TV, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear kingughidorah, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly. Once... More 

Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here last Friday night after a long day at the Iowa State Fair. We were greeted at the front desk with a smile and offer of assistance. We checked in and went to our room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pillows were out of this world!! Wanted to purchase two of them when we checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here in the spring with a couple of my children on a Saturday night. The front desk staff was nice and the room clean enough; however, the hotel was overrun with sports teams (looked to be elementary and secondary ages). I don't object to sports teams; however, the pool area was so incredibly loud that my elementary aged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear MidwesternParent, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you found our staff to be nice and the room clean. We would like to apologize for the challenges you had during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we... More 

Peru, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After being at Mayo Clinic for two weeks of testing for my daughter, this was not the way to end our trip. There was no sign for where to check in. Construction at hotel, very loud. No tub. Barely room to get in bathroom. Mattress springs broke. Bed sqeeked. Hot tub still broke. Wallpaper peeling. Mold. Mosquitos all in pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Chanin L, Thank you very much for your comments - I am very sorry you found some things lacking or not to your liking. While it is true we were doing some work on the property resurfacing some of our parking lot, we were very diligent to not begin prior to 9AM each morning I would be very happy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Address: 4800 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest Iowa

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay