We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4995 N.W. Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

I reserved 4 rooms for our family visiting for Thanksgiving online. When I went to the facility to check it out, they let me see the rooms I was reserving and actually reserve specific rooms--such as adjoining rooms & specific room numbers. They also told me that the crib was free. They day my family was coming (& I had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy821
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay Road. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our indoor pool, the free hot breakfast that we provide. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay with us. More 

Cadott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

stayed at the quality inn on the way home from Branson. The hotel is an older building but well cared for. the room was neat and clean had comfortable bed (even a recliner). The room was quiet and comfortable. the new owners are making a lot of improvements and this will be a great place to come back to again!

Helpful?
2 Thank gas1940
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites. Our entire team is glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you like the room and the property. As you mentioned we are in the process of renovating the property with updated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon on... More 

SAINT LOUIS
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

There was mold all over the bathroom, room wasn't clean. Everything old, and then I got bed bugs! When I complained to choice hotel, they sent me to local hotel that offered 50 off next stay, really? There won't be a next stay. I am also a choice member and they didn't stand behind their product. I will be moving... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueT633
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay. Our housekeeping staff always make sure the property and all surrounding areas is cleaned to a very high standard. The property is undergoing renovations so everything will be updated and with have added brand new beds as well, as part of the update. Hopefully you can give us... More 

Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

This motel had a large room, large bathroom with double sinks, desk with power strip, refrigerator with freezer, and was clean. The manager on duty when I arrived late was Mary and she was courteous. The room had everything I needed and was a good value.

Helpful?
2 Thank ronskis
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

The entire staff at the Quality Inn & Suites are glad you had a comfortable stay and the room accommodated to your needs which was of good value. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay at the Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay Road. Thanks again More 

Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

Staff was very nice and efficient! Hotel was old and dingy. Even though it was clean, it was hard to tell over the worn, out dated, gloomy look that it had. Surprised Choice Hotels let this get that bad.

Helpful?
Thank AmyJosephG
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that our front desk staff provide great service. We are aware that the property is old and we are currently in the process of renovating the property. We hope you can give us another chance. More 

Idaho
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We stayed here one night in a king room. Easy access off of the highway, clean lobby. Our room was 2nd floor, clean and good size for 2 people. Good shower. Unfortunately it faced the highway and frontage road raceway, and it is loud, so ask for one away from the road. Breakfast was good with eggs, cereal, fruit, waffles,... More 

Helpful?
Thank FSCBosses
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at our Quality Inn & Suites and we value your feedback. Our housekeeping staff thrive in ensuring the rooms and entire property is kept clean. We apologize for the noise you experienced on the side of the highway. We always try and ensure we give the most convenient rooms for our guests and can... More 

Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

My family and I checked into the hotel about 9pm, the gal working the front desk was very nice and helpful. We picked up a double queen on a Thursday night for $84.95. I had read the reviews so I knew what to expect, clean but out dated. The room was fine, unfortunately the AC was off when we entered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our Quality Inn & Suites on Merle hay Road and we appreciate your feedback. All our staff thrive in providing an exceptional guest service. Our housekeeping staff work exceptionally hard in maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms and entire property. We are aware that the motel required some updating and that is currently in process.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Myself and 2 women stayed in a room here for 2 nights while visiting the state fair. This is a large hotel, lots of rooms! Our room was fine, nothing special. It was clean. It was a good place to stay for the price, I'd stay there again if I knew we were doing activities outside of the room. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank meganzimmer
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback on your stay at our Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay. We are glad you had a comfortable stay at a good value. We look forward to your next stay here at the Quality Inn & Suite. Thanks again More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

The hotel offered a good size pool for the kids to swim in, a fitness center so I could run in the morning, and very friendly staff who attended to all of our needs. The breakfast satisfied our whole family with eggs, biscuits & gravy, hot waffles, and yummy treats (mini muffins, mini donuts, and pastries), as well as oatmeal,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at our Quality Inn & Suites and we value your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the large indoor pool and some time in the fitness room. Our entire staff thrive in providing an exceptional service. They are always here to attend to all the guest needs and accommodate special requests as our goal... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in for one night friendly staff pretty clean however the bed is awful needs a new mattress or something that I wasn't nice lower back pain thank you. Standard buffet breakfast for motel parking must be on a certain area a lot because they have obviously some kind of an argument with the next door bar that I did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at our Quality Inn & Suites and we value your feedback. The property is undergoing renovations at the moment and we are updating all the rooms. All the beds are also being replaced so we hope we can provide you with a superior experience on your next stay. Thanks again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 47 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#22 of 47 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites of Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 47 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay