We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast and WiFi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    317
    179
    47
    33
    13
See reviews for
169
94
27
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (589)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (209)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The customer service at this hotel, specifically the front desk and housekeeping is terrible. Combine that with a shower that pours water on the floor, an AC that you have to keep cranked down to freezing in order to cool the bathroom (there is no vent) and the gloomy living room - definitely better places to stay in Des Moines.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Deeann H; Thank you very much for your posting. I am very sorry that we were unable to locate the items you stated you left behind and that we did not confirm this to you quickly as we tried to locate these items resuling in your poor opinion of the customer service at the property. We all take great... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,385 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Embassy suites Des Moines was a very nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Check in was fast and effort free.We got room with a nice side view of the county court house and the Des Moines river.Which we walked along then along the Racoon river to Grey's Lake park. The hotel had a indoor swimming pool which was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SUSAN H - Thank you for your fantastic review and comments.I am glad that you had a fantastic time with us and that you truly enjoyed our two room suites as well as the complimentary cooked to order breakfast as well as the evening reception being served by our great staff. I hope that you will stay with us... More 

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights in July on a day when they had had a problem with their water but this was not a big issue for us. We payed extra to get a river view which was lovely but I was rather concerned to find a large amount of moth like flies between the curtains and windows which I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Honeybun51 - Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the room that had not been cleaned up to our specifications and expectations. I have reviewed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper, so he may address it appropriately. I am sorry you did not find our Evening Reception staff exceptional... More 

Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I just want to say how impressed I was with the entire staff. I am a Marriott guy, but my wife booked out two nights at Embassy Suites. Needless to say I was a little frustrated prior to checking in. When checking in I was greeted by a young man with glasses, who I believe was the assistant manager. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mark R G G; Thank you very much for your fantastic comments about the staff and the property. We all appreciate your busines and look for your future Embassy Suites and Hilton brand stays! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I had a great stay! Everything was top notch. Our room was gorgeous, beds comfortable, staff friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast buffet and evening reception really added value. Beautiful spot by the river in downtown Des Moines.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear S2561Wjanetb; I am glad you and your friends had a great stay at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown - we all appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Minneapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about my stay was good. Staff were helpful. Hotel and room clean. Appreciated the complimentary breakfast too. Only issues were no free internet unless you belong to the honors program and I felt the cost of the room was a little high for the Des Moines area, but otherwise, good hotel and experience.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dan D; Thank yuo for staying with us and thank you for the great review. Hope to see you back soon! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Villisca, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were in town for a weekend get away, and we chose to stay at the embassy suites after all other hotels we looked into were fully booked due to the state fair. Hotel Staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were clean and quiet. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour. Great hotel, a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Nick I - Thank you very much for the great review and for staying with us. I truly appreciate your business. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. Only problem was the Air conditioning was either too cold or to warm. The temp was not consistent in both rooms. Staff was very courteous and polite. The location was convenient to many areas downtown, but the parking was limited space especially over the weekends. Pool/hot tub were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear H1402YOjillb - Thank you for the great review! I am happy that you had a great stay and that you found the staff to be very nice. I am sorry about the issue you experienced with the air-conditioning. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This 80's built hotel takes you back to the early days of the chain's existence...including a water feature in the lobby that brings a whiff of chlorine upon entry. The staff was very friendly (as was EVERYONE we met in Iowa!) and the room was clean. My complaint that marks down this property is that I am on vacation. Perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Judy G - Thank you very much for your comments. While the hotel was built in 1990, we just three years ago finished a close to $10,000,000 renovation. Our breakfast during the week is from 6:30 to 9:00 am and on weekends from 7:30 am to 10:30am. I am sorry that we had already closed by the time you... More 

Sioux Center, IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the nicest Embassy Suites I have stayed at. From the cleanliness of the property to the friendliness of the staff to the outstanding location on the river, I love staying here. You are two blocks from some great restaurants and bars on Court Avenue, walking distance to the Capitol, the Convention Center, and the Wells Fargo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear tvansoel; Thank you for your great review and for recognizing our fantastic staff in addition to the awesome and clean property. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy what Des Moines offers! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 47 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#13 of 47 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay