We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

3.5 of 5 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
Celebrate the New Year
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    142
    37
    25
    11
See reviews for
131
71
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (461)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wonderful stay...the hotel staff was attentive and had our room ready by 11 a.m. the day of check in...amazing...I used digital check-in and it made the process smotth and fast. Great hotel. Would highly recommend it. Value off the charts...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always enjoy staying at the Des Moines Embassy Suites. Love the guest reception and great breakfast in the morning. Everything is always clean and well kept. Beds are super comfortable and shower was good. Never any noise which makes for a great nights sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear danbY4250QN; Thank you very much for your business - greatly appreciated! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second consecutive year we have come here to celebrate a birthday. Disappointed that my reservation made two weeks before was not placed, but the host placed a discount on our room which was greatly appreciated. A rewards program for returning visitors would be nice. The hotel is beautiful, clean, & secure. There was a guard walking floors later in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Rdaley10; Thank you very much for your 5 star review! Greatly appreciated. I am glad that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities the hotel provides and that you found the staff friendly and that you felt safe and secure, Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wow, very nice and very courteous staff. It was a great location as we could walk downtown and go around. We had tickets for the sympathy at the Civic Center and it was close to walk to and then walk around after the performance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear kathannewest; Thank you for your 5 STAR review! We hope to be of service to you again when you return. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

St Louis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this hotel to be very nice. It met all our needs. But based on the price of the hotel, we were quite surprised and disappointed to find that we had to pay extra for internet. Really? We expected better.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Linda W; Thank you for your comments! It was nice to see that you liked the hotel. There will be some changes to the Embassy Suites internet pricing policy soon with tiered pricing based on the level of service required. Stay tuned to the news! Sincerely - Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms have been remodeled to reflect modern tastes. Very comfortable and accommodating. Public areas are very clean and updated. We were there with a wedding party and they arranged things very well. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear traveler4195; I am glad that you and your wedding party had a great time. We have weddings at the hotel throughout the year and we all fully understand that a wedding is not "just another hotel stay" but a very special once a lifetime event and we do our best to make it memorable for the Bride and Groom... More 

Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very nice place to stay with a first class staff. The shuttle service will take you anywhere you want to go within 2 miles of the hotel and there is always a shuttle available when you need it. I would say more but I am a lousy typist

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Stephen Z; I greatly appreciate your wonderful comments and compliments on the staff and services we provide. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

So friendly and helpful. Top notch front desk, valet and all other employees! Made us feel like we were guests of honor in an exclusive million dollar hotel! The evening reception was great - the gals at the bar were super friendly and fun. Our Bloody Mary's were delicious! Dips on the snack table were so good! In the mornings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kelly G57108; You really made my day reading this! I am glad we all made you feel like a $1,000,000 !!! I hope that you will stay with us again when your travel plans bring you back to Des Moines. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I stayed here when I was in town for the Des Moines Half Marathon. For this event, the location can't be beat as the race starts right outside the hotels doors. This is your typical Embassy Suites hotel. It has been renovated in the past few years so the rooms are nice and modern. The breakfast and managers reception are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jason C; I hope you had a good time and we all hope to be of service to the Marathon Group again next year! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Freehold, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Courteous staff. Nice lobby decor. Reasonable complimentary breakfast. Evening happy hour sucks that the only finger food is chips. Skimpy bathroom amenities. Overall acceptable experience but not worth over $200.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Moses C; Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you did feel that you received a good value. While I may be somewhat opinionated about this, I feel that when you take into account the fact that we offer a full - complimentary cooked to order breakfast, complimentary Evening Reception with beer, wine, cocktails, an snacks as well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in Des Moines

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay