We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Des Moines hotels

Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive Double Points
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
84%
Ranked #2 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
cas1015 Cleveland, OH
  • Overview
  • Reviews (424)
  • Photos (118)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    132
    34
    25
    11
See reviews for
121
64
25
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My teenaged son and I stayed for 1 week as he competed in the AAU Jr Olympics. Let me start by saying I had low expectations. I travel a good bit for business and I know when hotels are overtaken by families and young athletes, the hotel is going to be stretched to provide their typical levels of service. Fortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cas1015; I am glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities we offer and that you found all of our staff both efficient and hospitable. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More

Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed in this hotel on many occasions (always when being on a business trip). The rooms are very large (especially when compared to European standards) with a separate living room and bedroom. In the evening you have a complimentary manager's reception which includes beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and some finger picking food. The atrium may be a bit noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kim F; Thank you for your business! I appreciate your kind comments. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is reasonably decent, but they nickel and dime you to death. After spending $300 on a room, they still want $15 for parking, and Internet access is ridiculous. $9.95 PER DEVICE PER DAY. It was going to cost me $30 a day to connect our two phones and my work laptop. Completely unacceptable in 2014. I stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jeff N; Thank you for your comments. All downtown hotels do charge for parking, the parking lot we lease from the city across the hotel is $8.00 per day which is significantly lower than any other downtown hotel parking options as they vary from $12 to $15 at our competition. We do also offer complimentary Internet access in public... More

Sioux Center, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to Des Moines with family to go to Adventure-land & the Iowa State Fair. Arrived late on a Friday night very tired after a long day on the road and at the park. We booked our stay on Hotels.com and found out that for some reason they never relayed any information to Embassy Suites. I was very worried that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joshua K; Thank you very much for your great comments about Andy and his ability and helpfulness in assisting you. I am glad that you ended up having a prefect stay with us and that we were able to make your trip a great one. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More

Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to Des Moines to visit the Iowa State Fair. The front desk clerk was super friendly and made sure we knew that the free shuttle would take us to the location where we could hop on the bus to the fair. There was an evening reception similar to other Embassy Suites Hotels, but they went the extra mile.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear monjacks; Thank you for the great review! I am glad you found our staff to be hospitable and helpful. The summer is a great time for families to enjoy our property and the city - we always take care of all of our guests and the games and Shirley Temples are there to serve the youngest ones. Sincerely, Skip... More

Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved everything about this hotel....the expansive and good quality breakfast, the happy hour, the luxurious suite, THE AMBIENCE, the location, and the staff. The Embassy comes through again and stays my favorite! The only drawback is the water that smells of the river . THANKS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ladymacdeth; Thank you for the raving review ! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman Genreal Manager More

Kiel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On our first visit to Des Moines, stayed at the Embassy Suites for two nights. We had a room on the 7th floor, and we had a perfect, wonderful view of the river and downtown. Our room had a walk-in shower, which was perfect, and the room itself seemed recently updated. The evening reception was very nice as well, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear marily21; Thank you for your business. I am glad that you truly enjoyed your room and the nice river view. It is also great to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the complimentary amenities we offer to all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us - hopefully we will see you back soon. Sincerely, Skip... More

Roland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice accommodations but a little on pricey side! Very quite room with large area to spread out. Separate sleeping quarters available. Charging for daily use of internet was excessive when already charge heavily for room.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lisa K; Thank you very much for your comments! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer complimentary Internet access in public area of the hotel as well as in the business center. In addition Hilton Honors Diamond and Gold tier frequent travelers also receive free Internet service as part of their travel benefits. We also offer... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is well located, with large suites and a nice view over the river. I particularly like the inclusion of a free cooked breakfast, along with complimentary snacks and drinks every evening. This was a nice touch and I'd defnitely recommend this hotel to others, as well as stay here again if I'm in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ezza_83; I am happy you enjoyed the great complimentary cooked to order breakfast we offer to all of our guests along the complimentary Evening Reception with wonderful drinks and lights snacks. We hope to be of service to you when your travel plans bring you back to Des Moines. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and I only stayed one night for the Jr. Olympic Games. The suite we stayed in was clean and very inviting. The view was amazing, with the river and bridge. The living room area was very spacious. My only complaint is that the shower door was a divider instead of a door. It's a half glass divider so... More

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 953nanym; Thank you for your nice review! I am glad that you loved the room and the awesome river view overlooking the city skyline. I am sorry you did not enjoy our European Style open showers. I hope you enjoyed the Jr. Olympics and the city of Des Moines. Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Des Moines with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#1 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines #3 Business Hotel in Des Moines #5 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
234

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer