We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
410 E 30th Street, Des Moines, IA 50312
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011
Bullrem Arkansas USA
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
10
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Arkansas USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The location for this trip to the state fair was fabulous. The room was nice and right across the street.. They alternate what they serve for breakfast - the bacon and eggs were good, but the next day, it was sausage gravy that was not good, and biscuits that were. However, they have donuts, bagels, waffles, etc. We did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wisconsin
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Lobby smelled of smoke. Room was tired. Very roomy, though. We got it for free, so we shouldn't complain, but I probably wouldn't pay to stay. The breakfast had only apples for me as I can't eat wheat. Nice staff. Frig and microwave and sofa in king-bed room. It was quiet that night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience with us, however we have recently undergone a change in management staff. We are also working diligently to renovate and upgrade our rooms. I hope you come back to view some of the changes. I will also find a broader variety of breakfast items to be certain that all our guest... More 

Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a relative new property that typically has low occupance except for when events are taking place at the Iowa State Fairgrounds which is across the street. The neighborhood is very blue collar but I always feel safe and comfortable. This is my hotel of choice in Des Moines. It is a really nice home away from home. the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Have stayed here before with better results. The location is prime, right outside the fairgrounds. So here goes... We checked in and dropped our luggage, went over to the show and then dinner so we were back about 9 PM. First thing, the toilet stops up and right next to the toilet is a plunger (1st clue) and we went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We only stayed 2 nights, but our room was never cleaned, even though we were gone from 8AM - 3:30PM, then told that housekeeping was gone for the day. The girl at the front desk handed us clean towels. The next morning we discovered "something" dried on the foot of the bottom sheet. When we asked to speak to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I live in the neighborhood of this hotel, and the location of this place is great, Some of the staff that I did meet were very accommodating. Friends and I used to come swimming here all the time. haven't been here in at least a year or more. was very shocked when I seen the condition of the hotel, more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midwest
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I recently stayed here from out of state just because it was across from the State Fairgrounds and I was able to get a last minute reservation. The location is great for activities at the fairgrounds. Other than that, it is a typical economy hotel. Our room and the hallways were clean and not dark. The only noise we heard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel during the Iowa State Fair. We came to Des Moines to go to the fair so it was a convenient walk across the street to get there, but beware, it is LOUD in the room from the noise across the street. That is not the hotel's fault though and my dislike of this hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

While checking in I had to try and talk over the TV, next to the check in counter, blaring Fox News with some pundit bashing liberals, which I am one. Oh well. The room was tiny but clean. The bed was comfy but the shower was a little weak. As we were leaving we saw that at some point during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Room had been used before we checked in and they didn't seem to care. We found them on a list of pet friendly hotels an I didn't expect much from a economy hotel that allows pets but the reviews said it was new and clean. It might be new but you couldn't tell. Rooms were small with outdated fixtures. Shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities