We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4845 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
blang311 Beatrice, Nebraska
Review This Hotel

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    62
    35
    59
See reviews for
127
42
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Beatrice, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel while visiting a sick relative. The check in went very smoothly and the desk staff were very nice. The room as large and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was weak but the rest of the stay was great

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 6 people in our party and it was great. We enjoyed the hot tub which was.nice. I do have to say the pool was cold and didnt use that as much but they let us know they were waiting on a part. There could be better breakfast options. And the staff could know more what there is to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for your compliments. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the Days Inn Des Moines- Merle Hay, IA, We would like to inform you that the Hotel Management and Ownership is diligently working to make all the necessary upgrades to the hotel. We do everything in our power to satisfy all of our... More 

Rogersville, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

rate change after i booked and got to hotel and then desk clerk wanted to raise the price and was hard to get in parking lot was blocked because of traffic and only one way in and its right at light and people block drive

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are deeply sorry for the service failures you experienced on this occasion. We certainly feel as if we missed an opportunity to correct your concerns while you were on site. If you are willing and have some time, please give me a call so we may discuss your rate and... More 

Rockford iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room clean clerk was efficient but not real friendly. Might have been a bad day for him. My only complaint was the loud music coming from the bar which was located in basement. I think eleven o'clock was more than enough time for people to enjoy music.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments about your experience at our Days Inn Des Moines -Merle Hay, IA hotel. Although majority of your time here was exceptional, we are disappointed to hear that your sleep was interrupted because of the loud sound from the restaurant. We apologize for the inconvenience as we strive to provide a place... More 

Manchester, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The manager is so kind. We stay every year at the same time of year. Elka goes above and beyond to make our stay wonderful!

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty, contnued business and wonderful remarks and feedback on our product and service. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and glad that we were able to provide you with such a comfortable stay at the Days Inn Des Moines-Merle Hay, IA. I have forwarded your gratitude to our entire team and... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We were very disappointed in the way your employees at the front desk handles themselves. I felt uncomfortable the way this woman was rolling her eyes and appearing very annoyed bc she was the only one there and she had to help a guest. That night a man was at the desk and was very sarcastic in his manner and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. I apologize on behalf of those team members and assure you that I have addressed your comments with both team members. Hopefully, you can forgive... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

When I booked my room, I didn't know that I booked it as a non-refundable room. Family emergency came up and was unable to use it. They would not work with me or refund my money that they charged my credit card for prior to my arrival date.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Sorry for your inconvience, but unfortunately those discounted rates come with stipulations that even cannot change. We try to work with you by offering the change your arrival date, but you refused. More 

Manistique
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
37 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We stayed here because it was a Wyndham property and as another reviewer commented, I'm surprised that they continue to let them be associated. I can't pinpoint anything in particular but it just didn't feel clean. There was no rack or hand towel by the sink- we had to get one out of the bathroom and hang it on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question