We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4845 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jaco71 Toronto, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    62
    74
    41
    72
See reviews for
148
47
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (293)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a week in late June when I was in Des Moines on business and was very impressed. I've stayed in a lot of different properties in many cities, and this hotel struck me as being especially "homey." The owners are very nice people who are attentive and helpful; they even have a great sense of humour!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Ozark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is an absolute dump! It would have been better sleeping in our car. They didn't turn on the air in the lobby(temps were 98 and 99 the two days we were there), it didn't appear that they had vaccummed this year, the bed sheets were stained, the blanket had cigarette burns on it and the customer service was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff,we were told all the necessary things ,from breakfast being served each morning,pool hours.room was very clean ,the halls were very warm ,and the pool was very warm but felt good .

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences and compliments for our Days Inn in Des Moines, IA. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction. I concur with your comments. Our biggest priority is to provide our guests with exemplary service and we’re ecstatic to discover that you received that from our team during your recent stay with us.... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Avoid this hotel!!! The owners and operators are rude, pool is dirty, breakfast is crappy, and hallways are musty and smokey. Then on top of that was over charged they what I was quoted, had to call corporate office to get it back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aminalka0403, Owner at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your visit to our hotel. Let me apologize for the frustration that you experienced. It is certainly not acceptable for any of our guests to leave our hotel with the feelings and perceptions that you shared on your online survey. Our associates have been trained to address and resolve any situation that does not... More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price and just an overnight stay, it was ok. The room was ok, bathrooms were clean. The hotel was very dated and smelled like cigarettes in the hallways. There was a pool and arcade (sorta, half the games didn't work). There was a basic continental breakfast. Most of our group just walked next door to McDonald's. I would... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, your experiences and compliments at the Days Inn Des Moines-Merle Hay, IA. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I have shared your kind words with the entire Days Inn team and I am sure you would agree that such feedback enables us to encourage each and... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was terrible it was so so dirty,breakfast was fair, pool is so tiny the deepest is 4 and a half feet. The worst thing was bedbugs my daughter got bite and we saw them crawl across the bed.Never ever stay there!!!!!! Also when we got home there were bedbugs in our bags. Don't take a risk by staying there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping team members. I wish you had reported these issues during the stay and we would have made sure that a fix was provided right away. The sooner we are notified the faster we... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made a reservation while on the road. The motel was very close to Interstate 80. When we checked into our room we discovered some dark spots on the bed sheets. We immediately call the front desk and were moved to another room. In the morning the breakfast was adequate but being diabetic I always hope for a bit more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences and comments. The entire team at Days Inn Des Moines-Merle Hay, IA would like to thank you for your compliments. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about your restricted diet. Hard boil eggs used to be a part of our breakfast but due to... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Blood on the sheets!! Want to read more? I reported the nasty sheets to office staff, a few minutes later a knock on the door, she handed me two flat sheets and walked away. It's 10:30 pm and I'm stripping the bed and remaking it! Manager wouldn't honor the price I reserved for my two rooms, I reserved 3 months... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. First of all, I certainly want to personally apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay with us. It is never pleasant to hear that our guest was not satisfied with his or her experience. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope you will give us another chance during your next visit.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
8.1 mi away
Days Inn and Suites - Des Moines Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 46 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites of Des Moines
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay