We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4950 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50313 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Suites Des Moines)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
John H
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    19
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
17
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night on my way through to Colorado. Easy access from highway. Lori at the front desk was very personable and friendly. Found the hotel to be clean and quiet. Room on back side of hotel away from highway. Don't know how quiet the front would have been. The area the hotel is located in is not the best.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Did not check reviews because it was late and usually Comfort Inns are nice. This one is not. It smells bad, the carpets are not clean, my first room did not have working lights, my second one had hair on the night stand and dirty bed spreads. Also, the parking lot was awkward. It's right off 80 so it's convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for failing to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. It is unsettling to hear that you had a bad experience with us. We will be addressing the issues you mentioned immediately. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. More 

Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night here on the way through Iowa. The hotel is easy to find and get to off the highway. The check-in was efficient, the rooms were okay, nothing to complain about. The morning experience was less than good. The breakfast bar was really bad - running out of food (this was at 6:30am), juice machine didn't work,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for your breakfast experience while at our hotel. We are striving to make improvements and it is disheartening to hear that we are still falling short in this area. I can assure you this will be addressed with the parties involved to make sure our quality remains as consistent... More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very comfortable bed, quiet, very nice staff, great breakfast..I would stay here again. Close to highway, felt safe, liked the flee market near by. Air condition worked great. Can't say anything negative about this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The staff and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been working very hard to make improvements so that our guests stays are more accommodating. It is nice to hear that our efforts are paying off. We look forward to having you... More 

Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A pleasant welcome greeted us at reception when we checked in. Our room was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy but we had a very relaxing stay. Breakfast had a reasonable selection of hot and cold items, enough to choose from. Good location off the freeway. We'd stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. The staff and I are thrilled that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back again in the future. More 

Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made travel reservations at the last minute so everything else in town except a couple of 1-star hotels was booked. The room rate was reasonable especially when they were trying to get a ridiculous amount at the Rodeway Inn next door. The hotel was quiet, my room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

The staff and I are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay with us. We are striving to improve our property and our customers experience with us. We are in hopes of seeing you again with us in the near future. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The comfort inn is great place to stay but Lorie the front desk agent is Outstanding! It is refreshing and so appreciated when you meet people who love their job and provide excellent customer service. Thank you Lorie :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us. It is always uplifting for the staff to hear about the good stays as well. I will pass your kind words on to Lori as well. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future. More 

Woodstock, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel had a very seedy feel to it. The room smelled like cat urine and the carpets were sticky. Towels were flimsy at best. The adjoining motel looked like a flop house and I did not feel safe in the parking lot after dark. The area around the back of the hotel was littered with garbage. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations during your recent visit. I can assure you this is not our usual standard of service. We are in hopes that you will consider giving us another try on your next visit to the area. More 

Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Very close to I80 in North Des Moines but rooms were quiet, at least on the North side, away from roads. The people upstairs were NOT quiet, until 11pm but that's not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was good, with hot eggs and bacon, waffles etc. with all the other usual items. Tricky to drive in to, don't rely on internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to express our appreciation for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is helpful to us to know what we are doing right as well as what we need to improve on for future guests. We look forward to seeing you back at our property soon. More 

The Villages
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

There was nothing exceptional about this Comfort Inn. The price was higher than some of the others I stayed at on this trip which is to be expected since it is right off the interstate. There isn't anything exceptional about the Continental Breakfast... just be sure you get there early!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for failing to exceed your expectations. We have been striving to make improvements to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience. It is disappointing when we find we have failed to meet that goal. We hope you will consider staying with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay