We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4950 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50313 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Suites Des Moines)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ScubaSkeeter Minnesota, USA
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
17
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very close to I80 in North Des Moines but rooms were quiet, at least on the North side, away from roads. The people upstairs were NOT quiet, until 11pm but that's not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was good, with hot eggs and bacon, waffles etc. with all the other usual items. Tricky to drive in to, don't rely on internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Villages
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There was nothing exceptional about this Comfort Inn. The price was higher than some of the others I stayed at on this trip which is to be expected since it is right off the interstate. There isn't anything exceptional about the Continental Breakfast... just be sure you get there early!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for failing to exceed your expectations. We have been striving to make improvements to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience. It is disappointing when we find we have failed to meet that goal. We hope you will consider staying with us again. More 

St. Paul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk staff was very welcoming as was the breakfast area attendant. The bed was comfortable... but that was the length and breadth of the nice things. The halls smelled - but the room smelled fine. Open electrical box in the ceiling, bathroom fan cover coming off, frayed upholstery, stained carpet. All of this I can live with -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to extend my sincerest apologies at failing to exceed your expectations. We are striving to make improvements to our property and its amenities, and are disappointed when we fall short. We are in hopes that you will give us another try the next time you are in the area. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be. My husband was in a bad wreck and it took me 12hrs to get there but they made sure he had everything he needed until I got there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area. All the staff was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad that you had a good experience with us. We hope your husband saw a speedy recovery and all is well with you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, although under better circumstances. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This hotel is conveniently located off I-80 if you're looking for an overnight stay in Des Moines. I found it clean and the bed comfortable (although there was a red stain on the duvet runner). The drone of the highway noise actually allowed me to sleep through the night. When you exit I-80, be sure to turn right and NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our property. The feedback from our guests truly helps us to see what we are doing good, and what we need to improve on. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Great place to stay! Awesome rooms and great service. The breakfast in the morning is great too!! Very reasonable prices. The location is great. Right off the interstate. The manager Steve is very helpful! If you want a good place to stay this is it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback and letting us know about your stay. We appreciate you staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Lori was wonderful! Breakfast was great and you know how those weird scrambled eggs taste? They were actually really great! Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were very nice! My dog AND children all had great time also! Great location right off interstate right next to great restaurants within 1 min walking! Give Lori 5 stars wonderful hotel! Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. Thank you for choosing our hotel. More 

Sallisaw, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Room was adequately supplied and mostly clean. The cable quit working while we were watching it, and the phone was apparently there just for show, because the cord was just hanging there and the plug to the wall had been removed. I informed the manager the next morning and he did not act at all concerned, but the rate was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you chose to stay with us, and we are in hopes you will do so again in the future. I do remember you bringing up the phone, which I had addressed that day, so we got that repaired. The cable going out in the middle of the night is a little more challenging since the cable company... More 

Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

My daughter and I pulled in here late one night after a long day of driving. The woman behind the desk was wonderful. She put us at the end of the long hallway so we wouldn't have to listen to the truck's air brakes all night. That was appreciated. Be before warned, you will hear the wind if it gets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad you chose to stay with us and that you had a positive experience with the customer service. I'm not sure why there were dirty dishes in the sink, but I will address that with the staff. More 

Kaufman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Been staying here for many years under two different hotel brands. Staff has always been helpful, and provided all my needs. Steve even gave me a ride to the Mack truck dealership, when my truck was ready in his own personal car. Service with a smile I would say!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannyks, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We are very grateful that you continue to stay with our property and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, under better circumstances of course. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay