We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Council Bluffs hotels

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2202 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Celticlady09 Washington, USA
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
36
15
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Washington, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We planned a mini family reunion in Council Bluffs IA, a central meeting spot for my husband's far flung brothers. We looked up hotels, decided on the Hampton Inn, made reservations, requesting a suite or larger room and flew in from WA state. The Hampton is joined to the Holiday Inn and then the AmeriStar Hotel/Casino. The Hampton was disappointing,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Celticlady09, Thank you for such an amazing review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make your family reunion such a positive experience. My staff and I care a great deal about making our guest's special occasions perfect and I am very happy that we were able to do that for you. It... More

Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family stayed here one night on our way back from the black hills in SD since we added the Omaha Zoo to our itinerary. When I arrived to check-in there were 3 couples trying to check in as well. The front desk staff (girl) was on the phone sounding like she was trying to “straighten out” one of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear McDonald525, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your time here with me. I sincerely appreciate any opportunity I can get to improve our hotel for all of our guests in the future. I am very sorry for the negative experiences you had during your stay. Service to our guests is very important to... More

Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times before and have always experienced very friendly and helpful staff. Out room is always clean. The superconductor air conditioner unit this time around was making all sorts of noise, which did keep us up, but when management was informed at check out they said they would take care of it. My only complaint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear dalejr8prncss, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with me. It is great to hear that you are a return guest of ours and we sincerely hope to always be your hotel of choice when you visit the area. I am very happy that you have always found our staff to be friendly... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

When I made our reservation during a recent family road trip, I didn't realize the council bluffs area was the hot-bed of gambling and casinos - and that the hotels exist to serve that clientele. We pulled in and were surprised that the hotel shared a parking lot with the casino - cars were EVERWHERE. We had to park in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear BBasil, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with me. Feedback from our guests is very important in helping us to ensure that we provide the most pleasant stay possible for all of our guests in the future. I am very sorry that your time here with us turned out to be a... More

Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Normal Holiday Inn. Room was fine, staff was fine, breakfast was fine. What was not fine was that their parking lot was being redone and you had to park next door at the Hampton Inn and trudge your luggage through 2 hotels. There was also a casino next door which if I had known I would have picked another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Debbie M, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with me. I sincerely appreciate you choosing to spend your time in Council Bluffs with us. I am very sorry for the difficulties with our parking lot construction. I know how inconvenient these types of repairs can be and I sincerely appreciate your patience with... More

Denver, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were meeting our family at a half-way point, so we chose the Council Bluffs/Omaha area. We were very happy with this hotel in general - the hotel is kept clean and is updated. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfy. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the river. I agree with a previous reviewer that there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear mskrugr, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your time here with us to the TripAdvisor community! I am very happy that you were satisfied with your stay and that you were able to provide us with such honest feedback. We always love hearing from our guests about both what we have done well as... More

Butler, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Thus hotel was very big. The mattresses were very soft. Staff gave us extra pillows and towels when we checked in. Free water in Lobby for all guests. Free hot breakfast in the morning (normal free breakfast). Free shuttle to Omaha (excellent driver that gave us a little tour of Omaha). This hotel is connected to Ameristar Casino, which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth R, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community! It is great to hear all of the wonderful things you had to say about your time here with us. My staff works very hard to make our guests feel at home and I will make sure to relay to them what a wonderful job... More

NE Nebraska
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for a concert in Council Bluffs, and this Holiday Inn did it's job. A clean, comfortable, room with a lot of space in the room. This Holiday Inn provided us with free WiFi and also a free hot breakfast, similar to what any Holiday Inn Express offers.We also were able to get free shuttle service to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear HuskerFan1022, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community! I am very happy that we were able to make your concert trip even more enjoyable. I sincerely appreciate your kind words for the service provided by our front desk staff. One of our biggest goals is to always... More

New lenox
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel couldn't care less about its guests. We made the mistake of prepaying for our reservation and then needed to cancel and stay the following night. They wouldn't allow us to even though I explained we were stuck two states away at a softball tournament. They put me through to the supervisor and I waited 35 minutes on hold.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Seville5, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel with me. I sincerely appreciate any feedback I can get to make our hotel better for all of our guests in the future. I assure you we care a great deal about each and every one of our guests and would never do anything intentionally... More

Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here because it was about the closest hotel to The Omaha Zoo. We were glad that we stayed here. It was just off the freeway, & a short 5 minute drive to the zoo, & a short drive to Downtown Omaha. There was 6 of us staying here, so we had 2 rooms, next door to one another.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear teenytinyterri, Thank you for sharing such an amazing review of our hotel with the entire TripAdvisor community! It is great to hear that everything with your stay was flawless. These are the types of experiences we work very hard to provide to all of our guests and I am very happy that you will have such fond memories of... More

Do you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites

Address: 2202 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Holiday Inn

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites