We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Council Bluffs hotels

AmericInn Council Bluffs

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Council Bluffs to your Saves list
AmericInn Council Bluffs
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #23 of 25 hotels in Council Bluffs
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    8
    4
    13
See reviews for
19
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is Ok if you are looking for a place to lay your head. We had blood stains on our sheets, but didn't notice them until the morning. The room had a stale smell and we had a hard time maintaining a comfortable temperature. The wifi was Ok, but my 3G on my phone was better.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for rating our Americinn hotel in Council Bluffs, IA and providing your comments. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction. Although it is our goal to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guests may not be completely vowed. Our staff is always... More

brewhawk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is literally nothing positive I can say about this place. It smelled musty. The beds and pillows were all super-firm and very uncomfortable. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and barely cooled the room. The rooms were ugly and the breakfast was below average. For $140 per night, I expect much better. I would not recommend this place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us about your recent stay at Americinn Council Bluffs. I was extremely disappointed to read about your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. We value... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a baseball tournament and it was the most disgusting hotel we've ever stayed at! Our room door didn't look unless the door was slammed as hard as possible. When we returned from 1st game, maid service didn't slam the door we entered the room with out a key! Mold, faulty AC, 1 day no maid service...NEVER again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very sorry for the poor experience you had and offer our sincere apologies for causing you disappointment and inconvenience. I will use your review in discussions and training with our housekeeping team so we can make improvements to our operation. We want all of our guests to receive the best in service... More

Moline
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Do not stay here. Mold in rooms filthy sheets and comforters and if you complain they only bring you others that are just as bad. Also saw dead roaches in hallway which we were told were only big spiders. Left ASAP

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping and maintenance team members. I wish you had reported these issues during the stay and we would have made sure that a fix was provided right away. The sooner we are notified the... More

Iowa City
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traveling for baseball we have stayed in numerous hotels this was down hill from the beginning. Leaky fridge left my bag wet and carpet wet for days due to ill working AC which left my room moist despite being at 65degrees and bathroom fan running. Mildew in bathroom beds not made dirty pillows in room having to ask for more... More

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences and providing your comments on our hotel. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction. Although it is our goal to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guests may not be completely vowed. We apologize that your experience was... More

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't stay in this Amercinnn!!!!!! The management does not care if your happy or comfortable. Filthy conditions, horrible maid service and overpriced. We would have been more comfortable staying in our car. The slump buster baseball tournament should never Llet people stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all the feedback from our guests; whether it is good or bad. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. It is our job to make sure our guests are happy and we obviously failed to make sure that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. We... More

Houston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

A/Cs don't work. Parking lot less humid. Rooms not clean. Mildew showers. Poor house keeping. Comforter thrown over without changing or even making sheets. Spiders (have photo). Noisy fans and A/C. Forced to stay due to baseball tourney rules. Overcharged-motel 6 would be 4 star in comparison. Clearly an ownership issue. No water replaced in drink machine since check in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and sharing your experiences at our hotel. When problems or issues are reported during the stay, we make sure that a fix is provided right away. However, it is hard to fix problems when they are addressed after a guest stay. The sooner we are notified the faster we can address and find resolutions. Given... More

Ida Grove, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We generally stay at AmericInn when we travel. We have never stayed at the one in Council Bluffs before, but having a late night flight into Omaha, we thought we would give it a try. What a disaster. We made the reservation well in advance. We pull up to the hotel at 12:30 am. There are construction workers outside drinking.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

It was indeed a pleasure to read your kind review and I would very much like to thank you, for the time you have taken to offer your feedback. It is only with such feedback that we can endeavor to maintain and improve the service and hospitality we offer to all our guests, as we move forward. Although it is... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Found this hotel because was going to College World series and know AmericInn. This was not your typical AmericInn. They must of bought a hotel that was in this location. Small rooms, mold in the tub, roll away was terrible. The clock ran fast, the overhead lights didn't work, parking lot had a terrible layout. I pulled in after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for rating our hotel and providing your comments. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Please rest assured and know that we will go above and beyond and do everything in our power to make it right and earn back your respect, trust and business. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and... More

Groton, MA USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were forced to stay in this hotel because of the annual "college world series" which fills every hotel in the area with pre-teenage boys and their screaming siblings (and you'll pay 2-3X normal rates for priviledge). We stayed at this hotel when it was new and a different brand but that was a long long time ago. The have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on our hotel, team members and our services. As you pointed out our hotel was extremely busy because of the annual "College World Series" which fills every hotel in the area with pre-teenage boys. Although we do all that we can to maintain discipline and sanity within our facility by working directly with the chaperones... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage AmericInn Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to AmericInn Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Council Bluffs

Address: 1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Council Bluffs 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your AmericInn Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Council Bluffs include updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Council Bluffs hotel is located off I-80, just across the river from Omaha, Nebraska. We are conveniently located near Epply Airfield, downtown Omaha, Harrah’s & Ameristar casinos, Mid-American Center, the Old Market District and the Henry Doorly Zoo. Whether you’re going on a family vacation, romantic getaway, business trip or traveling with a group, AmericInn of Council Bluffs offers great comfort and an even greater value. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
81

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer