We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Council Bluffs hotels

AmericInn Council Bluffs

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Council Bluffs to your Saves list
AmericInn Council Bluffs
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
36%
Ranked #23 of 25 hotels in Council Bluffs
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
21
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The cleanliness of the rooms definitely need attention. The front lobby area was clean and looked nice. The staff was friendly but the rooms definitely need more attention to detain. I will not return

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Americinn Council Bluffs hotel. I apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and your room during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. Janet More

Lincoln, Ne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first mistake was not setting up my reservation online where the price was cheaper. But in the past any front desk clerk would always match the price with no hassle. They don't honor the AAA discount even though it has it online. The hotel is dated and the rooms stale. For the price you can stay at one of... More

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. As our guest, you can expect warm hospitality and clean comfortable rooms, where everything works to make your stay trouble-free and enjoyable. I have addressed your concerns about AAA rate and taken actions to correct this issue. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly... More

Algona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is Ok if you are looking for a place to lay your head. We had blood stains on our sheets, but didn't notice them until the morning. The room had a stale smell and we had a hard time maintaining a comfortable temperature. The wifi was Ok, but my 3G on my phone was better.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for rating our Americinn hotel in Council Bluffs, IA and providing your comments. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction. Although it is our goal to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guests may not be completely vowed. Our staff is always... More

brewhawk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

There is literally nothing positive I can say about this place. It smelled musty. The beds and pillows were all super-firm and very uncomfortable. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and barely cooled the room. The rooms were ugly and the breakfast was below average. For $140 per night, I expect much better. I would not recommend this place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us about your recent stay at Americinn Council Bluffs. I was extremely disappointed to read about your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. We value... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here for a baseball tournament and it was the most disgusting hotel we've ever stayed at! Our room door didn't look unless the door was slammed as hard as possible. When we returned from 1st game, maid service didn't slam the door we entered the room with out a key! Mold, faulty AC, 1 day no maid service...NEVER again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very sorry for the poor experience you had and offer our sincere apologies for causing you disappointment and inconvenience. I will use your review in discussions and training with our housekeeping team so we can make improvements to our operation. We want all of our guests to receive the best in service... More

Moline
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Do not stay here. Mold in rooms filthy sheets and comforters and if you complain they only bring you others that are just as bad. Also saw dead roaches in hallway which we were told were only big spiders. Left ASAP

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping and maintenance team members. I wish you had reported these issues during the stay and we would have made sure that a fix was provided right away. The sooner we are notified the... More

Iowa City
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Traveling for baseball we have stayed in numerous hotels this was down hill from the beginning. Leaky fridge left my bag wet and carpet wet for days due to ill working AC which left my room moist despite being at 65degrees and bathroom fan running. Mildew in bathroom beds not made dirty pillows in room having to ask for more... More

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences and providing your comments on our hotel. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction. Although it is our goal to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guests may not be completely vowed. We apologize that your experience was... More

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Don't stay in this Amercinnn!!!!!! The management does not care if your happy or comfortable. Filthy conditions, horrible maid service and overpriced. We would have been more comfortable staying in our car. The slump buster baseball tournament should never Llet people stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all the feedback from our guests; whether it is good or bad. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. It is our job to make sure our guests are happy and we obviously failed to make sure that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. We... More

Houston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

A/Cs don't work. Parking lot less humid. Rooms not clean. Mildew showers. Poor house keeping. Comforter thrown over without changing or even making sheets. Spiders (have photo). Noisy fans and A/C. Forced to stay due to baseball tourney rules. Overcharged-motel 6 would be 4 star in comparison. Clearly an ownership issue. No water replaced in drink machine since check in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and sharing your experiences at our hotel. When problems or issues are reported during the stay, we make sure that a fix is provided right away. However, it is hard to fix problems when they are addressed after a guest stay. The sooner we are notified the faster we can address and find resolutions. Given... More

Ida Grove, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We generally stay at AmericInn when we travel. We have never stayed at the one in Council Bluffs before, but having a late night flight into Omaha, we thought we would give it a try. What a disaster. We made the reservation well in advance. We pull up to the hotel at 12:30 am. There are construction workers outside drinking.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet_D_11982, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

It was indeed a pleasure to read your kind review and I would very much like to thank you, for the time you have taken to offer your feedback. It is only with such feedback that we can endeavor to maintain and improve the service and hospitality we offer to all our guests, as we move forward. Although it is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage AmericInn Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to AmericInn Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Council Bluffs

Address: 1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Council Bluffs 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your AmericInn Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Council Bluffs with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Council Bluffs include updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Council Bluffs hotel is located off I-80, just across the river from Omaha, Nebraska. We are conveniently located near Epply Airfield, downtown Omaha, Harrah’s & Ameristar casinos, Mid-American Center, the Old Market District and the Henry Doorly Zoo. Whether you’re going on a family vacation, romantic getaway, business trip or traveling with a group, AmericInn of Council Bluffs offers great comfort and an even greater value. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
81

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Council Bluffs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer