We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Council Bluffs

1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Hotel amenities
AmericInn Council Bluffs
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
kevinhI1571EZ Le Mars
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    11
    14
    12
    21
See reviews for
38
11
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Le Mars
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel with recent upgrades. Pool was nice. Amenities were pretty standard. Breakfast lounge was exceptional. Room was smaller than typical AmericInn but acceptable for a family of 5 to stay in (little tight). Staff was top notch and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delhi, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was traveling home on a Saturday night after a basketball camp with 8 boys- our team typically stays at Marriott properties, but for some reason, most of the town of Omaha and Council Bluffs were booked up tonight. I've had some good experiences at AmericInns, so I thought I'd give this a shot. My fault, won't happen again. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danner001, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I am sorry for your bad experience, this is not the norm here. Feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. Dann Sutton General Manager More 

Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come on people. Our room was clean, comfy and WiFi easy to connect to. The pool was perfect, way cleaner than a hotel we stayed at for 3 x the price. Breakfast was basic but good. Probably should not all it a warm breakfast but I get it. We were driving from Michigan to Denver and needed a room at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danner001, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, we hope you return soon! Dann More 

Knox, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was, by far, the worst hotel in which I have ever stayed. We were driving through the area on our way home and grabbed a room at around 11:00 pm. We were pleased they had a room available that was large enough to accommodate our family. When we arrived in the room, however, it was clear that housekeeping took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danner001, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I am sorry about the experience you had at my hotel, I have shared this with my staff and different training has been put into place Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments. Dann Sutton General Manager More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Decent room with a good breakfast. When we checked in they had us in a king for 3 of us, they caught up to us in the hall and said they could put us in 2 queens so we went back to the front desk and they gave us a new room which was still a king room. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danner001, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at AmericInn Council Bluffs, I am sorry you had confusion upon check in. We do hope that you give us a second try should you be in the area againg Dann General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We were very pleased with this AmericInn. We needed a place for just one night on our way up to visit our granddaughter. We decided to stay here after reading some of the more recent reviews of this motel and we not disappointed. It is a very friendly and affordable place to stay. Our room was nice, clean and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan_HotelGM, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for chosing AmericInn while in Council Bluffs, Thank you for your great review! We hope you come see us again! More 

Loveland, CO and Mt. Vernon, IA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Simply put, I was overcharged, and the desk clerk couldn't quite figure out how to correct it, and ultimately later a manager called to say that the situation would be corrected. Still, it put me in position to have to beg for my money back. Here's the shenanigan: I was given a $75 credit voucher, then it was taken away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan_HotelGM, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for chosing AmericInn while in Council Bluffs, I am sorry about the billing confusion, I have reviewed your bill and I think everything is in order. Should you have any questions, please feel free to give me a call . Dann More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile

Traveling with our dog so needed a pet-friendly accommodation and we got last pet room. Staff was nice 2 Queen beds. Pulled back covers & sheet on first and all kinds of hair on sheet. Went to other queen but not much better. Burn holes, tears, on cover, blanket & sheets. Disgusting. We arrived after midnight so too tired to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan_HotelGM, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at AmericInn Councl Bluffs. I am sorry that you had a negitive experience, I have shared the survey with my staff and we have set new cleaning, and inspections procedures in place. Please feel free to contact me should you have any further questions Dann Sutton More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Suite was spacious and clean; layout was good for families or just two people needing a bit of 'space'. Bed was comfortable and room quiet in spite of being close view of highway. This hotel was very good value for money. The suite layout allowed the children to go to bed on time. The room appeared to be new and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan_HotelGM, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thanks for you great review. We hope you will visit us again when you are in the area! Dann & Staff General Manager More 

Albert Lea
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We are very happy with the AmericInn chain and prefer this chain of hotels over many others. We have only had Positive stays in our MN state. In my opinion this particular was not as clean or maintained as well as what I have grown accustomed to. We cut our trip short by a whole day because there is no... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
danner001, General Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at AmericInn Council Bluffs, I apologize that your experience was not what you are used to with AmericInn, Your comments will be used in future training for my staff. I hope you may give us a second chance should you return to the area. Dann More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the Bluffs
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the B...
#12 of 25 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bl...
#15 of 25 in Council Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council B...
#10 of 25 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay