We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Coralville hotels

Holiday Inn Coralville

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 1st Avenue, Coralville, IA 52241
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coralville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coralville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Coralville
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Betty R Springfield, Missouri
  • Overview
  • Reviews (100)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I suspected this was an older Holiday Inn when I made the reservation and had no idea what to expect. When I went in the clerk asked me if I would mind if he upgraded us to a suite. Not at all! This place has a rather quirky layout. Our suite was on the third floor, next to the fitness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While it is often difficult to differentiate between various properties in the same chain, it usually is the staff that makes the difference in the experience. This property is well located and all rooms and amenities are up to standard expectation for the parent company. What makes it unique is the well versed and genuinely motivated staff. Maybe because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I smelled a peculiar odor as soon as I walked in the door. It was a musty/cigarette smoke smell. I thought it would improve once I got to my room, but it didn't. I called the front desk to inquire whether I was place in a smoking room and the attendant told me I wasn't. He offered a different room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanover Park, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just stayed here this past weekend and had a horrible experience. The room smelled bad, was very dirty and falling apart. We could even open the closet due to the doors hanging off the track. I didn't even mention my displeasure to the staff since it was only a quick weekend away. My main issue came at the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Janet V., I'm sorry to hear about your recent late check out mix-up here. We offer our guests late checkouts as late as 2pm when we can. Looks like a pretty significant miscommunication between our front desk staff and our housekeepers. Now that you've taken the time to let us know that it happened, we can be more careful... More

Coal Valley, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniently located off I-80, this hotel is situated near major medical facilities and shopping plazas. The exterior is attractive, and the primo parking spaces reserved for IHG Reward Members in front are a big plus. Inside, the lobby is bright and attractive; the front desk staff is courteous and professional. This hotel has some issues, though. The main hallway smells... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Patricia M, Thanks for letting us know about your trip to our hotel. We consider our Platinum Members of the highest importance, so the Member Parking is only one of the amenities we offer. I'm sorry to hear that the room didn't meet your expectations. Thanks to guest reviews like yours, we've spent the last couple of weeks getting... More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, this is a full-on Holiday Inn, not a Holliday In Express (HIE), so. not the complimentary breakfast buffet-thingy that HIE does so well, but this HI has a full-up Restaurant with room service! We ate before we got to the hotel, but the wonderful smells that wafted my way as I unloaded the car made me wish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Jeff S., Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience! We absolutely love the River City Beefstro, and their food is consistently top notch. We have carpet cleaners in just today, giving the carpets some love just like you suggested. I'm happy that you enjoyed your time here and I look forward to seeing you again... More

Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived the parking lot was full of motorcycles. I thought we might have made a wrong turn when we got on I-80 and we were in South Dakota. The motorcycles belonged to the rough and tough Defenders! Actually, they defend citizens and ensure public safety as officers of the law, when not on their scooters. It is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear KarenB, Thank you for posting your recent experience here at our hotel. I enjoyed having the motorcyclists here too! One of my favorite parts of the hotel is the fact that we cater to so many different groups of people. I'm glad you got the chance to experience excellent staff service, stay and other guests. I hope to see... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Coming back from Indy, made reservation late at night when I didn't realize that this hotel allowed pets, that was my mistake. Then, first room they assigned us a room that where the whole room was filled with bad toilet smell. Seemed like they just fixed a bad toilet or something. Anyways after asking the front desk, went to another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Sudip S, Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn. I'm sorry your most recent stay with us didn't meet your expectations for the Holiday Inn brand. Since you reported the issue with the carpet in the rooms, we've hired a professional carpet cleaner in addition to our periodic steam cleaners. Now that our property has... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Bed was comfortable, and I really enjoyed the housekeepers , their friendly, personal and nice, They do need to fix up a bit but I liked my stay. Would I return, probably not until they building has repairs done but I felt safe. The floor smelled a bit damp..

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear AlaskaLittlebear, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's so good to hear that you enjoyed our housekeeping staff. Our guests deserve the best in all areas of their stay, we're just glad you got the chance to meet one of our many excellent housekeepers. We can't wait to see you back to continue exceeding your... More

Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

While traveling cross country we chose to stop late and find a room to rest for a few hours. Check-in was quick and easy. However, the room we were given was sub-standard. The toilet did not work and because it was so late we fixed it ourselves thank goodness it was just the chain. One would think that the cleaning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Dear CraigWyo301, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're sorry you you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had and the condition of our property fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coralville

Address: 1220 1st Avenue, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coralville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coralville Hotel Coralville
Coralville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Coralville Iowa

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (3)
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (40)
Hotel & grounds (9)
Room/suite (8)
Dining (2)
Pool/beach area (1)
Business center/function rooms (1)
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Coralville with
any amenities


Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will feel safe and comfortable when you stay at the Holiday Inn Coralville/ Iowa City. The Holiday Inn Iowa City/Coralville is a proud sponsor of the University of Iowa Hawkeyes, and located just 2 miles from Kinnick Stadium. The University of Iowa, Proctor and Gamble, ACT, ALPLA, Marriott Conference Center, and the Coralville Coral Ridge Mall are all within 3 miles of the Holiday Inn. You are always welcome at the full service Holiday Inn & Conference Center in Iowa City/Coralville. We are conveniently located at exit 242 off I-80 for easy access to all local attractions or a quick start to your travel plans. You will be welcomed in our beautifully furnished lobby, cozy fireplace (the perfect place to utilize our complimentary wireless Internet), and friendly, helpful staff members. Whether you re traveling on business, pleasure, or just passing through; the Holiday Inn & Conference Center has all the amenities to accommodate your needs. We are a short 20 minutes from the Cedar Rapids/ Eastern Iowa Airport (CID) and the new Riverside Casino. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Coralville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer