We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    67
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
78
53
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great accommodations. They sent us shuttles to get to where we need to go. The breakfast had enough choices to keep us happy over two mornings. Unfortunately we did not get a chance to check out the pool/hottub area or the fitness center.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear James J, I'm happy that everything went so well for you! We do offer a complimentary shuttle service to our guests. Most frequently, we use it to transport hospital patients to and from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA. However, subject to availability, we can take guests where they need to go in Iowa City... More 

Plainfield, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Attended a wedding at the Celebration Farm and this hotel was the perfect location for the whole wedding family and friends. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and constantly replenished. Rooms were comfortable and staff was very hospitable.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Susan C, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Iowa City/Coralville. It sounds like you were here as a part of a wedding block, a set of rooms that we can set aside for a special event at a negotiated rate. We do these for conferences, weddings, family reunions: any event that would require a number... More 

Lincoln, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right off the interstate so easy to get to. It has a nice restaurant and a pool and fitness center to exercise after a long drive. I've stayed at this motel a couple times now in the past couple years and have always been satisfied.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Mary H, I'm glad your stay went so well! We think that our on-site restaurant, the River City Beefstro, brings a lot to our hotel. It's just so easy to walk to the lobby to eat, or even order room service and never have to leave your room. Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. Hope to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always stay at this location on my visits to Iowa and the staff and location is great. I am traveling on business, so this is a nice escape from the long days of work. The staff is great and helpful and there is a restaurant connected to this hotel and a few just three blocks away.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Manuel D, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm happy to hear that you like us so much! We strive to leave every guest as satisfied as you are. Guest experience is always our top priority. I'm glad everything went so well for you. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Erika Pohlman... More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Coralville, IA Hampton Inn had no hot water on two different visits. The staff tried to downplay the problem, and had to be prodded to deliver the 100% guarantee. Overall, I love Hampton Inns, but this was a bad experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Fred G, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get any hot water in your shower. We had a small water heater issue that our maintenance men have since repaired. I understand that having no hot water is a really frustrating way to start your day. I'm glad that we were able to give you the 100% guarantee to... More 

Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great amenities, great breakfast - I go out of my way to stayat this hotel. Clean rooms, fast internet, and easy access to highway make this a terrific business hotel. I always give this is a A+ for each of my stays.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Mark T, I'm happy to hear that you like us so much! We do our best to give every guest a great experience. We think that quality internet service is necessary for a hotel stay to go well, so we always like to stay on top of that. Thanks so much for telling us about your stay, we'll see... More 

Superior, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff gave me a free toblerone chocolate bar abd was very friendly. The breakfast is outstanding and the room was clean and simple. They have a decent pool, hot tub, and small workout room. And there is an attached restaurant that is decent. Hotel is convenient to the highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear jon k, We love to make a great first impression, so I'm glad your check in experience left you with one. Our staff cares about each and every guest, and the welcome bag is just one way we want to thank you for staying with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we'll be happy... More 

Iowa City, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were nice and clean. We checked in late after traveling all day. When I went to use my key, it did not work. I went back to the desk and he gave me a new one. That one did not work. After three times of this, the guy went with me to open the door and it didn't... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Jay K, I'm sorry that your check in didn't go smoothly. We like the safety and security of using programmable keys, but unfortunately, that means we have electronic locks that sometimes run out of batteries without our knowledge. Fortunately, it doesn't happen often, but I apologize that it ruined your arrival. I'm glad we were able to move you... More 

Afton, Iowa, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed at this property a few times and always had a good experience. The hotel is clean and the staff is polite. The breakfast wasn't the best I've had at a Hampton but not the worst either. The set up of the hotel is a little weird. It connects to a Holiday Inn & they share an indoor pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer V, I'm glad we were able to get you in early! Sometimes it's hard depending on our occupancy, but we do our best to accommodate every request of our guests, especially our HHonors members. We love to provide stellar service to everyone who stays with us, and I'm so happy to hear we did it for you too.... More 

Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent a night in this Hampton Inn on a long road trip. I asked for a room facing away from the highway, since the hotel sits pretty much right on top of I-80, but it turns out that because of the hotel's configuration there really are no rooms that face away from the highway. That said, my room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review

Dear singflysmith, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our Hampton On The House™ Hot Breakfast caters to all kinds of breakfast tastes. We have fresh Belgian waffle makers, biscuits and gravy, and a variety of breakfast carbohydrates like bagels and muffins. We just want to make sure that you can find something that fits your breakfast needs,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question