We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mainstay Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2491 Holiday Rd, Coralville, IA 52241 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mainstay Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Norton Shores, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My understanding is this hotel is transitioning from a Suburban to a Mainstay, one of the Choices 'family' hotels. As I checked in and asked about breakfast, the new eating area had not been established yet, but should be ready early Jan. 2016. Because of the inconvenience, a gentleman named Jordan gave me coupons good for points toward Choices rewards.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Spacious rooms, kitchen, fridge: super economical. Shuttle to Iowa City, close to the malls and eatery places. Local Goodwill is across the street across it is phenomenal! Got two pre-owned Coach bags (vintage!) for a fraction of their value. Gas Station is 500 steps away for easy fueling before going on the highway. Nice!

Helpful?
Thank Irina I
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We spent 8 nights at the Surburban Extended Stay. I have no complaints about anything at this hotel. The room was a sufficient size for the 2 of us, the little kitchenette was very handy and well equipped with what we needed.The bed was very comfortable and we did not hear any noises from other rooms. Having laundry on site... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadyLisa0808
Ottis B, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about our hotel & staff. We strive to make sure that all of our guests are happy & comfortable. It is also very important that our guests are not disrupted during our renovation(s) & it's nice to hear that... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here through the week for work and the experience was horrible! There was no daily room service. The beds were filled with bed bugs, boss and I were waking up with welts and bites all over, we had to fill out a injury report with work due to the severity. Appears to be a nice hotel but after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jager686
Ottis B, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Sorry that you had such an awful experience with our hotel. We had all of the room(s) inspected the day that this was reported & there were no reports of any bed bugs of any kind. Do you think that the 'bites' could have been from work or working outside during the week? Posting that 'we have bed bugs' isn't... More 

Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We were looking for places to stay on our trip to Ohio around the 4th of July weekend, and this Suburban Extended Stay was right at the limit of our driving time "comfort zone." We arrived late, checked in at nearly midnight with no problems, and found the rooms both clean and quiet - exactly what we look for in... More 

Helpful?
Thank W_C_B_Colorado
Ottis B, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're very happy that you decided to stay with us & everything was just right for your needs & situation. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future when you have more time in the area. We'd love to show you everything we have to offer when you have more time... More 

Odessa, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

I had never been to Iowa, yet alone Coralville. This hotel was my first "stop" after a 16hour+ drive. I was extremely exhausted and wasn't completely coherent. I was immediately greeted, respectfully and patiently, by a gentlemen named John. His patience with my irritability after being trapped in a car was astounding, as I wasn't in a very good mood...self... More 

Helpful?
Thank GordonH3366
Ottis B, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Wow! Gordon, thank you so much for you detailed & sincere review of your stay with us. You were a great guest & you were also very understanding of any issues that may have came up. It's a give & take relationship between guest & hotel but you went above and beyond with your kind words & praise. It takes... More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

Exit 240 on I-80 in Iowa has a lot in store for the traveling public. The Suburban Extended Stay motel is an excellent spot for even nonextended stays in Iowa. The rooms are large and feature a nicely equipped kitchenette. The rooms even offer a recliner, which beats the heck out of watching TV while sitting on the bed. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
Ottis B, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the surrounding amenities that Exit 240 has to offer. We hope to have you back again very soon. We have some great updates, renovations & additions that we're about to start & we know you'll enjoy! More 

Granville
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The place was very clean and the staff very friendly. The only disappointment was there was no swimming pool but if I had read better I would have known that in advance. It is close to many places to eat and the mall is across the Interstate.

Helpful?
Thank Ron T
GMOttis, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed we didn't have a pool. We hope that whatever we lacked in amenities (pool, breakfast) we made up for in guest service & you had a good experience. Thank you, we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay Suburban Extended Stay this month. Everyone was so accommodating. Our room was perfectly located...ground floor, near laundry room, Exercise Center, And Business Center. Clean and well maintained. The gazebo outside was a perfect place for afternoon or morning relaxation. We found the location of the hotel close to all restaurants, the University, shopping, movie theater, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie Y
GMOttis, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank your for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future! More 

Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were only here one night, so didn't take full advantage of the kitchenette, but looked well-stocked. Room was clean and comfortable, though we could hear noise from the room next door. But I didn't notice slamming doors all night like I've experienced at some places. The TV remote didn't work, but front desk found another and brought it up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hartlanddeb
GMOttis, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel after staying with us. It's our #1 priority to take our guest's needs, concerns & comments very seriously so we appreciate your feedback. With the hotel being so busy (sold out) I do apologize for other noisy guests. Our walls have been known to be 'thinner' than most... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coralville hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#12 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Coralville
Residence Inn Coralville
#2 of 18 in Coralville
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#7 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay