We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Coralville

2597 Holiday Road, Coralville, IA 52241
Hotel amenities
AmericInn Coralville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kathyloveshotel
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    29
    21
    23
See reviews for
46
29
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Close to highway. Great price. Good breakfast. Big hotel. Elevator. Clean. Microwave. Refri, coffee, blow dryer. Friendly staff. We would come here again. They have a big swimming pool, hot tub, and pool table for guests to enjoy too. This place is for all ages. We found a coupon to use for this hotel at the highway rest stop it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

Kathyloveshotel, I wanted to send a quick response thanking you for your kind words. We are going through a lot of changes and reading feedback, like the comments you posted, let us know that we are on the right track. With big changes, like new furniture, carpet, and marble coming soon will give this AmericInn a slight advantage. So, thank... More 

Brighton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

My husband had surgery at the U of I. The surgery was delayed by several hours and it became apparent I was going to be arriving to my hotel very late. I called about 9pm to make sure my room wouldn't be rented out to anyone else. The friendly gentleman at the front desk assured me that I would have... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

Laura C, I wanted to send a quick reply to your Tripadvisor review and to thank you for your positive comments. We are going through some changes, and reading comments like this lets us know we are taking positive steps forward. Even though we might have hiccups on the way we still are moving forward in a positive way. Please... More 

Fiji
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We think this hotel is a great value, and would definitely stay here again. We had decided to stay at this hotel before reading the recent poor reviews, so almost gave it a miss, but we're very happy we didn't. The recent poor reviews were way off base. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was fine with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

Sailorjudy, I wanted to send a quick note thanking you for your pleasant review. I think the phrase goes like this. "You can't judge a book by its cover." Even though we have a lot of work to do with every department.. Reading reviews like this gives me positive feedback and lets us know we are on the right track.... More 

Crivitz, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We arrived in Coralville after a very long day of driving. We had a speedy check-in and got into our room that was requested with no problems. The beds were comfortable and we got a much needed rest. Fresh coffee, doughnuts and variety of other items were featured for breakfast. Thanks for a restful night.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

John, I wanted to send a quick note thanking you for your kind words and will pass them off to the ret of the staff. We welcome you back to our hotel to check out the updates of our renovation, as they start next week, the next time you are in the Coralville/Iowa City area. Thanks again for your feedback.... More 

Rockwall, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My employer has put me in this hotel and put their card on file. Yet, every time I was told I had to put a personal card down for "incidentals". I argued and they said they needed a personal card but would not charge my card. Yet, when I checked out, they charged my card. So for my second stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

I wanted to send a quick note responding to your Tripadvisor review you posted. We appreciate your feedback, and you have notified us on a few things we need to work on going further. We again sincerely apologize for the troubles you have had at our property. -Management More 

Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

This is not like other Americinns that we have stayed at. Although the manager was kind, it truly is about the only positive. Check in for our group was delayed an average of 1-3 hours as "rooms not ready yet". The rooms are dark and dirty, visible thick dust and dirt, sinks not clean, lights not working and beds in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

Hawksiowa, I wanted to send a quick note thanking you for you feedback. I truly am sorry for the experience you had with us, and I am trying everything I can to get this place back on track. It's been a slow process, but we're slowly moving in the right direction. I believe with the rest of the renovations due... More 

Story City, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I felt we were making a good choice by choosing an AmericInn. We were sadly mistaken. While the front desk staff was awesome (especially the manager-very friendly and helpful), everything else was more than a disappointment. The location is excellent-right off the interstate, which helped greatly since we were in the middle of a winter storm warning, close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

ButterFingerX10, I wanted to send a note replying to your Tripadvisor review you posted. You had mentioned a lot of stuff which was difficult to take in, but at the same time I appreciate your feedback. The things you listed will be thing we need to address and work on as a Hotel. We currently are going through renovations with... More 

Ankeny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We always thought AmericInn had good brand standards but this hotel proved us otherwise. It was by far the worse one we have stayed at, and we can't believe the brand would want to be associated with this location. We had to leave and spend money for breakfast elsewhere on top of it because the choices were so few and... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

631K. I wanted to write a quick response to your Tripadvisor review you posted, and to first thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for your stay, and that it didn't meet the AmericInn standards you are used to. We are updating our property with placing new King beds in all the King rooms two weeks ago, and more... More 

Emmetsburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

This hotel was very clean and inviting. We didn't get back to the hotel until midnight, the man at the front desk was very nice and helpful, even though it was so late. The breakfast was very good with plenty of food and coffee. The rooms were nice size, clean and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

841marshad, I wanted to send a quick note replying to your tripadvisor review you posted and to thank you for your kind words. We have a great staff here and I will pass your comments on to each of them. Please look us up the next time you are in the Coralville/Iowa City area.-Management More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Are you looking for a shower that turns into a bath due to clogged drains? How about room decor from decades past? If this is what you seek- you will find this a much more at this untouched and un updated establishment. BONUS: I got to experience the police pounding on the door to the room next to mine. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
coralville_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Coralville, responded to this review

Budpaine, I wanted to send a quick note responding to your tripadvisor review. We appreciate the feedback and I apologize your stay was less than perfect. We are currently going through a renovation so we hope to have your business in the near future without the disruption of other guests. Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question