We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1520 Northwest 114th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Des Moines West\/Clive
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    38
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
25
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small hotel in Clive township. About 10-20 minutes drive to anywhere else in Des Moines. The rooms are fairly small so probably not best to spend hours on end with a number of people in the room. The hotel is fairly quiet relative to noise from the outside. People talking in the hallway can make its way into the room.There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy that your stay with the Courtyard West/Clive was enjoyable. I am sorry that you were not happy with the size of our rooms. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with a great stay and we appreciate your feedback. Your thoughts will help us continue to... More 

Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice hotel with all the Marriott Courtyard perks. Very comfortable bed. Clean hotel, with nice pool and comfortable, relaxing "courtyard". Nice location for a driving vacation in the Midwest. Restaurants within walking distance. Very polite courteous staff. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. I am glad you were able to relax in the Courtyard. I will share your comments with my staff... More 

Springfield
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

All they had left was a king but it was nice and very comfortable sleep. We had microwave but no frig. Bathroom was nice. All was clean and comfortable. Very close to the Machine Shed restaurant but don't eat the Sunday breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard West/Clive. As a Valued Guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I will share your feed back with my staff. Your feedback is integral to... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

The hallways were FREEZING cold (in the middle of summer) and the cable system was terrible. No online directory, no Food Channel, same channels are duplicated in analog and digital. When we arrived we were surprised that the room did not come with a mini fridge, but the staff delivered a fridge upon request. I guess they just move it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete to share your experience with the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. I will share your comments with the Housekeeping Supervisor as well as the other... More 

Oxford, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Room was very comfortable and quiet. The view was overlooking the parking lot but not a problem. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly and efficient. I did find a spider in the tub and another on the curtain. My biggest disappointment was they did not offer a continental breakfast so we went to a restaurant. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. I... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Comfortable beds. All clean and also appears new. Bistro for optional breakfast is nice in that it's made to order but does take more time than traditional buffets at other Marriott brands. Nice courtyard area with lounge chairs. Friendly and helpful staff. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. As a Valued Guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I will share your feedback with my staff. I am glad you... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

My husband and I booked a room here for a night away for our 1st anniversary. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very nice. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. This hotel has a very nice courtyard. The pool is tiny but still nice. Also has a great hot tub. I couldn't give it an excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Dear Aimee, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiance. We are delighted that your stay with the us was enjoyable. I will share your feedback with my staff. I am sorry that you were bothered by the interstate noise. We are in the process of installing new sound resistant windows. Everything we do is aimed at providing... More 

Independence, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean. The courtyard was a great place to gather. It was fairly close to the airport. That was extremely important since this was a national financial coaches conference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. We enjoyed the opportunity to host your conference. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs. I am glad the you were able to enjoy our Courtyard Area. We are very fortunate to have the outside space. I... More 

Mandeville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

This hotel was convenient with our relatives condo. Very well maintained and excellent staff. Room was nicer than expected and very clean. Pool and spa as well a health center and business center. Separate boarding pass printer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Dear Sam Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard West/Clive. I am happy that your stay was enjoyable. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and that we have met your expectations. I will share your comments with my staff and the rest of my leadership team. Thank you... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I stayed over a weekend recently. The hotel was a good value. King bed was very comfy. Hotel is centrally located and convenient to food and shopping. Check in and out was super easy. Hotel was very clean and the staff was excellent, especially a gal named Johanna. She did an excellent job of making sure my stay was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Clive Courtyard With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. I will recognize Johanna for help making you stay memorable and share your comments with the rest of the staff. Thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clive
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay