We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

#2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1450 NW 118th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
69
40
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Clive, IA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Free meatballs, chips, beer, sodas, and wine on M-W evenings. A lovely saltwater pool and jacuzzi, both appropriately heated. Very accommodating staff. Ready access to main highways. Overall, a great place to stay. One very small thing -- a loud, rattly bathroom fan and a bathroom light/fan switch placed on the wrong side of the door. Not a deal breaker... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear William, I see you got a chance to enjoy not only our social hour but also our unique salt water pool and spa. They are indeed great, and the lack of the usual chlorine smell is not only more pleasant but a better environmental choice. After so many years of living here I still enjoy swimming in that pool... More 

Clive, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in town for business. Everything is always great! The staff is always friendly. The rooms are always spotless and smell good. The evening beverages/food is great. The breakfast is awesome.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you Al for your kind words about my hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our evening reception. We kept it up over the years to foster an atmosphere of hospitality in an ambiance of a coffee shop that is so appreciated by our loyal customers such as yourself. Travel safe and hurry back when in our... More 

Saginaw, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very convenient for our overnight stay. It is right on our route and we usually have enough time to do some site seeing and dining, also some shopping for the wife in the immediate area..

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Gerald, thank you for your review. I am glad we are on the way of your travels as we can always hope to earn your business the next time you are passing through. All the best to you and may your travels be safe and satisfying. More 

Rock Island, IL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice room and facility with a comfortable bed. I didn't use the gym or WiFi but both were available. Breakfast was pretty standard (cereal, eggs, biscuits and gravy, juice, you-make-them waffles, etc.) but very helpful staff. Best Westerns can sometimes be all over the map for quality but this one is top notch.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear William, thank you very much for your kind words about my hotel and staff. We always try hard to please and make your experience a pleasant and memorable one. All the best in your endeavors and your travels. More 

West Bend, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very comfortable beds; slept well. Poor lighting; not many outlets; sticky floor (floating floor-type flooring in our room.) Hot tub dirty in the morning with tub not fully filled/water not filtered due to low level of water. Continental Breakfast very poor; food heated up in microwave by food service person, and still had to heat up the food; powdered eggs... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Doug and Mary, thank you very much for your review of my hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy our hardwood flooring in the rooms, they offer a look of cleanliness and are not floating but permanently nailed in. Likewise I am sorry that you did not enjoy our continental breakfast offering. Being a limited service establishment we... More 

Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff, great room and great breakfast. These traits always keep us looking for Best Western Hotels when we are traveling. This recent trip involved relocation of a family member with a pet and all three Best Western Hotels, Laramie, Wy., Des Moines, Iowa and Edinburgh, Ind. made our stays very enjoyable and accommodating. I have always recommended this hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of my hotel. I am glad you can enjoy our hospitality on your visits and we hope to earn your business every time anew. Thanks again and all the best in your travels. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The breakfast was amazing and rooms were good size and cute price was great. The only thing I would say is they could use new beds the we had a room with two beds the bed I slept in was hard and I could feel the springs when I laid down the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you Payge for your review. I pride myself about my staff and I will gladly share your kind words with them. It is great for our morale to get recognition for our efforts to serve the customers and meet and exceed their needs. You will be also pleased to learn that we are are upgrading all our queen beds... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoy this BW and usually stay here on my way home from south Tx. The fresh cookies are an added treat and the openness of the lobby and a good view of the bkfst area...are plus... The two draw backs are: elevator didn't work and they need a safety bar for stepping out of the shower...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Norma, thank you very much for your review. I am sorry for the inconvenience of the elevator but as you noticed we were laying new tile in the elevator lobby and after carefully considering all the possible "down" times we picked that Thursday evening to lay the tile and let it cure overnight. We accommodated as many guests as... More 

windsor ont, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was 7 o,clock pm when we pulled in very tired from 10 hours on the road looking for a swim and spa.After a quick meal at a local diner I changed for my relief manager let me in as I could not open the door. After the swim I needed the spa broken! he never mentioned it nor was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear David, thank you very much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed our salt water pool and I am sorry you were not able to enjoy the air jets in our hot tub. We were working on the motor, but learned our lesson and now we have two motors so if one is down it is right away... More 

Okemos, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I wanted to stay at a Best Western so I could take advantage of a promotional program I was talked into at a previous Best Western. This room was about $40.00 more expensive than a Best Western I stayed at south of Sacramento (Galt, CA) but was not any better in comfort, cleanliness, services, etc. I was a little disappointed... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Theresa, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you know our priced are determined by local market forces of supply and demand and may not reflect those of California, thus the discrepancy that you pointed out. Thank you again for staying with us and happy travels to you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question