We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

#3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1450 NW 118th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Add Photo

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    85
    76
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
45
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

near the bicycle trails, we were in town for the Bacoon Ride and this hotel is near take off point, we have stayed here several times before. Only thing missing is a spa pool. There were soccer/ball teams here, but the parents did quite them at 10 pm so that was great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I spend a hundred nights a year on the road and appreciate a friendly staff good service and a place that keeps things quiet and comfortable. I look forward to my visit at this hotel because it's about as close to home as I can find on the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
iowa city, ia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 3 visited this past Friday evening for a 1 night stay. I had a good idea of the hotels location, so it was not too difficult for me to find. Check in went well. The hotel was very busy, hosting many families with both softball and baseball players. Our room looked nice and was clean and smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean, cool, dry and well appointed. Breakfast is complete and not just nibbles, hot eggs, sausage, waffles and more.We normally travel with our Shitzu, Buddy, and Best Western is great to allow us to bring him along. He isn't any trouble and no one looks at us sideways.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of my hotel. Yes, indeed we are always happy to host our dog lovers when they travel. We know what comfort one derives from the company of ones dog and we are happy to accommodate responsible dog owners with their pets. We try and accommodate our pet lovers with rooms on the first... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Question? If I pay an inflated hotel rate ($125) I wouldn't expect to sign a ridiculous code of conduct form at check in. Caution to anyone staying here with their team. You aren't allow to do anything! No alcohol. No groups in lounge. Nothing

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, it is expressly out of concern for the comfort and safety of all our guests that we do not allow teams to take over our hotel and turn the lobby into a sports bar as it inconveniences other guests as well as yours. For that reason when you sign the contract weeks before arrival we ask that your... More 

Manilla, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two nights at this hotel. Upon check out and within a few hours I realized I left my $200 hair straightener on the sink so I called the hotel to find it and send it to me at my expense. Here is what I wrote to the corporate office after I was given absolutly NO help. WARNING-- do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Heather, I am sorry for your loss and take responsibility for our lack of speedy response to your inquiry, yet I take offence at your accusations. With the title of your reviews you imply that your items went missing during your stay, yet you admit that you left them behind when you checked out. There is a fundamental difference... More 

EAGAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Old property with a coat of paint from the 90's, outdated mismatched room decor', A/C that's marginal, low def TV's, and poor lighting in the room sink area. Shower could be cleaner and shower curtain was frayed and old.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Timothy, thank you for your review and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. My property was actually built in the 2000's and we repainted the whole building just last year. In fact Trip Advisor did not even get a chance to update to the new looking outside pictures. Likewise our interior hallways and rooms... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed our visit to Des Moines and staying here was good. Located west of downtown but an easy drive in if that's where you're going. Newer condition. Manager reception on week nights. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast was typical...

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Wausau, thank you very much for your review of my hotel. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our convenient location on the west side of the metro area and that you were able to enjoy our social hour. That is a long standing tradition with us and we have been hosting it for many years to... More 

Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Stayed at BW in Clive when is Iowa for a family funeral. First room we were given was next to the vending and ice machines. First floor has NOT been remodeled. Second room was on second floor. Room partially remodeled with new flooring, new paint... Someone needs to tell BW that bedspreads are OUT. Most hotels use a small drape... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments about my property. I am sorry your stay came during our busy time, when all the rooms were occupied. It makes is harder to manage guest load and noise, especially when many young athletes are staying. I am glad to report that the first floor is getting a brand new carpet... More 

St Paul,MN
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Chek in was easy. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed provided a good night's sleep. Hotel was quite. Breakfast was what you'd expect. Breakfast service was also good. We've stayed here before and if in the area would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay