We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Clive hotels

Sterling Hotel and Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Save Saved
You added Sterling Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
53%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
805_Traveler_2014_ Flemington, New Jersey
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
21
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a frequent traveller travelling for business and pleasure for over 35 years but I have never encountered such horrible staff as we did today at this hotel. First, we had to wait 15 minutes before the check-in person came back from setting up for a party. Next, we were given a room in which the temp was 90 degrees... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I apologize for how horrible you feel you were treated. I am sorry for the 5 minute wait at the Front Desk before checking in, though you were very understanding at that time. As soon as you reported the heat issue in your room, new keys to a new room were delivered. When you called from the phone in the... More

Chesterton, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The carpet was all stained the shower curtain liner was gross. When I called for a room the guy tried to upsell me and tell me there was only more expensive rooms available. So I booked on line. The pictures they have on site about the hotel are false. Very dirty and worn not new like stated

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I'm sorry for the gross condition of the room you were checked into. I would be upset too. I am working on coaching my team to to handle these situations differently, not by trying to upsell, but by trying to resolve the problem and make the guest happy. Please know that we are having new pictures taken of our rooms... More

Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed for about a week. The hotel staff was very helpful in providing extended stay pricing, and were friendly and efficient. It was nice to have a suite with a couch and TV, and a full kitchen. We enjoyed breakfast, typically eggs, waffles, and fruit. We had one maintenance request which was handled right away (a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your great description of our breakfast and staff! We enjoyed having you and we are looking forward to your next visit! More

Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hadn't stayed at this hotel since it changed from Chase Suites and it definitely wasn't what it used to be. We specifically chose this hotel because we wanted to be able to have separate sleeping areas that were within the same suite, and the 2 level 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms seemed like the perfect fit. We checked in but didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had such a bad experience during your recent visit with us. I will work on coaching the Front Desk staff to approach guest issues in a manner that is expected. I agree the situation was handled incorrectly, and I am truly sorry. More

Des Moines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value for a quick one night stay (we stayed two nights). The property appears to be an old 70s apartment complex turned into a suites hotel a few years ago. The rooms are actually quite nice and spacious with a full kitchen, flat screen TV and comfortable clean beds. The bathroom decor needs some updating (and bath towels pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I am more than willing to offer some insight to this property's history! It was originally built in the '80s as a Marriott Residence Inn. Chase Suites then bought the property, then a little more than a year ago some local investors bought the property and turned it into Sterling Hotel and Suites. I am happy to hear you and... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here during a trip to Des Moines for the Iowa State Fair and to visit family. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was amazing comfortable. The refrigerator came in handy for storing beverages and leftovers. We also appreciated that the television wall mount allowed us to view on the couch or sitting in bed. Overall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback on your room. We hope to see you again for the Iowa State Fair next year! More

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met my daughter in Des Moines for the Iowa State Fair. Had two rooms. Very clean and great service. I shipped my luggage and it was waiting for me in the room upon my late arrival. Good Bed! Access to expressway very good. Excellent pricing. It was exactly as described. No surprises.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I am thrilled you had such a great experience! We appreciate your great review. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Non smoking room have been smoked in. Poor renovations. Felt like we were going to fall through the tub. No shower ability in upstairs. Broken handles off of stove. Toilet did not flush correctly. Carpet soiled and fraying. Closet door had a punch hole in it. The list goes on!!! Awful! Awful! Awful!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Would you be willing to contact the hotel to let us know which room you stayed in? If you had this bad of an experience, there is no way this room should be available to rent. I am sorry for everything. More

Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has really gone downhill. Stayed here with my family last weekend and it was horrible. Had to ask for a refund due to the poor condition throughout the room. Our room had chipped and pealing paint everywhere, food stains on walls, dust and dirt on vents, holes in furniture, stains on bedding and towels, dirty toilet and shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry you had such a bad experience. Thank you for your opinion. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel for the past five years during the Iowa State Fair. We have always enjoyed our stay and this time was no different. Our only concern was that the room was set for one person, with regard to dishes and there were no stools and the breakfast bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allesha P, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I am always happy to hear from repeat guests! I am working on taking inventory to replace all that is missing from each room. Expect everything to be fully stocked for the State Fair next year! Thank you for your positive review. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sterling Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Clive with
any amenities