We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Clear Lake hotels

BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge

2023 7th Avenue, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Clear Lake
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Mike W Independence
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
17
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have said it all before. I stay here for business every time i come to Clear Lake which is about once a month for 2-3 days at a time. I am a regular customer so most of the staff does recognize me when i walk in. That is always great. service is great, Older hotel but very clean and... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bottom Line: Awful Customer Service, Filthy Rooms (human waste in the bed), and Incompetent Management. Read on for the details, if you have a strong stomach. When I checked in, we were given room number 519. There were two dead flies in the shower; the carpet was dirty and had debris on it; all probably typical for a Best Western,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
anaconda, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The staff at this hotel were great! First they were really helpful on the phone when I reserved and also when I got there. The rooms themselves on the other hand were very very outdated. It felt like I stepped back to the 1980's, the fridge was so old im surprised it still worked! Usually the rooms at best western... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brian, We do have an awesome caring staff who go above and beyond to take care of the guest and to make them feel like they are at home. We do have bigger rooms and would love for you to try us again. Thank You, Lori Faught General Manager More

Annandale, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night, it was outdated but the room was clean (except the vents on the ceiling very dirty)! Bed was comfortable though. It was ok, staff was friendly. Was a little disappointed with breakfast, not much to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. We are in the middle of a huge remodel and are waiting on shipments now. We will be working on several things in guest rooms and the exterior of building for 2014. We are very excited about the changes. We have biscuits and gravy,... More

Elkader, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent the day on Clear Lake ice fishing and had packed a bag in the event we decided to stay the night. Arrived with no reservation and requested a king bed. Front desk clerk had a hard time locating one available, but did find one in what she called the adjacent building. Not sure what that meant until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lilypad2014, You are correct that the rooms on 7th floor are getting ready for a remodel we are waiting on the carpet but still have the rooms in service for those last minute travelers that get stranded. Then we will be removing the wallpaper and having an accent wall. We just finished 6th floor rooms at the end of... More

Madison Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've stayed at the Best Western Holiday Lodge every year since 1979 for the annual Winter Dance Party at the Surf Ballroom. It's always been a great place to stay. I couldn't imagine staying any place else! The rooms and the service have always been great!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

John, Thank you for the very nice review on the Best Western Holiday Lodge in Clear Lake, Iowa. We look forward to the Winter Dance Party weekend every year. Alot of the guest have become like family to our staff. We will look forward to seeing you next year! Thank you, Lori Faught General Manager More

Clear Lake, Iowa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staff pretty slow on the uptake when internet troubles are reported-- prepare to be disappointed or stop by the nearby McDonalds if you need service right-away. The live Ladybugs are a quaint addition to my room in the bitter cold of February.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dave, I am sorry that you feel that we did not handle the wi fi to your sastifaction. I personally called our provider as soon as I was aware you were having issues and offered to transfer the call to you. We also have called Orkon to come treat the guest room you were in for lady bugs. It... More

Milwaukee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

clean rooms, great pool with hot tub, they allow small pets - a huge plus, good location, great breakfast - love the biscuits & gravy! stayed with a family of 4 and had a good time at the lake - bennegins is also a nice place to eat!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Best Western Holiday Lodge in Clear Lake, Iowa. We get alot of positive feedback about the biscuits and gravy for breakfast! We are happy you were able to enjoy your time with family. We are happy that we can accommodate pets as they are an important part... More

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We always stay at this hotel when visiting the area, Its clean, comfortable, and the staff is excellent. It is an older building now but it is kept in good repair, (though a larger elevator would be nice ).

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Elderberry's, We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us at the Best Western Holiday Lodge in Clear Lake, Iowa. We have alot up exciting changes coming up this year with the start of a huge remodel. Hope you are staying warm in these crazy temps! See you soon! Lori Faught General Manager More

INDEPENDENCE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stay here aprox. 20-30 nights per year both for business and pleasure. What a great place. Staff is always friendly and very helpful. Restaurant and lounge on site is great. Location is close to everything and access to the motel is easy right off the interstate

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Mike, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our property! We have alot of remodeling that we are starting in 2014 and are really excited! Please continue to always ask for an upgrade and we will be more than happy to give you an upgrade based on availability. Look forward to seeing you in 2014!... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge

Also Known As:
Best Western Clear Lake
Clear Lake Best Western
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge Clear Lake, Iowa
Address: 2023 7th Avenue, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.