We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Motel

10 Allens Alley, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Hilltop Motel
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Motel
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband surprised me with this hotel stay for our 2nd anniversary. We live in clear lake so I was aware of the hotels background. The hotel looks worse than it is on the outside. Once you get to the center pool area the atmosphere changes and has a family summer party happy setting. It was very hot when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Charming motel across the street from the Surf Ballroom where Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens & the Big Bopper played their last shows. (If you're lucky enough to be there when the 'Bop on in and have a look around' sign is hanging on the door - you'll see that the place is pretty amazing). The motel is also across from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We use trip advisor to find great hotels and have never been disappointed.. until now. It was dirty and needed maintenance work. The worst: there were brown smears on the toilet seat and white stains and multiple blond hairs on the bluesheets. The manager changed the sheets and washed the toilet: the replaced and cleaned items appeared OK. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Unfortunately we were unable to satisfy this guest. After several phone calls requesting history on the motel and the smoking status of this room (we were only able to confirm smoking status back to our ownership period of 4 1/2 years) - she did finally book the room. In hindsight I should have known the motel was not going to... More 

Scales Mound, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We rented the breakfast suite, it was huge! The breakfast was the best we have ever had! From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends! They have an awesome patio area, pool and hot tub, many extras that are not offered at the best suites at the hilton, and my wife says the pool boy is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Found this lovely little place while wandering through the town. Already had a room at a name-brand chain hotel for that trip, but planned to return to Clear Lake and knew we just had to stay here, next time. We've stayed twice (2009 and 2010) and we're heading back this September. Gracious hosts, friendly "neighbors", fun pool and game areas,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was our first time at Clear Lake and we picked out this place based on the Trip Advisor ratings and reviews. We're a young family and had 3 kids along aged 8,6,4. We spent 2 nights at the motel. The owners are very friendly people who go out of their way to accommodate your needs. It's an old time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington VT
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This wonderful older motel is walking distance to the Surf Ballroom in Clear Lake. That is where Buddy Holly's final concert took place in February 1959. I stayed here, in a lovely decorated room, and enjoyed the day in Clear Lake. During my stay, I took a pilgrimage to the spot where the plane went down; this sounds grisly, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Our group had been travelling on business with for an extended period of time. This place was refreshing because it had the feel of staying in the guest bedroom your aunt's house, but with the privacy of a hotel. Each room has a different theme (Coca-Cola Room, Waterski Room, etc.) giving the motel a fun and unique personality. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We chose to stay at the Hilltop as part of a rambling road trip through the U.S. I found it online and was really curious. We were not disappointed. It was such an excellent experience for my daughters, my wife and me! We were drawn by the classic feel of the place (and especially the awesome outdoor pool) and got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Champaign, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed only one night with my daughter on a trip to see the Surf Ballroom and the famous plane crash site. I decided on the Hilltop Motel after reading the other reviews. It was as advertised -- a nice, family-owned motel right across the parking lot from the Surf Ballroom. Reservation was easy and made via phone. Check in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities