We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Motel

10 Allens Alley, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clear Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hilltop Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We LOVE the hilltop for our annual family reunion. We have such a great time every year and Terry and Jay are amazing! They do everything they can to make our family time special. Next year will be our 50th annual reunion and nearly all of them have been spent at the Hilltop. The quality went WAY UP when Terry... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Our recent stay (June 2015) totally met the “cottage style environment” standards advertised by this motel --- and if you stay at this lodging primarily for its location fully anticipating a stay at such an old and rustic cottage environment --- then you probably will write a good review and want to stay there again. Unfortunately, my wife and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and am sincerely sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel was built in 1940 across the street from the Surf Ballroom. We advertise and design based on that era. We are NOT The Hilton and do not try to be at that level. Had I known that you were... More 

Underwood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Stayed here for years. Great staff makes you feel like family.Full size frig, real furnace, you don't have a unit blowing down on you.Full service kitchen. This is a great motel for construction workers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed two nights this past weekend to attend a show at the Surf Ballroom. Location for a show at the surf is ideal as the property is literally across the parking lot from the venue. Motel is a 1940's-50's type property that has each of its rooms themed. (cool) There is a common area that folks could use to gather,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This motel is great! You feel as if you are in a friend's backyard when you sit in the courtyard. The Coca Cola room is comfortable and everything you need is provided. Wish I could stay longer and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilltop every time I visit the Surf Ballroom. The location is perfect for concertgoers. This is a quaint, retro motel. It's very clean, comfortable, affordable and the staff is VERY accommodating. I recently left behind a phone charger and they mailed it back to me ... no charge. Who does that anymore? Thanks Terri

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the booking to the stay it was a great experience. Stayed mid Sept before the Tesla concert at the Surf. so close that we had better parking at the motel than we would have ever had at the Surf. Comfortable homie "backyard" felt like going to Gramma's house. The owners were awesome and we plan on staying the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orange Park
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a nice surprise place to stay. I work on the road and sometimes the moving into and out of places gets dreary. I walked into my room at the HILLTOP MOTEL and was happily surprised to see a very well maintained setting with lots of thought put into the decorations. I usually don't care about stuff like this, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
overland park, ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place is a gem! We have had the pleasure of enjoying the hospitality of the owners since 2009. This place has it all, from the pool to the outdoor kitchen with all the amenities to make your outdoor meal, unless you choose to cook indoors, in one of their many kitchenettes. Whether it is yourself, a family with little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hilltop this past weekend, May 2013. The owners are very nice and accommodating, which as a plus. The hotel is located across the street from the Boathouse (okay restaurant), a block from Sips (very nice place for spirits and food), a block from Half Moon (nice restaurant -- scary from the outside, quaint inside), a couple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

We greatly enjoyed this family here for 4 days - we were totally unaware there were any problems with their stay - it was NEVER communicated to us.. The door locks work perfectly - they lock from the inside (I show everyone how the doors lock when I walk them to their room) each door know has a button on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Clear Lake
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
#4 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#6 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
9.6 mi away
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Historic Park Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Mason City
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities