We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Clarinda

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1203 S 12th St, Clarinda, IA 51632
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Clarinda
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clarinda
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jane D Des Moines, Iowa
Share an Experience

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    31
    11
    14
See reviews for
54
12
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last year. Each time that I have stayed I could hear the manager yelling and cursing at her employees. The employees that I have encountered are more professional than she is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this review

In reading your review I guess I am just the worst manager because I expect my staff to be more professional than me. I want them to understand that going out into the work environment requires them to be professional. I thank you for your comments and will try to my best ability to calm down and try to understand... More 

Petaluma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

It was good, don't like bed spreads on the bed. They don't feel clean. Been used before. I was looking forward to biscuits and gravy for Sat. Morning and they don't have them on the weekend. Had to go somewhere else. Disppointed. Stayed in Clarinda because there is no other place.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Super 8 Clarinda. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Sorry you did not like the choose of the new bedspread, but it is what it is and we do wash them on a regular basis. Again, Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clarinda. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I delivered a load of product to this company,NSK corp.,late needed to sleep, my choices were 2 . I checked in, room was priced @$150.00 that's right a super 8 in the middle of corn country. I talked them down to $ 84.00. The rooms mattress covered with a plastic noisy bag, was poor as usual and crunch noises from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this review

Just a short note to say Thank You for staying at the Super 8 Clarinda, Yes, it's the corn country and this Super 8 is busy, so you must of made your reservation late or came in and all we had left was the Suites at $150.00. Did you thank my employee for dropping the rate for you to $84.00... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

The room was clean. I did have to get the lighting repaired over the bed (it wasn't turning on). I would have liked a fitness room and possibly a "USA Today newspaper, but the local paper was informative. Receptionists were courteous and knowledgeable. I did miss the possibility to print a report from my computer. I was never asked if... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to do this review. The possibilities of getting a fitness room and a business center is really small. We just do not have the space. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Urbandale, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The staff was very nice and friendly. The housekeeping staff always had the room put back together just so. Let's face it, its a super 8, but the room and facility was clean, the staff was friendly and a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for your response to this review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again, soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question