We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherokee Inn

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1400 N 2nd St, Hwy 59 North, Cherokee, IA 51012
Save
You added Cherokee Inn to your Saves list
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

I stayed here because of a recommendation by a co-worker. I was very pleased with every aspect of my stay. Check in was extremely smooth, even without a reservation. My room was very clean and seemed to just have a personal touch. The breakfast is REALLY what spurred me to write a review. The owner has provided a large grille... More 

Helpful?
Thank mknwtr
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very for taking time from your busy life to write a review on us. We are always very happy to server our customers and hope next and everyone of your stay is this pleasant. Also thanks to your coworker for recommending us to you. Shirish More 

Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

The staff was more than helpful relating to business travel and customer service. I have the utmost respect for this team. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. These are people who I would choose to do business with again. Everyone who stayed there was extremely impressed! Thank you very much!

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Hello Allison. It's good to know that our effort to serve our clients was noticed. We are very glad that your friends and family stayed with us and were very happy. We will see you next time. thank you for doing a review on us...and a very good one too, thanks Shirish Bhakta Cherokee Inn More 

Woodward, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

The owners live on site and know me by site. I have stayed several times when in Northwest Iowa visiting my mother. Its clean and convenient. The hosts are friendly and helpful. I love their breakfast room where I can cook my on bacon, sausage, eggs, or what ever on an open hot grill. Great assortment of choices and a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gene G
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Looks like I may have not seen your review for us. We wanted to thank you very much for taking time for doing this for us...means a lot to us knowing that our hard work to serve our customers is appreciated. Shirish More 

Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Ordinary hotel for a small town. Room was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly. Rates were reasonable. Breakfast was outstanding; in addition to the usual waffle maker and pastries, they have a serve yourself grill where you can fix bacon, sausage, or eggs. Would go back just for the breakfast experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank Poorboy52
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Hello glad that you enjoyed the unique breakfast that I have at my hotel. And yes we'll have the breakfast together the next time you are here. Thank you very much for taking your time to do a review for us. Shirish Bhakta Cherokee Inn More 

Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Our family camps at Spring Lake quite often for our yearly reunion. This year i brought my 2 year old granddaughter but just didn't think she would rest very well in a tent. So we called the Inn. The gentleman was awesome on the phone. He only had a room for friday night and placed our name down for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rzmoose
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review for on us...and I am pleased to hear what you had to say. More glad that you liked our placed so much that you recommend us. The next time you have a family reunion and if staying at the camp ground still drop in at the motel to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

This is the best hotel to stay in, but it needs an updating. We stayed for five days due to a death in the family. We had to move out of our room on the fourth night, and into a new room. I wasn't happy. Evidentially, a couple has a long standing reservation every two months and request that room.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carla A
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Hello Carla. Thank you so much for taking your time to do a review for us. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Sorry that we had to move you to a different room. As you may recall I had advised you that I do not have any other room on the main floor besides... More 

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Good price for a clean motel in Cherokee. Staff is quite friendly, rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable bed. Breakfast included. Staff states that breakfast starts at 6 am...really wasn't ready until after 6:30, but other than that, no negatives.

Helpful?
4 Thank Myron M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel looks like a former Super 8, but it is better. Rooms are clean, hygiëne is good. Great hot (!) breakfast.Very friendly owner who even helped cook a hot breakfast with eggs, bacon and hash browns. Definitely a place to stay if you are in Cherokee.

Helpful?
2 Thank AL D
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review on TripAdvisor.com No problem in helping you get a good breakfast to get your day started. If ever in this part of the world hope to see you again. Shirish More 

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

19.7 miles West of Spirit Lake, this former Super 8 hotel has blossomed in to what many hotels can only aspire...a CLEAN, Comfortable, Friendly, CLEAN, Value Priced accommodation, that offers a self service breakfast good enough to actually tell others about! We only stayed here 1 night but the manager on duty was very, very helpful and informative. The room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharolyn L
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear that all of our hard work is appreciated and we look forward to the next time you would stay with us. I am very thankful that you took your time to do a review for us on TripAdvisor.com and even more happy that it was a positive experience for you. Shirish More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Several people in our group stayed at the Cherokee Inn. The rooms were clean, the owner was very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast good. We needed a room where we could congregate and they had one that was perfect for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger1245
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review

Thank you to you and all of your family members for staying with us over the week. Hope the drive back to home was a bit easy for your mom. Again thank you so much for taking your time to do a review for my motel. Shirish Bhakta More 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay