We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Chariton

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
169 East Grace Avenue, Chariton, IA 50049
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Chariton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jefferson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this Super 8 for two nights last week. Having grown accustomed to some pretty crummy Super 8's, I expected the same from this one. We had a death in the family and had no choice but to stay here, so I was fully prepared for the worst. To my surprise, this place was GREAT! I need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beckyjk
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We hope you know how much we appreciate you choosing Chariton Super 8 for your stay. It is our goal to provide a clean and quiet family environment to all of our guests. It is gratifying to know that we succeeded! Your comments will be shared with all of our staff as a confirmation that their efforts are appreciated. Guests... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

Only two hotels, both smelled of moth balls and stale. Beds were very uncomfortable, just a box spring and cheap mattress on a metal frame. T.V. channels would pause every other minute. Sound quality is terrible. Seemed like the floor was built on a wooden platform that bounced and made a stomping sound as you walked down the hallway. Old... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank davidhX3845YK
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. You made no mention of any problems during the 7 days you stayed with us, so we were unable to do anything to make your stay better. Our tv service is supplied by an outside company. We have not experienced problems with reception, but if you did we would have been happy to... More 

Saint Louis
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

I checked into this motel without reservations for one night only over Labor Day weekend. I think this was my first stay at a Super 8 and I was pleasantly surprised. The property was clean and seemed well kept. The woman at the front desk [early Sunday evening] was friendly and welcoming, answered my questions and gave me directions to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melaniemily
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are so happy you had a great stay! Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable room with "super" customer service. Our employees take great pride in being able to do so. We hope your travels will bring you our way again. And, in the meantime, safe travels to you! More 

Chariton, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

The excellent staff at Super 8 Chariton made me feel at home during my stay away from my home of Orange Beach, Al. They put the Super in Super 8

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank O7727ZZmikeb
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Chariton Super 8 to be your "home away from home". It has been a pleasure to have you here....we will definitely miss you. If ever you are in the area again, please know you are welcome here. In the meantime, good luck and safe travels to you! More 

austin mn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The hotel room was very clean, had a fresh smell, and was very up to date. The overnight staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ready on time. Hotel sits next to the highway and I was surprised that you didn't hear the traffic. Great all around stay

Helpful?
Thank jennifertJ3705AX
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We appreciate you choosing Chariton Super 8 and hope your travels bring you back again! We agree that our staff is a great asset to our business. Until you return, safe travels to you! More 

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

this is one of the few hotels in Chariton Iowa. It more than meets the need. I was pleased to find a clean and neat facility.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 11gloriap
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We know your time is valuable. We value that you took time out to review your stay. We are here to serve you should your journeys bring you back this way. And, in the meantime, safe travels to you! More 

Ottumwa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

My recent stay was very comforting, as I have finally stayed in a room with a handicapped shower/tub. I have asked at various places for a handicapped bathroom, but their idea is not my idea. This shower/ tub had a handheld shower head with a shut-off toggle right on the removable shower head. It also had a shower seat that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank M8738XXkathyb
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

It is difficult to find something that will work well for everyone, but we are so happy to have been able to accomodate your needs! We greatly appreciate you choosing our facility for your stay and hope you will have occasion to return. Until your next visit- safe travels to you! More 

Superior, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

I generally go with hubby when he works out of town and we have stayed at this Super 8 a number of times. The staff is excellent and our rooms are always clean and well kept. Julie is fantastic and always greats us with a smile. She knows I like the room cooled down, so she turns the air on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time from your busy schedule to review your stay. As always, it helps to hear from guests about the kinds of things that make their stay exceptional. We then know where our focus should be to make everyone's stay the best we can. We also try to give everyone the same great service but, I must... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chariton
1.2 mi away
Country Cabins
Country Cabins
#1 of 3 in Chariton
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
22.9 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Knoxville, IA
0.1 mi away
Royal Rest Motel
Royal Rest Motel
#3 of 3 in Chariton
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay