We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn University Plaza

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
10
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an afternoon company meeting followed by a social hour. I found it odd to include a gratuity on our room rental and AV rental. I understand the room charge plus tax but not an additional charge for gratuity, no services were provided by their staff during our event other than the standard set up/tear down of the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed here for work since it was close to where I needed to be. When I got to the hotel it was hard to find the entrance since there is no signage letting you know where the main entrance is. Once you do get in you have to turn to get to the check in since it is not right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

If you get really picky...there is some peeling wallpaper and dinged doors. But the lovely pillows and sheets, fridge, and comfy chair more then made up for it. It is a rather small room. But has everything I need. As a person who spends 3-4 nights a week in a hotel. I give it an A+. I will stay again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; your feedback is very important to us. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priority and we look forward to your return. It was our pleasure to accommodate you! More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This hotel is overpriced. For $99 a night, you get to listen to children run up and down the halls all night, banging on everyone's doors. The phone in the room doesn't work. The drains for the shower/bathroom sink take ages to drain water. There's water stains on the ceiling. The breakfast is one of the worst breakfasts I've ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Overall our stay was fantastic. First let me say the staff we interacted with were great. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant was outstanding! We will defectively be back on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My wife & I stayed here for just one night recently, and we were very happy with our accommodations. I have to admit that we were a bit nervous because there was a wedding reception taking place in the building, and that can often lead to noisy surroundings and a sleepless night. However, we asked the desk if there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us a for taking the time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure to accommodate you! We strive to offer the best in customer service and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cedar Falls! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Great stay at the Clarion..Location next to restaurants and shopping..Very nice complimentary breakfast. No hot tub which was disappointing but "Morgan" was able to find us a room with a large tub.This was very appreciated and the kind of customer service that will assure I return..We had no issues with noise like others had noted... If the pool area was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit to Cedar Falls; I will be sure to pass your kind words to Morgan. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

After my last review about the Clarion Inn a few months ago, I received a email from one of the upper management members apologizing about the issues with the musty rooms and the poor maintenance of the property. Due to the work I do this has been the place I've stayed, and not once have I seen a improvement on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I will share your feedback with my entire team and move to improve the quality of service. Your satisfaction is important to us; thank you for your feedback. More 

Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Wish my extended family didn't keep planning events here... The first time we stayed, we had a toilet that wasn't securely mounted to the floor. This time, we had to jiggle the handle to stop it from running. Carpet worn outside of room, dirty inside. A piece of it was actually totally loose, I pushed it back into place with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am personally very sorry to hear about your stay. Clearly there was not a lot that went right. I will work with our entire staff to ensure we solve these issues. We also are planning a room renovation and public area in the near future. I again am very sorry about your stay. If... More 

Greeley, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I wanted to write a letter of recommendation for the Clarion Inn University Plaza because of the incredible experience I had with them. Maria and her staff provided the highest quality of service. They were on time, with great attention to every small detail. Her staff did a phenomenal job communicating with me before and during the trip. Every aspect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities