We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn University Plaza

3.0 of 5 5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
10
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall our stay was fantastic. First let me say the staff we interacted with were great. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant was outstanding! We will defectively be back on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed here for just one night recently, and we were very happy with our accommodations. I have to admit that we were a bit nervous because there was a wedding reception taking place in the building, and that can often lead to noisy surroundings and a sleepless night. However, we asked the desk if there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us a for taking the time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure to accommodate you! We strive to offer the best in customer service and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cedar Falls! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Great stay at the Clarion..Location next to restaurants and shopping..Very nice complimentary breakfast. No hot tub which was disappointing but "Morgan" was able to find us a room with a large tub.This was very appreciated and the kind of customer service that will assure I return..We had no issues with noise like others had noted... If the pool area was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit to Cedar Falls; I will be sure to pass your kind words to Morgan. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

After my last review about the Clarion Inn a few months ago, I received a email from one of the upper management members apologizing about the issues with the musty rooms and the poor maintenance of the property. Due to the work I do this has been the place I've stayed, and not once have I seen a improvement on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I will share your feedback with my entire team and move to improve the quality of service. Your satisfaction is important to us; thank you for your feedback. More 

Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Wish my extended family didn't keep planning events here... The first time we stayed, we had a toilet that wasn't securely mounted to the floor. This time, we had to jiggle the handle to stop it from running. Carpet worn outside of room, dirty inside. A piece of it was actually totally loose, I pushed it back into place with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am personally very sorry to hear about your stay. Clearly there was not a lot that went right. I will work with our entire staff to ensure we solve these issues. We also are planning a room renovation and public area in the near future. I again am very sorry about your stay. If... More 

Greeley, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I wanted to write a letter of recommendation for the Clarion Inn University Plaza because of the incredible experience I had with them. Maria and her staff provided the highest quality of service. They were on time, with great attention to every small detail. Her staff did a phenomenal job communicating with me before and during the trip. Every aspect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing... More 

Charles City, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Total filth outside the hotel. spider webs all over steps and stair cases full of bugs from a extended amount of time. Just take a broom to them, wow. Cigarette containers completely packed and all over steps and grounds as well. Would be very easy to clean up. Laziness. Also, trash and rocks from the landscaping all over the grounds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have shared your feedback with my entire staff to ensure we... More 

Fairbank, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Recently, I decided to have a weekend away and to go to a hotel where I could swim and then do some shopping and have places to eat close. When I came to the hotel I was greeted by Ben at the front desk and he was very kind to point out all that there was to offer in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

We are so glad you decided to choose us for your weekend away. We hope your weekend left you refreshed and ready for the week to come. Thank you for your kind words and your business. See you soon! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I stayed at the Clarion for 4 nights while traveling for work. I arrived late at night and the front desk agent Amelia was great! She made the check in process nice and quick. My room was spacious and very clean. The menu at Against the Grain has such a great variety and the food was excellent! The location of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on our staff and service. Amelia and our team are so excited to see that you enjoyed the service and the hotel. Thank you for your business, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I would like to say, my stay at Clarion Inn University Plaza. Their services at the resturant is very porfessional. Mr. Austin Daughty is a waiter now, but also worked behind the front desk. He is a very valueble employee to this company and I feel that they should know , just how important it is for a very positive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your food and service at Against The Grain Bar & Lounge. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We welcome you to visit us again soon! Thank you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Inn University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa

23 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay