We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Burlington hotels

Holiday Inn Express Burlington

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Burlington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Burlington
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
wayne k Olathe, Kansas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
13
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When I travel I generally like to stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel because I can count on a decent room, service, food, etc. I reserved a non-smoking room online at the Burlington location. The musty smell at the front door was my first clue that this was not the normal HIE. Check in was easy and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was no phone book in the room, the ice machine on the third floor wasn't working, no do not disturb card, and the phone didn't work until I went to the desk to complain. The room was clean and house keeping did respond promptly when requesting additional service. W Kramer

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was on business travel with 2 other travelers. Our schedules had changed so we called mid afternoon to let them know we would be arriving late. They indicated that was fine. later that evening while travelling they called and we discovered they had already cancelled one of the rooms and were preparing to cancel others. They acknowledged that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear osuallen, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your... More

Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had reserved a non-smoking King bed room, and due to computer system problems in the hotel, got assigned to a room with two queen beds after a very long check in process. Our room was adjacent to the workout room, but we did not experience any noise problems. The hotel was clean and the room was functional. The internet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, they didn't look professional however and had an unkept appearance. The location is good, near restaurants and where I worked. The bed was comfortable, bedding was older but clean. The floors were not clean. The fire sprinklers were caked with dust. Cobwebs in the corners. I learned from locals that this hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am the new General Manager here and I assure you that your comments will be looked into. I hope this stay does not effect my chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing IHG, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Batavia, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived at 3 pm in the middle of a snow storm. Got checked in. Went to our room and it was freezing. Everything I touched felt like ice. My husband and I got the furnace running but it would only blow out lukewarm air and very lightly.He checked the filter..it was clean. We call ed the front desk after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear M E, Thank you for your candid review regarding your most recent stay. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with your room, our front office staff was able to sort the problem and you enjoyed your second room. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable. However, it is truly... More

West Burlington, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel location is great. The room we stayed in was updated and clean. The pool area was a bit of a disappointment but my son still had fun. The breakfast area was large and clean. Overall, it was a good hotel for the price. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEBRGIAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Hello ChristyL112! I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review! We always aim to provide the best accommodations for our guests and are pleased to hear we provided great service to you! Though you were disappointed with our pool area, we do appreciate the feedback! Your opinion matters to us and we look forward to seeing... More

Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we walked in the door, we were hit by an overwhelming wave of chlorine from the pool. Always dislike being greeted by that kind of odor, but it was after our "cancel reservation by" time, so we stayed anyway. Desk clerk was VERY friendly and engaging, and our interaction with her was the highlight of our stay. Went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEBRGIAGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on the site. We appreciate your valuable feedback and your suggestions. Of course we strive to make every Guest experience a positive and memorable one and disappointed that we were not able to do this for you. More

Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stay here periodically for work. Hotel is conveniently located on main highway through town. Fitness center is minimal. The equipment is True brand which is mediocre. I was in a non-smoking room. However, I could occasionally smell smoke as I think was above a smoking room. Why are smoking rooms are on the first floor? Doesn't smoke rise?

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear UncleSamTraveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. I apologize for the inconvenience the room assigned to you... More

Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I felt this hotel was under maintained and poorly equipped. It was noting special to begin with but you at least expect things to work and it to be bug free. There were several bugs found in different locations and i reported this to the desk. Also the mechanical flusher on the toilet was malfunctioning and had to be re-attached... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I do realize that you had issues with your stay here and when learning of this that morning I assure you all those issues have been resolved. Your rooms mechanical issues have been 100 percent fixed. These issues we sometimes don't see tell guest like you bring them to our attention. Thank you for using tripadvisor and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burlington

Address: 1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Burlington 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Hotel Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Iowa

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You're always welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington. We are located close to several businesses including: Federal Mogul, Vista Bakery, IPC Inc., General Electric, Case New Holland, US Gypsum, American Ordnance, Lamont Limited, and many more. When staying at our hotel, you are located next to several area attractions. Ripley's Believe It or Not has dubbed Snake Alley 'The Crookedest Street in the World. Some of the other local attractions include: Fun City & Casino, 34 Raceway, Crapo Park, Burlington Bees Baseball, Lock & Dam #18, Memorial Auditorium, and much more. We have designed the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites with every guest in mind. We have spacious standard rooms, as well as king suites, two-room family suites, and luxurious jacuzzi suites. All of our rooms include free High Speed Internet access, complimentary local calls, two phone lines, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. We also offer complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet access in all public areas. When visiting Burlington, Iowa Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
76

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;