We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Burlington

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    17
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
21
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The microwave and refrigerator were missing in our room. There was only one waste basket in our room. The pool and spa were out of order with parts laying on the pool deck. The beds were small, certainly not queen size, but fairly comfortable. Things were clean enough. At check in, four of us were waiting with one person working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremie S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for taking the time to allow us your feedback, it is the only way we can constantly improve on our guest service delivery and follow through. I want to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced and as always we will do everything on our end to ensure that we are much... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night, with my wife, on our way up Route 61 and we were very happy with things. Our room was a good size with a regular double bed, a desk and chair for working at, with some electric points around the table-lamp. It also had a comfy chair and a foot-stool. It had a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Calum K, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am pleased to note that you liked your room despite some issues with the amenities and... More 

Jonesboro
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We were in town for my nephew's high school graduation and I made reservations at this particular hotel due to my past experiences with Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at many hotels, including Holiday Inn Express, this one has some work to do. Check in was very quick, almost too quick. I gave my name on the reservation, credit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremie S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to contact us with regards to your recent stay! Our team strives to ensure that each guest has a great stay and we definitely missed the mark with your family. I sincerely apologize for our lack of service and follow through. Our company recently purchased the hotel and will be doing some... More 

Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This hotel was clean and friendly. The rooms were nice and the beds very comfy. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Our only issues were pricing of our block rooms (which got straightened out in the end) and our room access keys kept getting deactivated. We probably had to go to the front desk 6 - 8 times to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed for a family outing. The hotel only had one person running the front desk and the breakfast area, the swimming pool was warmer than the hot tub, and there was smoking being allowed in the building (you could plainly smell the smoke as soon as you left the lobby). I would recommend another hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry for your stay. How ever there were notes clearly stating our hot tub was having issues due to guest prior throwing a foreign objects in it. This hotel does have smoking rooms on the first floor left of the lobby. There are actually 10 smoking rooms in the hotel. There was only 1 person covering breakfast due... More 

Lincoln, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Staff was extremely friendly & attentive, especially the General Manager J. Ford & front desk clerk Neah. We were allowed to use the meeting room for our family gathering, allowing us to spread out & enjoy our gathering. Our needs were attended to with smiles and grace in a true spirit of hospitality. It is apparent that Mr Ford has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you again for your families great reviews. I remember your families stay and having dinner with you all in the meeting room. The food was amazing and you all invited me in like one of your own. Few days later we are still talking about how pleasant you all were to us as well. Thank you again... More 

Duesseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for three weeks in December 2014 for a business trip. I have absolutely no complaints about my stay. The rooms were nice, with comfortable beds. There is good internet connectivity throughout. The bathrooms are OK, but plain. There is a decent breakfast buffet, but during a three week stay it gets a bit repetitive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We do make our selling point to be friendly and make it feel like home. However the breakfast items are brand requirements. We are however also open for new ideas to improve the guest stay. Its always great hearing reviews like this and I will share this with my staff.... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Unfortunately, I was not able to make it to the HIE for my trip but had found that my reservation had not been cancelled. As disgruntled as I was, the manager Johnathan, immediately took care of me. He handled my concern with professionalism and care. Now that's hospitality! I was very impressed and will be staying exclusively at the HIE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Meganne It was my pleasure to make sure you were taken care of. The object to the hotel business is to treat each guest with respect and understanding. Thank you so much for the great review. I have always taken the time to make my guest feel they are getting my personal attention. I hope you have a great... More 

North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Recently visited the area. I didn't have a lot of experience with the rest of the somewhat known hotels in the area so I just opted for the standard room at the Holiday Inn Express. Good choice. It no luxury hotel but always a great stand by

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I have already shared this with the staff. They take great pride in making sure each guest is taken care of with that personalized service. I also want to thank you for recommending this hotel. Reviews like yours keep us as the number #1 recommended hotel in Burlington. We like to keep... More 

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We found this HIE to be very standard for the Brand, and that means we found everything to be excellent. Room size, cleanliness, HVAC operation, sleep quality, and bathroom amenities were all more than acceptable. The staff of the Hotel were also very friendly, and helpful. We used this Hotel as a stop going into Iowa City before a home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I have already shared this with the staff. They take great pride in making sure each guest is taken care of with that personalized service. I also want to thank you for recommending this hotel. Reviews like yours keep us as the number #1 recommended hotel in Burlington. Have a great year... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay