We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Burlington hotels

Holiday Inn Express Burlington

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Burlington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Agoda.com Priceline.com
and 6 more sites!
67%
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Burlington
A recent review
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
12
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, they didn't look professional however and had an unkept appearance. The location is good, near restaurants and where I worked. The bed was comfortable, bedding was older but clean. The floors were not clean. The fire sprinklers were caked with dust. Cobwebs in the corners. I learned from locals that this hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am the new General Manager here and I assure you that your comments will be looked into. I hope this stay does not effect my chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing IHG, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Batavia, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived at 3 pm in the middle of a snow storm. Got checked in. Went to our room and it was freezing. Everything I touched felt like ice. My husband and I got the furnace running but it would only blow out lukewarm air and very lightly.He checked the filter..it was clean. We call ed the front desk after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear M E, Thank you for your candid review regarding your most recent stay. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with your room, our front office staff was able to sort the problem and you enjoyed your second room. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable. However, it is truly... More

West Burlington, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel location is great. The room we stayed in was updated and clean. The pool area was a bit of a disappointment but my son still had fun. The breakfast area was large and clean. Overall, it was a good hotel for the price. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEBRGIAGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Hello ChristyL112! I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review! We always aim to provide the best accommodations for our guests and are pleased to hear we provided great service to you! Though you were disappointed with our pool area, we do appreciate the feedback! Your opinion matters to us and we look forward to seeing... More

Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we walked in the door, we were hit by an overwhelming wave of chlorine from the pool. Always dislike being greeted by that kind of odor, but it was after our "cancel reservation by" time, so we stayed anyway. Desk clerk was VERY friendly and engaging, and our interaction with her was the highlight of our stay. Went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEBRGIAGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on the site. We appreciate your valuable feedback and your suggestions. Of course we strive to make every Guest experience a positive and memorable one and disappointed that we were not able to do this for you. More

Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stay here periodically for work. Hotel is conveniently located on main highway through town. Fitness center is minimal. The equipment is True brand which is mediocre. I was in a non-smoking room. However, I could occasionally smell smoke as I think was above a smoking room. Why are smoking rooms are on the first floor? Doesn't smoke rise?

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear UncleSamTraveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. I apologize for the inconvenience the room assigned to you... More

Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I felt this hotel was under maintained and poorly equipped. It was noting special to begin with but you at least expect things to work and it to be bug free. There were several bugs found in different locations and i reported this to the desk. Also the mechanical flusher on the toilet was malfunctioning and had to be re-attached... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I do realize that you had issues with your stay here and when learning of this that morning I assure you all those issues have been resolved. Your rooms mechanical issues have been 100 percent fixed. These issues we sometimes don't see tell guest like you bring them to our attention. Thank you for using tripadvisor and... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. We checked into our room later on a Friday evening and were staying for a wedding with a large group of people. We had just walked into the room when my husband when into the bathroom there were dirty towels hanging on the back of the door and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnathan F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I am deeply troubled by the conditions of your room. We take great pride in making sure we offer a clean and comfortable surroundings. Im very sorry that we didn't meet your needs. To make sure we do offer what I stated above its feed back from you that help us look for our mistakes. I thank... More

Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Friendly staff, comfortable room and bedding. While we ended up being happy enough with the stay, there is one small thing: in the bathroom there was an accretion of other people's curly hairs along the baseboard. It took me under one minute to pull out a couple of Lysol wipes and clean this up but as we all know, this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for taken the time to visit Trip Advisor. I would like to start by apologizing for your room not being perfect. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms. We also pride our selves on offering a great service. I'm glad you recommended us and would say here again. Thank you for your stay and hope to... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here in June on the first night of a three day road trip up the Great River Road. We checked in after a long day of travel and were happy with our stay. Check in was painless - the front desk clerk was really nice and competent. We had to wait a while because of the people in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great measures to make sure our check in times are not to long but are on a personal and professional level. Those rolls you speak of are delicious and its hard to resist them. I look forward and... More

Marion, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We reserved 10 rooms to attend a baseball tournament at the Burlington Rec Plex. The front desk staff members were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is clean. One member of the room had some strange bathroom cleanliness issues, but by the time we got back from the mexican restaurant across the street, the issue was resolved. The breakfast was ample,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit trip advisor and share your stay with us. For one I'm extremely happy and proud that my staff reacted to your rooms issue. We all make mistakes or miss things and I'm so glad you brought it to our attention and we got it resolved. I have said that I believe a... More

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burlington

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Hotel Burlington
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Hotel
Holiday Inn Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Iowa
Address: 1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Burlington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're always welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington. We are located close to several businesses including: Federal Mogul, Vista Bakery, IPC Inc., General Electric, Case New Holland, US Gypsum, American Ordnance, Lamont Limited, and many more. When staying at our hotel, you are located next to several area attractions. Ripley's Believe It or Not has dubbed Snake Alley 'The Crookedest Street in the World. Some of the other local attractions include: Fun City & Casino, 34 Raceway, Crapo Park, Burlington Bees Baseball, Lock & Dam #18, Memorial Auditorium, and much more. We have designed the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites with every guest in mind. We have spacious standard rooms, as well as king suites, two-room family suites, and luxurious jacuzzi suites. All of our rooms include free High Speed Internet access, complimentary local calls, two phone lines, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. We also offer complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet access in all public areas. When visiting Burlington, Iowa Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.