We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Burlington

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
19
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Jonesboro
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for my nephew's high school graduation and I made reservations at this particular hotel due to my past experiences with Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at many hotels, including Holiday Inn Express, this one has some work to do. Check in was very quick, almost too quick. I gave my name on the reservation, credit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This hotel was clean and friendly. The rooms were nice and the beds very comfy. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Our only issues were pricing of our block rooms (which got straightened out in the end) and our room access keys kept getting deactivated. We probably had to go to the front desk 6 - 8 times to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton, Iowa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed for a family outing. The hotel only had one person running the front desk and the breakfast area, the swimming pool was warmer than the hot tub, and there was smoking being allowed in the building (you could plainly smell the smoke as soon as you left the lobby). I would recommend another hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry for your stay. How ever there were notes clearly stating our hot tub was having issues due to guest prior throwing a foreign objects in it. This hotel does have smoking rooms on the first floor left of the lobby. There are actually 10 smoking rooms in the hotel. There was only 1 person covering breakfast due... More 

Lincoln, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Staff was extremely friendly & attentive, especially the General Manager J. Ford & front desk clerk Neah. We were allowed to use the meeting room for our family gathering, allowing us to spread out & enjoy our gathering. Our needs were attended to with smiles and grace in a true spirit of hospitality. It is apparent that Mr Ford has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you again for your families great reviews. I remember your families stay and having dinner with you all in the meeting room. The food was amazing and you all invited me in like one of your own. Few days later we are still talking about how pleasant you all were to us as well. Thank you again... More 

Duesseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for three weeks in December 2014 for a business trip. I have absolutely no complaints about my stay. The rooms were nice, with comfortable beds. There is good internet connectivity throughout. The bathrooms are OK, but plain. There is a decent breakfast buffet, but during a three week stay it gets a bit repetitive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We do make our selling point to be friendly and make it feel like home. However the breakfast items are brand requirements. We are however also open for new ideas to improve the guest stay. Its always great hearing reviews like this and I will share this with my staff.... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Unfortunately, I was not able to make it to the HIE for my trip but had found that my reservation had not been cancelled. As disgruntled as I was, the manager Johnathan, immediately took care of me. He handled my concern with professionalism and care. Now that's hospitality! I was very impressed and will be staying exclusively at the HIE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Meganne It was my pleasure to make sure you were taken care of. The object to the hotel business is to treat each guest with respect and understanding. Thank you so much for the great review. I have always taken the time to make my guest feel they are getting my personal attention. I hope you have a great... More 

North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Recently visited the area. I didn't have a lot of experience with the rest of the somewhat known hotels in the area so I just opted for the standard room at the Holiday Inn Express. Good choice. It no luxury hotel but always a great stand by

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I have already shared this with the staff. They take great pride in making sure each guest is taken care of with that personalized service. I also want to thank you for recommending this hotel. Reviews like yours keep us as the number #1 recommended hotel in Burlington. We like to keep... More 

Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We found this HIE to be very standard for the Brand, and that means we found everything to be excellent. Room size, cleanliness, HVAC operation, sleep quality, and bathroom amenities were all more than acceptable. The staff of the Hotel were also very friendly, and helpful. We used this Hotel as a stop going into Iowa City before a home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I have already shared this with the staff. They take great pride in making sure each guest is taken care of with that personalized service. I also want to thank you for recommending this hotel. Reviews like yours keep us as the number #1 recommended hotel in Burlington. Have a great year... More 

Rainsville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed 7 days in this Holiday Inn Express, which is right across the street from Pzazza, the casino in Burlington. The entire facility was very clean, the staff was very courteous and eager to serve, and the complimentary breakfast was very, very good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I have already shared this with the staff. They take great pride in making sure each guest is taken care of with that personalized service. I also want to thank you for recommending this hotel. Reviews like yours keep us as the number #1 recommended hotel in Burlington. Have a great year... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

After reading reviews on Travelocity we chose Holiday Inn Express for our stay in Burlington. The rooms were clean and welcoming. Staff offered excellent customer service. Breakfast buffet was attractive. It was easy to find. Only complaint is that the faucet head on our sink was placed to close to the sink walls so it was difficult to use -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnathan F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the great review. I have already shared this with the staff. They take great pride in making sure each guest is taken care of with that personalized service. I also want to thank you for highly recommending this hotel. Reviews like yours keep us as the number #1 recommended hotel in Burlington. Have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay