We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Burlington

2.0 of 5 2759 Mt. Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Burlington
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    68
    61
    69
    97
See reviews for
169
48
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (378)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It needed cleaned behind the end table and the lights didn't work between the beds. But for the most part it was clean in the obvious places and it was quiet. We realize they are still getting this remodeled or fixed. We would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottumwa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. It appears it was really nice at one time but they have not kept up with it. Stains on the chairs in room. Found some one else's dirty underwear as I was checking our room for our stuff before leaving!!! Water turned off 3 times for several minutes while my fiancé... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winona, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I could not sleep well at all because the room was way too warm. Adjusting the thermostat had no effect. The second night the help gave me a fan, but I hate trying to sleep with a noisy, bothersome fan and I shouldn't have to. I would expect this sort of thing to happen at a cheap dive hotel, not... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in offering our guests with a great experience and I am sorry you felt we did not meet those expectations. Our hotel operates with a broiler or chiller so unfortunately we are unable to offer both heating and air conditioning at the same time which is why we offer fans to our... More 

Carroll, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The room had an odor the ceiling in the bathroom was very dirty, the lock on the door was broken. this place looked very run down, it only cost 55.00 with a clc card but it was not worth it.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I had made a reservation 3 days prior to when I needed it. When I arrived, my room was not reserved and all my information had been deleted from the computer. When I did get a room, it was on the inside and cost me $10 more. I had requested an outside room. In November, my room was very cold.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have researched your reservation and in fact the reservation was made when you had requested. The room was upgraded to the inside room and we waived the extra cost for you since we did not have rooms on the exterior of the hotel as you had wished. You stay with us several times a... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I visited this hotel over the summer as we had a family reunion there and we all truly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were great and gave us all a warm welcome and were very accomodating. The pool was amazing the kids loved it, and the shopping around the hotel was a great bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed along your kind words to our staff as well. Hope to see you and your family again this summer. More 

Marion, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

chronicly ill,severely ill.Ichecked in with a feve 5am,ok with paying fullprice for 5-11am & then get charged for one more night, at around 53 dollars.room had NO HEAT AT ALL,was 18 degree &I had driven all night.took a room & was charged 109 ish.limped to"room 144".1 light worked, heat did not work AT ALLnosmokeroom wascovered burns and ash,no trash or... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you felt dissatisfied with your recent stay with us. Our building is designed with a broiler or chiller. Unfortunately we can not offer both heat and air conditioning at the same time. You may have stayed with us when the weather was just changing from fall to winter. We love Iowa weather... More 

Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Classic old interior. In its day it must have been a wonderful hotel. The floor was dirty and the carpeting was disgusting. The room smelled very musty. The staff was very nice and courteous. Indoor pool was really nice. Looks as though they were beginning upgrades which is very needed.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take pride in offering our guests great guest service and a nice place to stay. I am glad that you felt we met those expectations for the most part. You are correct we are in the process of updating and making some changes around the hotel. Once again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mt. Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay