We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Burlington

2.0 of 5 2759 Mt. Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Burlington
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    62
    69
    100
See reviews for
171
50
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the jacuzzi "suite" for a friday and saturday. When we got there, the pool was going through a renovation. It had water in it with a layer of "crap" on the top and mold/mildew growing in the bottom. The so called suite was an old office room that had been turned into a bigger suite room. The carpet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When the reservations were made was told they had a pool and hot tub. When arrived I asked where it was and a very rude staff just pointed. After checking into the old outdated rooms was told it was out of service and could not get a refund. The free breakfast were out of waffles 10 minutes after it started... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I due apologize that you felt inconvenience while visiting us at the Howard Johnson. We do have a pool and hot tub and for reasons out of our control it was down when you visited. The waffles are not pre-made, they are made by our guests so I am not sure how we were out... More 

Menominee, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some guests were up at all hours and noisy on four of the 14 nights I stayed. Most of the guests were there for work, but it only a handful to make it bad.Had an electrical fire due to overloaded circuits with guests cooking in inadequate rooms- they had been advised not to cook. Hotel staff handled the crisis well-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our Guest Service and offering our guests a great place to stay. I am happy that you felt we met those expectations for you. I do apologize that you had some noise issues while staying with us. We do our best to keep the noise issues down and take care of... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

It needed cleaned behind the end table and the lights didn't work between the beds. But for the most part it was clean in the obvious places and it was quiet. We realize they are still getting this remodeled or fixed. We would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottumwa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This is not the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. It appears it was really nice at one time but they have not kept up with it. Stains on the chairs in room. Found some one else's dirty underwear as I was checking our room for our stuff before leaving!!! Water turned off 3 times for several minutes while my fiancé... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winona, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I could not sleep well at all because the room was way too warm. Adjusting the thermostat had no effect. The second night the help gave me a fan, but I hate trying to sleep with a noisy, bothersome fan and I shouldn't have to. I would expect this sort of thing to happen at a cheap dive hotel, not... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in offering our guests with a great experience and I am sorry you felt we did not meet those expectations. Our hotel operates with a broiler or chiller so unfortunately we are unable to offer both heating and air conditioning at the same time which is why we offer fans to our... More 

Carroll, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The room had an odor the ceiling in the bathroom was very dirty, the lock on the door was broken. this place looked very run down, it only cost 55.00 with a clc card but it was not worth it.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mt. Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay