We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Burlington

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2759 Mt. Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Burlington
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    63
    72
    102
See reviews for
174
51
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (393)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was dirty, stinky, Super Noisy. Breakfast area filthy every morning. Biscuits and Coffee was cold. Beds were gross and nasty. There was a formal party for a local high school and they allowed them to have alcohol and no supervision. The high school kids took up the whole pool area. Our kids or anyone staying at this hotel couldn't... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel was super friendly and helpful. The New Orleans theme in the common areas was very nice. But, the room itself smelled of mold and was very dirty. I could barely breath as I have mold allergies. If they would spend the money to get new carpets and work at keeping them clean, this would be... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely stay at Howard Johnson when staying overnight in Burlington. Check-in was quick and easy, rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely compared to most hotel bathrooms! It was also spacious and very clean. There is a beautiful swimming pool for the guests. Staff were pleasant and the hotel wasn't noisy which ensured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on your most recent stay with us;. I am glad to hear you had a great time. I will pass along your kind words to all of our staff members. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. More 

Marietta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to Burlington for a business trip and stayed at Howard Johnson, I really liked the fact that hotel was very practical, It is close to City Center, restaurants, casino has everything that I would needed. Breakfast Buffet had nice sitting area with TV and was pretty good. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Howard Johnson on your visit to Burlington. I am happy to hear we exceeded your expectations during your stay. I will pass along your review to our staff members. Once again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

alpharetta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went back to Burlington for a business trip and stayed at HOJO. We enjoyed our time from the time we checked in. The staff were very friendly and polite, We called for some more towels and staff delivered them to our room within few minutes. We enjoyed hanging around the pool area playing pool table and stop by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review during you recent stay with us. We strive to offer our guests the best experience during their stay and I am pleased to know we met that goal with you. I will pass along your review for our staff members to enjoy as well. Thank you again and we look forward to you staying with... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been there twice.Very helpful staff. Wonderful pool.Perfect room size. Wonderful hotel for family and couples. I will definitely visit again in a few months. Thanks for making my 3 day visit a wonderful one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay once again with us. I have passed along your kind words to our staff as well. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

rude staff, hot stuffy room, mold smell everywhere, pool closed for maintainance would not stay there again dirty room, rude staff, fitness center nonexistent,poorly maintained, air conditioning not working

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Burlington, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Paid for poolside....it was not available and no hot tub was allowed.....very disappointed.....they said renavations....one would think would get a discount then....NOPE!!##

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morris
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Underside of toilet rim totally filthy. Room was not properly cleaned. Plastic razor covers on floor in bathroom. Papers on floor. Snow not shoveled around front door. Pool was broken with oily water on surface, it was still there after two days.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We strive to offer our guests great guest service and a clean comfortable place to stay. I apologize that you felt we did not meet these expectations. We were undergoing renovations in our pool area and that is why the pool was closed and water was not cleaned or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question