We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pleasant Stay Inn

4130 Highway 21, Brooklyn, IA 52211 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pleasant Stay Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pleasant Stay Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    6
    6
    9
    10
See reviews for
13
8
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had to wait a few minutes for our room to be cleaned. But check in is early 1PM. Beds were comfortable with 4 pillows each. Could have had a little more for the continental breakfast. Staff was courteous & tried hard to please. The negative was we brought our suits so we could us the hot tub & apparently it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really reasonable price for clean rooms. But what really made this for me was when I told them I'd be leaving earlier then when they set out breakfast (6am) and they went ahead and set it out even earlier for me. That kind of thoughtful business is what I really appreciate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, we checked in with our very well behaved, housebroken dog. when we got in the room it smelled like cat pee. We were told it was the only pet friendly room available so we had no choice but to stay. Good thing we had febreeze. There was garbage left by the last guest. We took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dineshprasad, Manager at Pleasant Stay Inn, responded to this review

I seriously doubt that this review is written by a customer .My room are nice and clean and well maintained always. However -if you are a real customer then why not ask for another room ? or a refund? or walk out of the hotel ?. I hereby offer you free stay for a week if you can prove that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We stayed here in March 2015. The pool was closed and the hot tub was green. We paid cash for our room when we checked in and later found out they charged my debit card also. Every time I've called to get it refunded the lady kept telling me she had no record of charging my card and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dineshprasad, Manager at Pleasant Stay Inn, responded to this review

Madam I am indeed sorry that you have this problem with us. I assure you that appropriate action will be take .However pl do try to understand that we never charge your credit card if you pay cash but if you hold the room by credit card then bank will place the hold on your account for the amount and... More 

Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

They Actually Answer the phone in the middle of the night. Staff take the utmost care to meet any personal needs.The owner Dinesh REALLY CARES that your stay is more than "pleasant". I cross the country @ least twice a year..this will be my resting place EVERY time.Clean Comfortable and Affordable. THANK YOU DINESH AND STAFF. C U in May!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wales
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Traveling I-80, looking for hotel after a disaster the night before. Found room to be great! Breakfast was a little light but okay. Staff very helpful. If you are passing by do not hesitate to stop in. Don't let the lack of chain brand bother you here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vandalia Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed there last night after 14hrs on the road. The only thing this hotel is lacking is a hot breakfast..otherwise it has the features of a five star property. I received a very generous discount off their regular rates. I'll be returning next time I'm in town

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wales, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As soon as we turned on the air, there was a horrible smell that permeated throughout the room- like dogs. We had arrived late, and were very tired so just stayed in the room but without air was extremely hot, and couldn't open the windows as it was raining very hard. Bathroom was small, and the caulking on inside and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dineshprasad, Manager at Pleasant Stay Inn, responded to this review

pl do not write the review which is completely untrue?.we asked you to pl do not smoke in the room with your windows open because the smoke was coming in the hallway and other guest were complaining .you rather insulted the staff and walked out of the hotel saying you will write a bad review.this is ethically and morally wrong... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I am sitting in my room here at the Pleasant Stay Inn. In Brooklyn, IA what i can say so far it this. When i first walked in about 330 the young lady at the front desk greeted me with a welcoming smile. She was very kind and respectful. when getting to my room i find that its very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dineshprasad, Manager at Pleasant Stay Inn, responded to this review

pl do not write the review which is completely untrue?.we asked you to pl do not smoke in the room with your windows open because the smoke was coming in the hallway and other guest were complaining .you rather insulted the staff and walked out of the hotel saying you will write a bad review.this is ethically and morally wrong... More 

Felicity, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I did NOT expected the cleanliness and cozy comfort of this hotel for a few reasons... 1. It's next to a truck stop...I am a trucker and have seen many hotels that have been "run down" just due to the volume of folks that pass thru. 2. Even though I arrived extremely late/early....the desk person was pleasant and SMILING!! 3.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay