We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
123 N St Joseph Street, South Bend, IN 46601
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    137
    51
    28
    2
See reviews for
153
54
14
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (458)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (141)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Fairport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow, how do they heat/air-condition that atrium? Nice enough hotel. Clean. Friendly, hard-working staff. Smallish rooms--double beds instead of queens are not ideal for family stays. Irksome that there's no mention at check-in of the parking fee (or breakfast in concierge lounge, for that matter). We stayed ND graduation weekend, so of course the value-for-the-price doesn't really apply here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend, Indiana. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We regret that we failed to inform you about our parking fee and the services provided in the Concierge Lounge. We do appreciate your feedback as we continuously strive to improve upon our... More 

Evansville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When you don't get a cookie at check in you know it's not going to be a good stay. I'm used to a higher level of service at Double Tree. This one didn't live up to that standard. Because of that I'd save my money and stay somewhere else.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend Indiana. We are so sorry that you did not receive a our signature chocolate chip walnut cookie at check in. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we make improvements to our training and services. I would love to send you a tin of cookies to make up... More 

Omaha
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in town for the NCAA Midwest Ice Hockey regional and this hotel totally impressed. It was the official hotel for the four teams in the regional as well, so there was always a lot going on in the lobby and bar areas. Despite that, the staff was excellent. The rooms were spacious and the beds were heavenly. Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. We are excited to share your comments about the staff with our team. Looking forward to serving you again soon. Thank you! More 

United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and neat; cookie offered at check-in was delicious. Bar/restaurant was very nice and the employees throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful. Good location for walking to nearby restaurants. Only quibble was trouble using the Wi-Fi access provided by hotel -- had to use an alternate provider. But don't let that keep you away.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and had a wonderful stay. We do apologize for the trouble you experienced with the internet during your stay and appreciate you letting us know. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you. More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really like light airy hotels and Double Tree fit the bill. Nice feeling of space. The staff were very friendly when I arrived. I asked for a room with a view and received a stunning view of the St. Joseph river. I appreciated the skywalk to the Century Center Convention Center where I had my meetings. They were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel put a HOLD on my account without telling me and against their policy. When I asked the front desk to fix it they were not able/willing. They gave me a phone number to call and said sorry. I have made many calls and the problem is still not resolved.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We appreciate the opportunity to address the problem you experienced at our hotel. We are extremely sorry that your credit card was authorized in error for your complimentary room. We deeply regret the dissatisfaction and inconvenience this has caused you. If I can be of... More 

South Bend, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My cousin in-law got us the room for our wedding weekend and it was a wonderful and perfect stay!!! Kelsey is a great asset to your team as well as all of her co-workers at this hotel!!! They definitely went above and beyond for us to make this stay a very special one! Thank you so much DoubleTree South Bend... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Going to South Bend, Indiana I did not expect much from a hotel (not a lot of commerce there), but the Double Tree was an unexpected treat. The main floor has the feeling of a new European train station, and the rooms are cozy and clean. I recommend grabbing the breakfast buffet, or stopping by the Starbucks if you are... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were coming to South Bend to attend a wedding at Notre Dame. Our flight was very delayed. When I called the hotel shuttle was on its way to pick us up. Due to slow luggage delivery we missed the shuttle. I called the hotel and they said to take a cab and they would pick up the tab. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our DoubleTree by Hilton in South Bend. We are delighted that you enjoyed your special weekend and your stay at our hotel. We do appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again. Thank you. More 

South Bend, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall our experience was great. We had a block of rooms reserved for a wedding. We had one issue with housekeeping and addressed the issue with the exit survey. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Very nice hotel

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location for your wedding event. We do regret that you experienced a problem and appreciate the opportunity to quickly resolve this issue. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you once again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities