We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Hotel website
Hotel deals
120 Dixie Way North, South Bend, IN 46637
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    29
    12
    12
    17
See reviews for
30
13
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed one night in July so definitely not prime football season. We found it to be quiet and clean. Not a complaint for us but an observation...the breakfast area was extremely small. I can't imagine during peak season there would be any space in that area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was going through a renovation and though I thought the room was very clean and did not notice anything dated or worn. Bath, TV, towels were what you would expect. Very nice and clean. The carpet and interior of the lobby was best described as "Brady Bunch", though other than dated, was clean and safe. Staff was courteous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will come stay with us again, we will have the cinnamon rolls ready for you. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were desperate for a good sleep, and thanks to the very loud fan that blocked out the neighbor's loud children, we got it. Breakfast was average. Unremarkable hotel really, but did its job. The staff at the front desk held moderately inappropriate conversations discernible to guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay at our property. I would love more feed back from you if you would like to email me. espigutz@staysouthbend.com More 

Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed here on Memorial weekend. The room was dated but clean, enjoyed having a refrigerator in the room, actually missed not having one in another hotel the next night. Breakfast was adequate and very busy due to the holiday but the staff kept up and cleaned the area well after breakfast. Impressed with the conscientious staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review, we are getting ready for a renovation to the hotel and I do hope you will come see us again when it is completed. More 

Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

good hotel within easy access of the highway. rooms are standard as to be expected from this group, no surprises. Front desk staff seemed a little out of sorts with a very long check in process and not a lot of local knowledge other than what was within about a mile of the hotel. Breakfast was quite good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again, I do apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your check-in. Sincerely, Erin S. General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I typically stay here when I come into.town and never had a bad experience til yesterday. Mid day I stop back at my room to do some work and I find a cockroach running up my wall. I couldn't pack up fast enough and get out of there. They refunded me for that day and gave me 5000 priority points.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Located minutes from ND and across the street from Bruno's (GREAT PIZZA), it's a good hotel. There was a small mix up at check-in and they upgraded us to a three room "suite". Breakfast was good. $115 was the rate we got online. Very comfortable beds and the room was pretty clean. Friendly staff. A good visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Villa, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This is the worst Holiday Inn Stinks like mold Service is horrible No HD TV for the last year Owner Patel to cheap, how HI allows this guy yo oersted hotels is the reason I know longer stay at any HI Had to this time and it will be the last Pathetic Avoid this hotel at all costs

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Terry Kathy H, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the level of service and cleanliness during your stay. For this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be... More 

New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Stayed here for a football weekend and paid $500/night. Pros: Rooms seemed clean, beds were comfortable and rooms were large. Cons: The front desk was never manned -- someone always had to appear from a back room. Our toilet flushed every half hour by itself all night long. I complained the next morning, the front desk sent the maid to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear MaBell49, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More 

Detroit
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I visited South Bend this past week and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express just off Notre Dames campus. I am a member of their reward program and always stay at this brand when traveling. I have always found them to be a great value with clean rooms and top notch service, this was not the case this time. First,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Gary2525, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is good to know that you had a smooth check-in experience. However, I'd like to take this opportunity to apologize if the condition of your room prevented you from fully enjoying your stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and this shall be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay