We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1175 N. Van Buren Street (Hwy 5), Shipshewana, IN 46565 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
251 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked four rooms for nine ladies. We were greeted warmly at 11:00 pm by a lovely host and warm fire. Rooms are on one level and easy to get to from inside the hotel and by side doors as well. Beds were amazingly comfy and cozy. No complaints about that! The bathroom was large and the shower was wonderful. They... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Beth W
PITTSBURGH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

This hotel is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff are warm and welcoming. The furnishings are traditional. It's fun to look outdoors and watch the buggies go by. They sent us to the Blue Gate for an Amish dinner that was delicious.

Helpful?
3 Thank MARY V
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

The Hotel located on the quiet side of this busy town. Appears to be new, very clean and friendly staff. Rates are very reasonable considering the service and the excellent breakfast. Versatile hotel for family or business, they have a business center with conference rooms, pool, work out area and breakfast. Not many locations in town to eat a late... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

We have stayed at this hotel many times but this will be our last time. Service and quality have deteriorated. We got off to a bad start as the clerk was not very cordial. I always request an upper level room in advance and she made no apology for giving us a ground floor room on the end which seemed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank rondot98
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

We got in late and were welcomed nicely. Late checks in, no problem The hotel room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Good hotel and great value. Stay here you won't be disappointed. We will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Sabmik1713
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We stayed here while going to a Notre Dame football game. The hotel was affordable, and in a great location. We loved our stay here. It was clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff and breakfast met our needs. We would stay here again when in the area. We booked our room via Hotels.com, and received a reduced rate. When we checked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Our trip to Shipshewana was a very pleasant one, except that is, for the stay at The Van Buren Hotel. First off, they charged $169.00 for a stay there on a Tuesday night. Really?? Just because it had a jacuzzi in that room that I didn't even enjoy. Then, to make matters worse, the bed was absolutely terrible. The fitted... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Busman69
VanBuren7780, Guest Relations Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review

I’m sorry you had such a terrible stay with us, but from what I understand, you were unhappy with our hotel before even checking in. Due to the local flea market business, Tuesday’s ARE the most expensive day of the week at ALL Shipshewana hotels, not just ours. When you arrived at our hotel, with no prior reservation, I’m sure... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. It is very clean and reasonably priced. Staff is friendly- courteous - and very helpful. Free breakfast is awesome. One of the best!! It is only 40 minutes from Notre Dame by the toll road. 56 minutes if you don't take the toll road. And if you have the extra time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Puglady49
Carsonville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

This place had well appointed décor with lots of oak.......rich looking furniture...suites spacious......service wasn't lacking/friendly folk. Exercise room/Pool/Hot tub...Large breakfast area...hot food was good. Close to activity in Shipshewana....

Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey C
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Spent two nights here while in town for a wedding. Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and relaxing pool. Very nice and helpful staff. This was a great hotel to use as our gathering place. It was nice having the chairs outside to relax in on a beautiful evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank JC_2kids
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.2 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#3 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
21.4 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay