We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Schererville B&Bs / inns

Hometown Inn & Suites

1139 W Lincoln Hwy, Schererville, IN 46375
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hometown Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hometown Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (10)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    1
    8
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hammond
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I check in for a week stay on day three noticed a bug on my pillow went to get the owner and show her they stripped my bed and offered to switch my room. I said no thank you it was a bed bug I contacted health department also ask for my money back they said they would give a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kal D, Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Very False Review.. Since our hotel has "no refund" on extended stay rate, guest used this to get full refund back after staying 4 nights. But we still offered initially to issue a partial refund but guest demanded a full so our hotel got a unfair review. But for precaution not only did we inspect but we called in expert... More

Linton, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We checked in early because we were on our way to Chicago and weren't sure how late we would return. When we did return, we found that only one lamp in the room worked. We obtained some light bulbs from the front desk and then found that one lamp had a short circuit. The room was fairly clean, but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Jose, California
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is family owned and operated. They have no huge advertising, no fancy amenities like the national chains. The prices are lower. No free continental breakfast. (Have you ever had a decent continental breakfast in a hotel?) There are many places nearby that serve breakfast anyway. The room I stayed in was nice & clean. They do charge you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Schererville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here on NYE. Booked a tub room, upon entering the room, noticed that were no towels, had to ask the front desk for them. Next, noticed thet the smoke alarm had the battery removed, if you're trying to be slick, at least put the cover back on. The straw that broke the camels back was the ice machine being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schererville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely HORRIBLE!!! Worst hotel I have ever been in! A few hours into our stay we found a black bug crawling around on the pillow! GROSS! The room was not nice at all. Lamp didn't work. Very dirty. After we noticed the bug we decided we were not staying in that hotel and went to the front desk for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kal D, Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I apologize for any inconvience on your stay, however since we can check out the room at that time we did check the room myself the next day but we took it step forward and called our third party pest control expert and even they did not find anything. Like as we said if we find anything we would have... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was in town for a family function and three rooms were booked by myself and other members of my family, all adults. We showed up 20 minutes after check-in time and there was no one at the check-in desk, so we rang a bell. After several minutes of waiting, we rang the bell again. We allowed another several minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever been in. It's filthy and just plain terrible. About 8 hours into my stay my girlfriend and I noticed there were bugs in our bed. We told the person at the front desk and he decided to give us a room next door to the one we were already in! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kal D, Front Office Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry for your inconvenience. I have looked into this issue and we even call our pest control the day after to find out there was no pest of any kind was found in that room. I can assure you we keep our hotel clean and pest free as we do regular maintaince on our entire hotel. Again apologize... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We checked in at 9 pm and each paid half. My boyfriend used his debit card and I paid cash. I was a mere $1.29 short on my end. I offered to pay the balance with my debit card, but was very rudely and abruptly told that there is a $30.00 limit on card purchases. I was asked to search... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kal D, Front Office Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize for your inconvience. I understand your frustration as we no longer have that employee. I know we are not franchise as we do not have some of the amenities as other big chains would and that's why guest like that so could keep our rates affordable. Please try us again and would like to extend 15% off next... More

dyer,in
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

my family had to stay here for a week in october and my wife was harassed by the housekeeper daily to the point of tears. a used syringe found under the mattress and dried semen on the blankets greeted us. it got worse from there across the hall a crack smoking drug addict offerred me drugs, i brought the blanket... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kal D, Front Office Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We truly apologize for this inconvience. We have a whole new housekeeping dept that are fully trained. We upkeep our hotel to high standards. We want you back to try us out again and token of apology give 30% off of your next stay. More

Schererville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I first came in the hotel to ask for a long therm accomodation, and I got an offer for a weeckly rate of 320 $ so I came back and I book a room they ask me for a credit card and a prepayment cash for the all week, of course I refuse and I sayd I will pay for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kal D, Front Office Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize for any confusion on our rates. Our policy is all money has to be paid upfront. On weekly rates is good for 7 nights including Friday and Saturday, but if you pay daily then weekend rate applies as demand is more. Again very sorry for any inconvience. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hometown Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hometown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn & Suites

Address: 1139 W Lincoln Hwy, Schererville, IN 46375
Location: United States > Indiana > Schererville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hometown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;