We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Door Cottages

5212 NW Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960
Blue Door Cottages
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    15
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
59
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in #7 with 6 adults and 5 kids. Plenty of room. The Place Is Beautiful And Very clean. Staff was very helpful and nice We rented to boat also which made our day. We will stay again forsure Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here because it is close to Indiana Beach and it had a pool. The cottages are smaller especially with 3 small kids in them but for what they are they work. We did not sign up for a 5 start resort and didn't expect one. The pool was great for the kids because it is only 3 feet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms need to be cleaned and disenfected better, the bathroom had lots of rust, lots of bugs in the cottage throughout, the TV was very small and didn't have any hdmi connections,the door that separates your room from the next room didn't make a difference because you can still hear everything in the next room and it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rented double bungalow 8 &9 and single cottage #10 over 4th of July weekend. Had 12 family members with us and not one complaint from anyone. Cottages and premises were very clean with plenty of room for all of us. The pool area was just as nice. Management (Scott ) and entire staff were very friendly and and took care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So my partner and I went to Blue Door on June 21st - June 24th 2015. I grew up on Lake Shafer at Stevenson point. So I love the lake and the atmosphere. I wanted some cheap and something close to the lake. That's how I found Blue Door Cottages. Glad I did find it and can't wait to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Door Cottages June 29-July 2 and had so much fun! You can tell when you pull in how well the management takes care of the property. We stayed in cottage #13 and it was very nice and roomy. The cottages are super clean and air conditioned. Lots of room for all activities, playground, grilling, open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I called for pricing on a double bungalow. The property owner was very rude and told me I was wasting his time because I asked him to honor the discount price listed on the website for the double bungalow. He claimed that he raised the price and the price listed in two separate places on the website was not accurate.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BlueDoorCottages, Manager at Blue Door Cottages, responded to this review

I offered you a 10 percent discount , even though I explained to you that you were looking at a link from last year which had expired. We have ethnic groups from all over the world here at Blue door. Never have I had any other complaints. I would like to apologize for making you feel this way, believe me... More 

minooka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed 1 night over the weekend & had a great time at Lake Shafer. Wished we could have stayed another night. Very clean room and had that beachy feel like resort. I will come back again with my boyfriend. Also, with friends next time too. I recommend this place for anyone of all ages.. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueDoorCottages, Manager at Blue Door Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review Sandra :O) More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The beds are uncomfortable, and no sheets for the sofa bed. He charge every room we had with a phony charge after we left of $50- 90 for towels and rocks in the pool from the kids. We tried to call him and ask questions but he refused to answer. Don't stay there!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BlueDoorCottages, Manager at Blue Door Cottages, responded to this review

Jerry, I only charged you and your family for part of the damages that a cured while you were staying here. We normally charge everyone that damages our cottages. Believe me , the last thing I want to do is charge a large group for damages. Unfortunately your family was one one of those families. We only ask that you... More 

Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My kids and myself book a cottage for the weekend. We enjoyed the park had a great time, Hours after we checked out and made it home, I found out that I had been billed double and they would not return the multiple messages I have left. DO NOT RENT HERE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BlueDoorCottages, Manager at Blue Door Cottages, responded to this review

Theo, You were not double billed, you were charged for damaging all the towels and furniture. And we charge everyone that comes here and damages the resort property, which I might add is very rare. Thank you for visiting Blue Door Cottages More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Inn & Suites
18.0 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pine View Resort
Pine View Resort
#3 of 8 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Country Edge Motel
The Country Edge Motel
#1 of 5 in Logansport
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Springs
Serenity Springs
#2 of 3 in Michigan City
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities