We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Michigan City B&Bs / inns

Duneland Beach Inn

3311 Pottawattamie Trail, Michigan City, IN 46360
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (37)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Duneland Beach Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Michigan City
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, IA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely old inn style hotel that has been well maintained and updated. The rooms are all above the restaurant, which some reviewers did not enjoy. We thought it was a great amenity to have. It was nice to have a full restaurant and bar as there are no others within walking distance. The service was fabulous and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me preface this review by saying that I am a patient, easy going person. I planned a romantic weekend at Michigan City for my girlfriend (now fiance) as I was going to propose. We were staying at Blue Chip Casino so I decided to get away from the casino crowd and have dinner at a more private, romantic setting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Highland, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Had a nice time at the Inn. I can't remember the name of the young lady that checked us in a little before check in time. She made us feel so welcome and was polite and courteous. We stayed in the middle of the week and knew there wasn't a continental breakfast so we were surprised that in our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Schererville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Wow, what a difference new owners make. We ate at the the Inn about 6 years ago and had an OK meal, thought about staying the night but when we checked out the rooms they were a bit "worn out". When we read the review from Lisa D, thought we would give it another try and see if anything had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the city of Chicago to the Duneland beach inn the peacefulness is a great part of the stay. The beach that is part of the inn is clean & a short walk from the Inn, the bar is o.k. the restaurant is great. The breakfast hutch is a nice touch for the morning to get you started. Tips if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint John, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I had just a wonderful NY's dinner and over-night stay at The Duneland Beach Inn. From the moment we came in out of the snow everyone was gracious and welcoming. Our dinner was delicious and served in a a lovely window side setting. The bar is small, warm, and very nearly perfect setting on a snowy night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Duneland Beach is a restaurant/ bar with rooms above it not a B&B! We heard nothing but pans banging below in the kitchen and rowdy bar people. No common area -our TV did not work the bathroom so small in the captains quarters my knees stuck out could not close the door. We asked when it would quite down they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not a B&B, but a country inn. A inn by definition serves meals and has a restaurant on property. Perhaps you were looking for a smaller, quieter place to stay. Because we are a small inn, we apologize that expanded cable isn't available in the... More

Chicago Il
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

When I called for info and to discuss my reservations etc I was not impressed with the folks that answered the phone. The rates are high but it is all about location and they have it. Our room was small but we didnt spend a lot of time there. Dinner was nice outside and I loved my fish. Yes the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and hope to see you again soon. More

Long Beach, Indiana
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have our Easter family dinner at this establishment, what a major mistake that was! The food was average at best, the prices were high and the woman who owns it, Kay, I believe, couldn't be more arrogant and stuffy in nature! We miss Kelli's table and are looking for a nice owner friendly place to spend our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your Easter Dinner.I would like to address your concerns. Regarding "overpriced" your family of 12 guests enjoyed Easter dinner off the menu, not a buffet, for $25.33 per person. That is not unreasonable for Florida grouper flown in fresh and prime rib dinner including soup or salad which most of your table ordered. We are... More

Valparaiso, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Driving around the area when we stumbled upon this place and decided to stop for a beer or two; good thing we only had one round because they charge $10 for 12 ounce bottle of a craft beer which usually goes for $5 per pint at most fine pubs. Will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Hello HoosierTravelMaster and thank you for your review. You are correct. Some of our craft beers are expensive. My guess is you chose a Dragon's Milk or a Hopslam? They are $10. Our neighborhood bar is small and doesn't afford us the room for beer on tap. Please look at the whole picture. We are not a pub nor a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Duneland Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Michigan City with
any amenities

Been to Duneland Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duneland Beach Inn

Address: 3311 Pottawattamie Trail, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Duneland Beach Hotel Michigan City

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away one block from the private beach, Duneland Beach Inn is a private getaway located near gaming, shopping, and wineries. There is a casual fine dining restaurant & bar on the first floor offering some of the best cuisine in the area, ice layered martinis, and wines from around the globe. The circa 1920's Inn offers eight well appointed guest rooms on the 2nd floor which was long ago offered 21 rooms with a shared bath. A great place for a couples getaway. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Duneland Beach Inn to your Saves list