We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1355 E. 83rd Ave., Merrillville, IN 46410 (Formerly Extended Stay America Efficiency Studios Merrillville)
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

While I found the housekeeping staff very friendly, and helpful, I can tell you that the management, and front desk staff were striving to take "indifference" to a level of artform. ESA's are pretty cookie-cutter, so you know what to expect in the way of room and amenities. And there, it did not disappoint. The room was clean and inviting,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our housekeeping staff; however, we apologize that you did not receive consistent customer service. In response to your feedback, I will work with our front desk staff to ensure that we are providing each guest with professional customer... More 

South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

It's clear the manager of this hotel is completely apathetic. The majority of my 3 week stay, the staff was hidden in the back room with no way to reach them unless to walked to your room and called or stood there yelling like an idiot. When staff was viable, it wasa clear I was bothering them or disrupting them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the service issues you experienced. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will use your comments as a training tool to ensure that we are responding to guest needs in a timely manner and providing each guest... More 

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here over 2 months, and this is a very good hotel. They clean your room timely and thoroughly, and the breakfast and coffee are always out promptly by 6am. I would recommend this Extended Stay. Michael Thompson, #134.

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future. More 

Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

There was laundry facilities onsite which was nice. Wish there was a small gym or something but overall pretty good. Staff were really pleasant and helpful. We had a lot of inventory we had to keep in the room and so we were always getting packages. The staff worked really well with receiving and helping us with all the shipments.

Helpful?
Thank ReAnne R
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. We appreciate the kind comments about our laundry facilities as well as our staff and how helpful they were in accommodating your needs. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with... More 

Gurnee, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were given this hotel from Hotwire at a $47 rate. I was hoping for other hotels but this one was fine for the night. It was clean and quiet. Our remote didn't have batteries and water pressure was next to nothing but those were minor negatives in an otherwise peaceful stay. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Shauny874
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our rooms; however, we apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are closely inspecting rooms prior to guest arrivals. Thank you very much for providing us with your... More 

Orlando
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

I didn't realize that "no frills" meant there wouldn't be a hair dryer, nor ice machine. True we had an ice tray in our refrigerator but by the time ice formed, it would be time to leave. I have to say it was really clean and quiet. No juice for breakfast and the hot water tasted like it had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank flsurg
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that our amenities were not to your expectations. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items, along with hair dryers, are available upon request at the front desk. In response to your feedback, I will make sure... More 

Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for my one night family stay after a wet camping trip. First, I got a great rate. However, I only booked my wife and myself in an accessible room with one bed. Right after I booked it, my son called and asked if he, his wife, and his baby could stay with us because they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am thrilled to hear that we provided you with a home away from home experience. I’m so glad we were able to accommodate your needs with a great rate and our fully equipped kitchens. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Worst stay ever. Not worth the issues that we were surrounded with at all.The staff had no eye contact because they knew the hotel lacked everything I complained about. Was not allowed to print my boarding pass to fly out so I had to go to a library.Such am inconvenience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Washing10
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will be retraining our front desk staff to ensure they provide each guest with professional customer service. Thank you very much for... More 

Cape Cod
Level Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Nice staff at the front desk both checking in and out. Room was spacious but surprised they had kitchenette but not even a spoon. I didn't feel totally clean...not dirty by any means but the "kitchen" floor was sticky. I think it was more to do with the cleaning agents they used rather than the floor being dirty. I'm sure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank debbmm
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff; however, I apologize that your stay with us was not to our company’s high standards. Regarding dishware, while we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available upon request at the front desk... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#15 of 22 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 22 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
#11 of 22 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#9 of 22 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay