We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1355 E. 83rd Ave., Merrillville, IN 46410 (Formerly Extended Stay America Efficiency Studios Merrillville)
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    10
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
5
21
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Orlando
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't realize that "no frills" meant there wouldn't be a hair dryer, nor ice machine. True we had an ice tray in our refrigerator but by the time ice formed, it would be time to leave. I have to say it was really clean and quiet. No juice for breakfast and the hot water tasted like it had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

This hotel was perfect for my one night family stay after a wet camping trip. First, I got a great rate. However, I only booked my wife and myself in an accessible room with one bed. Right after I booked it, my son called and asked if he, his wife, and his baby could stay with us because they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am thrilled to hear that we provided you with a home away from home experience. I’m so glad we were able to accommodate your needs with a great rate and our fully equipped kitchens. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Worst stay ever. Not worth the issues that we were surrounded with at all.The staff had no eye contact because they knew the hotel lacked everything I complained about. Was not allowed to print my boarding pass to fly out so I had to go to a library.Such am inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will be retraining our front desk staff to ensure they provide each guest with professional customer service. Thank you very much for... More 

Cape Cod
Level Contributor
195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Nice staff at the front desk both checking in and out. Room was spacious but surprised they had kitchenette but not even a spoon. I didn't feel totally clean...not dirty by any means but the "kitchen" floor was sticky. I think it was more to do with the cleaning agents they used rather than the floor being dirty. I'm sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff; however, I apologize that your stay with us was not to our company’s high standards. Regarding dishware, while we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available upon request at the front desk... More 

Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Mainly stayed @ this hotel due to the fact that they do accept pets ~ We did arrive before the 3 pm check-in & the desk clerk, Richard, had no problem checking us in early. That was a plus as we had been driving for about 9 hours! Our room had been recently remodeled - I give the room cleanliness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Nice grounds and rooms. Comfortable stay. A good place to stay if you travel with pets. Rooms were quiet. Ask for dishes/silver/glassware at check-in if you plan to cook in your room. We brought a cat and dog and the room was large enough for all of us to be comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am thrilled we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and were able to accommodate your needs. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Effingham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The rooms were filthy, you could smell pot as you walked down the hallway. It was loud. There were dirty towels in the bathroom, and beds were old you could feel the springs. It was an absolute dump We booked this hotel because the hotwire ratings said 85% would stay there again. No way this dump deserves that rating. Think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered. To uphold our company’s high standards, we will be sure to closely inspect all rooms prior to guest arrivals to make sure each guest has a clean and comfortable experience. Thank you... More 

Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The reception area was slightly busy with one receptionist and two other families working on obtaining rooms. The receptionist was extremely kind, acknowledged me within moments of walking in, and after locating rooms for the other families, she immediately took care of me. The two families and myself had ALL checked in three hours prior to check in. She did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback great feedback in regards to our clean and quiet rooms. It is so great to read that you received such friendly and accommodating service from my staff. We are proud to have met your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Arrived late to the hotel. Only one clerk so it was a long wait. Finally arrived to our room and the kitchen was gross. Stove was not wiped down, still had Mac n cheese on it from the last guest. The fridge was not cleaned either. Still has crumbs in it. Kitchen Walls not wiped down, looked like weeks of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies that you experienced such severe cleanliness issues during your stay with us, and that it took my staff so many tries to provide you with a clean room. Please know that I will be working directly with my... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#8 of 22 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#1 of 22 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#15 of 22 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
#14 of 22 in Merrillville
3.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#9 of 22 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay