We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Merrillville

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel deals
Hotel website
8353 Georgia Street, Merrillville, IN 46410 6290
Special Offer
Summer Splash Package
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PATSY_BDayton DAYTON
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    106
    61
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
36
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
DAYTON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean hotel in a convenient location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Guest rooms are small but clean and well maintained. The breakfast is good and adequate but the breakfast area is quite small.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4-star review! We take all reviews - both negative and positive - very seriously, and we try to learn a lesson from each and every one of them. I hope that if your travels find you back in Merrillville, you will consider us again. Have a great day! - Bethany Ward, Assistant General Manager More 

Merrillville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I made reservations several weeks in advance and requested adjoining rooms. I was told they could not be 'guaranteed', but that it shouldn't be a problem and they would take care of me. I showed up at the hotel for check in to find out my request was ignored. Not sure how a hotel chain as large as The Hampton... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. We take all reviews - both positive and negative - seriously, and we try to learn a lesson from each and every one! I know that we spoke last week regarding this disappointment for you and your family. I appreciate you voicing those concerns with the system so that we can... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would say that minimum brand standards were met at this property. Room was mostly clean. The small lobby was having issues with rain coming in which made it smell a bit musty. It isn't the worst place I have stayed, that is for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We take all reviews - both positive and negative - seriously, and we try to learn lessons from each and every one of them. To address the issue with the rain, that is currently an in-progress project that we are hoping to have fixed VERY soon. I'm so sorry that... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here 100 nights or so and if it were for the lack of room upgrade options and a restaurant, I'd stay even more. Phone controlled TV remote, night light in the bathroom, USB plugs near the bed, the friendliest breakfast attendant in the world, great staff (with one or two exceptions), the AC units allow the fan to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 4-star review! We take all reviews - both negative and positive - seriously, and we learn from each of them. We love knowing that when you come back to Merrillville, we'll be seeing you again!! Have a wonderful day! - Bethany Ward, Assistant General Manager More 

Becker, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good: ~ the breakfast was good and there was plenty of variety The bad: ~ our non-smoking room smelled like smoke ~ after reading the reviews, I was expecting a more comfortable bed. It was average at best. We've had better at other Hampton's. ~ noisy family next to us combined with thin walls and slamming doors. ~ the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and concerns. We take all reviews - both positive and negative - very seriously and learn from them! I am so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you exepected it to be! We strive to make sure all of our guests are happy, comfortable and... More 

Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a Sunday and they were waiting for me, check-in was a breeze. I had a King room which had a microwave and small refrigerator as well. Bathroom was arranged nicely, and the room was very clean. The workout facility is decent and the pool area is okay as well. Breakfast was very good and the staff was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 4-star review! We take all reviews - both negative and positive - seriously, and we learn from each of them. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide a restful stay for you and hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Merrillville. Have a wonderful day!... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Love the Hampton Inn. Decent clean rooms. Good shower pool no hot tub. Will try the Holiday Inn Express across the street next week. No surprises. Great stay. Try Portillo's around the bend. Lots of good eats and close enough to Chicago for day trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany S, Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sad that are considering staying with another hotel, but the Holiday Inn Express here in Merrillville is another great property. They have features similar to ours and will happily take great care of you. If... More 

Birmingham, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Typical Hampton, clean and comfortable. Just no working elevator. Beds are comfortable. TV and Internet work fine. Hotel personel are fine. I am typing because in order for this to save I have to have 200 characters minimum. So they apparently want me to ramble which is not very helpful to you who need a true review. I would stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that the elevator was not working during your stay. We do our very best to make every guest's stay a great one and I'm sorry that we were not able to do so for you. Our elevator does not have issues regularly and we had our maintenance department inspect as to why the... More 

Wake Forest, Nc
Level Contributor
344 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

This area is dotted with chain hotels and this one is tucked down an access road off the interstate in a sort of out-of-the way location. One enters into a very small lobby and at first that made the hotel seem a bit dumpy. That feeling was dispelled almost at once by the cheer and charm of the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brittany S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review! As you stated we do have a small lobby/breakfast area. However, we provide amazing service to our guests and we will always do whatever we can to accommodate our guests. I appreciate your feedback and I hope you come back and visit us again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We stayed here for the Crossroads of Northwest Indiana Marathon. The staff went out of their way to give us directions, advise us on restaurants, and hold the room for a late checkout for us. We really needed a shower after the marathon, before we boarded the plane. It was greatly appreciated. Always nice to stay at a Hampton Inn... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brittany S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Merrillville, responded to this review

Congrats on participating in the marathon! I hope you did well and had a lot of fun! Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff members. We will always do whatever we can to accommodate a guest and I'm pleased that we could accommodate you during your stay with us. I hope that you will come back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay