We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Merrillville hotels

Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
36%
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kathy S Lansing, United States
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    16
    12
    15
See reviews for
33
11
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel has very good workers but yet they give them NOTHING to work for. Just hope they get all the experience they need and move on to bigger and better things. I was told the same owners of this hotel also own the Best Western around the corner, that one has just been remodeled, why would they pick that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will certainly forward your comments to the management staff for their consideration and updates. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. More

chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon entering this Hotel it is very clear that the place is unkempt and filthy. The common area's smell, are dirty, the carpets are filthy in all areas and one can tell that nobody is keeping an eye on details. I booked a two room suite for the weekend for myself, my daughter and her friend, as they were participating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced problems during your recent visit with us. Your experience is not typical of our hotel and services, however, we do appreciate your feedback so we can address the items mentioned and make improvements. We do appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon. More

Lansing, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was kind and the room was neat. We were unable to swim in the pool because it was so cold and the hot tub was empty. I know hotels are often cool, but this was not even swimmable. Nothing was listed on the website regarding this and it was a real disappointment. If you are just coming to... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the pool issue and the inconvenience to you. We do appreciate your comments so we know of your experience. Your business is important to us and we thank you for staying with us. More

Oak Lawn, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The highlight was the breakfast. Everything else was average. Pool was so over chlorinated my daughter's bathing suit was dripping in its color, which was hot pink. The location was great. By Southlake Mall, lots of restaurants and County Line Orchard.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. The bathing suit cannot be explained since our pool tested with proper chemical balance. Your business is important to us and is greatly appreciated. More

Belle Plaine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To Whom It May Concern, I want to respond to your request for feedback regarding our stay at the Merrilville, IN Country Inn and Suites on August 15, 2014. Your hotel was booked for a specific reason, as we were traveling cross-country with 3 adults and two children (one of whom is special needs) and needed a pull-out sofa bed... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the issue that you encountered with the sofa beds, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to you. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you will let us serve you again. More

Grant, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Breakfast has not been as good as what it has been in the past. The eggs were very sorry and the potatoes. There was smoking and drinking outside the front entrance and I did not appreciate that. they also threw their cigarette butts on the ground in front of the entrance and were very loud.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the issue that you encountered with noise from other guest. We will look at the breakfast items mentioned to see if we can make improvements, I am glad you found the room to be clean and comfortable. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing... More

merrillville in, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Management not investing in the hotel. Family running it into the ground. Doesn't meet the Carlson or County Suites quality by far. Worn down, phones and hot tub not working for months and no assistance. Sleep next door have to use their pool anyways.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care. More

Huntington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was dirty with hair and sticky stuff all over counters, tables, etc. We asked that it get a thorough cleaning the next day while we were away, but upon return our bed was made and one counter had been wiped. Very disappointing. In general the construction of the room was poor and the bedroom door of the suite... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care. More

Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel was convenient to lots of shops and restaurants. The room was ok, but the carpet had stains on it and didn't look very clean. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and there was hair in the tub. The breakfast was ok and the staff was friendly. My real issue was the door key not working consistently.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will certainly make repairs and adjustments that you mentioned. Your comments are always welcome so we can make these repairs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. More

Canton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The town is close to Chicago and Gary, we didn't feel very safe there. We like this hotel chain, but we weren't completely satisfied with the hotel staff. The pet-friendly feature is nice. The breakfast is excellent, as usual at Country Inns.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Your business is important to us and is greatly appreciated. More

Do you own or manage Country Inns & Suites By Carlson?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Inns & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Address: 8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Carlson, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inns & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Country Inn

13 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Enlarge Map