We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Merrillville hotels

Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
37%
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Charles I Centerville, Ohio, United States
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    16
    13
    15
See reviews for
34
12
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Centerville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel provides very good value, is a little hard to find in the cluster of hotels in this city. It would appear that the management has "screwed down the cost control of manpower" a little too tight. Luckily the desk clerk was good at riding out the storm pretty well and put on a great face for the hotel... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita S, Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to your next stay. More

Sioux Center, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family in a nearby town. I'm not sure if everyone else expects more than us or if we're just easy to please but our stay here was fine. Our room was on the second floor next to the stairway. It was quiet except for when a loud family came in late at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as friendly and helpful as possible. It is wonderful to hear of the great impression we made with our amenities and services. We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to serving you again... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was not very clean and the hotel hasn't been updated to todays standards. We visit this area often, but will not stay here again. The corporation needs to take a good look at this location and do some updating.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita S, Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will certainly forward your comments to the management staff for their consideration and updates. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has very good workers but yet they give them NOTHING to work for. Just hope they get all the experience they need and move on to bigger and better things. I was told the same owners of this hotel also own the Best Western around the corner, that one has just been remodeled, why would they pick that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will certainly forward your comments to the management staff for their consideration and updates. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. More

chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon entering this Hotel it is very clear that the place is unkempt and filthy. The common area's smell, are dirty, the carpets are filthy in all areas and one can tell that nobody is keeping an eye on details. I booked a two room suite for the weekend for myself, my daughter and her friend, as they were participating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced problems during your recent visit with us. Your experience is not typical of our hotel and services, however, we do appreciate your feedback so we can address the items mentioned and make improvements. We do appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon. More

Lansing, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The staff was kind and the room was neat. We were unable to swim in the pool because it was so cold and the hot tub was empty. I know hotels are often cool, but this was not even swimmable. Nothing was listed on the website regarding this and it was a real disappointment. If you are just coming to... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the pool issue and the inconvenience to you. We do appreciate your comments so we know of your experience. Your business is important to us and we thank you for staying with us. More

Oak Lawn, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The highlight was the breakfast. Everything else was average. Pool was so over chlorinated my daughter's bathing suit was dripping in its color, which was hot pink. The location was great. By Southlake Mall, lots of restaurants and County Line Orchard.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. The bathing suit cannot be explained since our pool tested with proper chemical balance. Your business is important to us and is greatly appreciated. More

Belle Plaine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

To Whom It May Concern, I want to respond to your request for feedback regarding our stay at the Merrilville, IN Country Inn and Suites on August 15, 2014. Your hotel was booked for a specific reason, as we were traveling cross-country with 3 adults and two children (one of whom is special needs) and needed a pull-out sofa bed... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the issue that you encountered with the sofa beds, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to you. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you will let us serve you again. More

Grant, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Breakfast has not been as good as what it has been in the past. The eggs were very sorry and the potatoes. There was smoking and drinking outside the front entrance and I did not appreciate that. they also threw their cigarette butts on the ground in front of the entrance and were very loud.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the issue that you encountered with noise from other guest. We will look at the breakfast items mentioned to see if we can make improvements, I am glad you found the room to be clean and comfortable. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing... More

merrillville in, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Management not investing in the hotel. Family running it into the ground. Doesn't meet the Carlson or County Suites quality by far. Worn down, phones and hot tub not working for months and no assistance. Sleep next door have to use their pool anyways.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Inns & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Address: 8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inns & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Country Inn

13 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay