We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Merrillville hotels

Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
41%
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Merrillville
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TeeQue Stockbridge, Georgia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (13)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    13
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
11
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was convenient to lots of shops and restaurants. The room was ok, but the carpet had stains on it and didn't look very clean. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and there was hair in the tub. The breakfast was ok and the staff was friendly. My real issue was the door key not working consistently.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will certainly make repairs and adjustments that you mentioned. Your comments are always welcome so we can make these repairs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. More

Canton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The town is close to Chicago and Gary, we didn't feel very safe there. We like this hotel chain, but we weren't completely satisfied with the hotel staff. The pet-friendly feature is nice. The breakfast is excellent, as usual at Country Inns.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Your business is important to us and is greatly appreciated. More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since I am now a gold club member for Country Inn and Suites, I feel that this is a chain you want to utilize when you need a hotel - but investigate each property before you sign on the dotted line because each one is different than the next.....i came to stay here for some much needed r and r... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as a Gold member, you know a good CI&S so your comments are important and welcome. We use these comments to make sure we are meeting our guest expectations. Next time you need R&R just head our way. We appreciate your business. More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The price was right so I booked this and only then looked at the other reviews. I was pleasantly surprised, though, with our stay. Our room was fine and very clean; sure, the tv was an older model, but I wasn't there to spend alot of time watching tv anyway so no problem. The breakfast was pretty typical of other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the issue that you encountered with the guest above you, though I am glad you found the room to be clean and comfortable. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you will let us serve you again. More

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel to this area of Indiana at least once a year - when I arrived late after a long day of travel I found the hotel to be understaffed (it was only 11pm). I also was not recognized as a Club Carlson member, which I found very odd. My room seemed very dirty. The couch and sitting chair both... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your recent stay. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope for another chance in the future to exceed your expectations! More

Marion IN, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in need of renovation. Traffic noise from hotel is loud and makes for an uncomfortable sleep. Breakfast was terrible. will not stay here again. Paid too much for room for this bad of an experience.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. More

Merrillville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did the virtual tour and it looked like the standard Country Inn. I reserved the 1 bdrm suite. When we checked in, the rooms were incredibly dark, the furnishings were pretty run down and there were tube tv's. The next morning my kids complained about how uncomfortable the sleeper sofa was. We asked to change rooms but the second... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn standards. More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was not our best stay at a Country Inns and Suites hotel. Upon check in we were told the key maker was not working and they gave us a hard key to open the door. We were told under no circumstances to misplace the key as it was the ONLY one they had for that room. The carpets on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing these issues to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us... More

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed over for one night here, renting a jacuzzi room. The first room we entered was FREEZING and the AC could not be turned off. This room was clean, but definitely had wear and tear. After wasting precious time with it, we were finally moved to another jacuzzi room, since the AC just would not shut off. THe new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing these issues to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Key maker was not working so we were given a metal key to open door. Of course it did not work, but even better we were told we were on the hook for a $500 charge if anything happened to the key. TV would not fetch $10 at a yard sale, and neither end of the cable connection could be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. Thank you for your valuable feedback. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Inns & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Address: 8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inns & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Country Inn

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Merrillville with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Merrillville
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are conveniently located right off of i-65 & us30. Fairly new cozy property with 62 units including rooms with 2 beds, Jacuzzis and extended stay suites. We offer beautiful indoor pool, spa, workout facility, free breakfast, has Internet and 24 hours fresh cookies. We are under new management and assure you 100% satisfaction. We are a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
62

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Country Inns & Suites By Carlson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer