We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8300 Louisiana St, I-65 at Hwy 30E Ext 253, Merrillville, IN 46410-6312
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    19
    24
    20
    27
See reviews for
36
13
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room had an odor to it and when I sit on the bed I kept feeling something biting me. It also made my allergies kick in and I could not breath. I usually like Super 8 but I would not recommend this in. Cosmetics - door handles on outside entrance doors were missing plus - to many to count.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I called for rate they give me a cheaper rate and at the time of check in they give me a higher rate I have no choice left as it was midnight and the front desk Old man was sleeping . I woke him up , they I went in the room the look like it was used by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

I apolozise for the rudeness of the employee. I am thankful to you for letting us know and taking time. I surely assure you and all guest that this will not be tolerated and won't happen again. Yhank you for staying at Super 8 Merrillville. More 

Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, when we first walked Up to the desk the place smelled Of mold. The receptionist was extremely nice and helpful but when we got to our room it reeked of urine! It smelled like several people or several animals had urinated all over the carpet! it made me sick on my stomach! I went downstairs immediately and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

I apolozise for any inconvinency. I will make sure that the smell will be removed from the room. We thanks you for the review and your time to give us feed back. More 

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Highland, indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I called near midnight the night before to make an early arrival reservation for the next day at a special price rate. When I arrived the desk had no record of this but they honored it. The room was clean and the beds were nice

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

We appriciate taking time to write about us. We are glad that your stay was good and comfortable. We will keep working like this and make all efforts to make our valuable guest happy. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

This place is by far the worst hotel/motel I've ever stayed in. Everything that could be wrong with a hotel was wrong here. My boyfriend and I were looking for a hotel. We have a dog with us. He gets the pet friendly room and I walk in with our dog. The guy at the front desk looks at us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your uncomfortable stay. We are pet friendly means we allow pet in room with small fee and fully refundable deposit. We had to impose this policy because of past bad experience taht pet pee/poo in the room, smell, hairs, damage of doors and carpet. I apolozise for rudeness of desk clerk and he has... More 

Waseca, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Charged more than quoted on phone when reserving room. Non-working vending machine. We were told they would tell maintenance on Monday (After our stay). Unrequested wake up calls at 4 and 6am. When asked about they said it was automated and not their fault. Banging on neighboring wall that was so loud it woke all three of us. This continued... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to report your experience. I am sorry to hear about all the inconvoences. I will look into the matter seriously and make all the efforts to prevent these. Thanks and hope see you soon. More 

Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Two of the three room lights did not work. Never could get the shower to work. Toilet seat was not attached to the toilet! The non-smoking room smelled of tobacco after housekeeping was finished.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We apolozise but we could have serviced you for the light and shower if you should have called the front desk person. light is working on sensors. Any way we will make sure that it will be takencare of. We hope to see you soon. More 

indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I got a room for a traveling relative at the last moment and it worked out very well!!Ahsan tried very hard to make everyone happy and it worked.He upgraded the room to 2 Queen beds for no extra charge.The room was clean,the hotel had access to everything you need for a one nighter.Thanks AHSAN!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

We are glad to know that your stay wae good and we have full filled your expectations. We appreciate your business as well as your feedback. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Ahsan is the best! He took the time to find me the room that best met my needs. It has New furniture that is beautiful....and the bathroom is very clean...very,very important. Ahsan also came outside on a very cold night to show me the best place to park my truck...great service and a great room....at a great price! I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kishor p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, responded to this review

Pl accept my sincere thanks for takin time to write a review. Guest like you are pleasure. I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. Again thank you for staying with us and always ready to wel come you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay