We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Merrillville hotels

Red Roof Inn - Merrillville

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8290 Georgia St, Merrillville, IN 46406227
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn - Merrillville to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Merrillville
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Wendi D
  • Overview
  • Reviews (106)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    20
    12
    21
See reviews for
19
23
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stopped here for just one night from a return trip to South Carolina from Minnesota...the lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful...and Brandee Suu our chocolate lab was welcome...the only thing that I was not happy with was....no military discount and the rooms were kind of small but everything else was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that Brandee Shu found our Inn to be a great little resting spot. We always look forward to hearing our guest about there stay. Your comments help us to understand the things that we are doing right and areas of opportunity that we need to focus... More

Canton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For $70 I expect a little more. I would expect some sort of breakfast and a coffee pot in the room, but neither were provided. Room was clean (except for the stick in the corner, still not sure what that was all about) and the lady who checked us in was very nice. The walk ways, stairs and balconies were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremely sorry that the exterior of our building was not clean as it should have been. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff regarding your experience and reiterate to my entire team the importance of curb appeal. I am pleased to hear that... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stay in RRIs all over, and have been a redicard member since the program began. I have been in RRI's that are truly "newly remodeled' and delightful (especially Naperville IL and Madison WI) but this one doesn't deserve that designation. I stayed here 4 years ago and it is virtually the same, but with 4 years of wear showing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, and the condition of the property. We have had some improvements in the last few years, such as; exterior paint, carpeting, beds, drapes and TV's. However, you are correct Naperville had a complete renovation and they are now considered... More

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and.I stayed here on a last minute get out of the house get away. With last minute concert tickets in hand we chose a hotel with one consideration, price. Red Roof Inn is not the Hilton, and they don't pass themselves off for it BUT... When we arrived I thought we had entered a trailer park. A lady... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I can only imagine your frustration, a dirty room does not make for a pleasant visit and it is totally unacceptable. I am extremely sorry we fell below your expectations. I appreciate and have shared your honest feedback with my entire staff in an effort to make this an... More

Houghton, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our double room, $63.20 for two including tax, was so small that there was only room for one person at a time to pass in front of the bed, but it was fine for one night, the price was certainly right and it had all the amenities, from wifi to a microwave/fridge with the exception of a coffeemaker. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

All I can say is....WOW what a great review!! I thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day, it always make me happy to hear positive feedback from our guest. The staff works extremely hard to provide you our valued guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Front desk staff very friendly good value for the money clean rooms nicely updated inside nice hot shower no problems with this hotel would recommend many food choices nearby and also right next to the mall.............................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. The our Front Desk staff will be so happy that you found them to be friendly. We work hard to provide you our guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring you back... More

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Basic conveniences for a reasonable price. There was a cold spell, but the heating was quite adequate. Service/maintenance a bit spotty: no attempt to plow parking lot and very little snow removal from door entrances. After the first night I returned to my room at 1pm. As it has not yet been done and I wanted to take nap, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to hearing our guest about there stay. Your review helps us to understand the things that we are doing right and areas of opportunity that we need to focus on in order to enhance our guest stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a... More

Morris, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I am working about 10 miles from Merrillville and five minutes from Schereville. The hotels there are almost twice what I paid for Red Roof Inn. I expected a far insuperior room but instead I got a much smaller room but very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly while checking in and out. I will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the manager of this property, I read every review, survey, comment card that a guest presents us with and try to respond accordingly. We also use all surveys, reviews, and comment cards as training tools to help the entire staff work toward providing our guest with a memorable and... More

Warsaw, Indiana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For a motel this is about the best you will find. Location is great and the staff is extremely helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are a little small but the are clean and comfortable. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. The staff will be so happy that you found them to be helpful. We work hard to provide you our valued guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring you back Merrillville area.... More

Monterey, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well Id ont know bout anyone else but I really enjoyed my stay here. had the Superior King room and it was great. Well the pillows need some work. They are hard as a rock so bring your own. Stayed for the ND game last week and will do it again. Clean, handy to Interstate,close to every thing. Food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. It always make me happy to hear positive feedback from our guest. The staff works extremely hard to provide you our valued guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring you back Merrillville... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn - Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Merrillville

Address: 8290 Georgia St, Merrillville, IN 46406227
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Merrillville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrillville Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Merrillville

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
108

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer