We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Merrillville

Hotel website
Hotel deals
8375 Georgia St., Merrillville, IN 46410
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Merrillville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Merrillville
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
3
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Jackson, tn
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Stayed here on my to Minneapolis. Weather was nasty and was happy to spot this HIX from the freeway. Staff helpful, courteous. Rooms clean and quiet. The hotel is on the smaller side but had more than adequate parking. There are multiple eating places in handy locations on the same side street. Nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Hello RobboJackson_tn, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you found our hotel to be clean and in a great location. There is so much to do in Merrillville. We hope that you would choose to stay with us again when in Merrillville. Shelli W General Manager More 

Cadillac, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Traveling on business to Chicago, this property location was the perfect distance out of the city. Located in a really nice community with excellent selection of restaurants and shopping. Nice clean, safe city. Though this property is older, it is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff, Erik, was outstanding! He was so kind and helpful. Excellent example of what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Hello Travelqueen1968 Thanks so much for the positive review. We appreciate any and all feedback. Erik also thanks you for the nice comment. He is always happy to assist guests at any time. We hope to see you back again soon. Shelli W General Manager More 

Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We attended my husband's coworkers wedding and we decided to stay overnight here. I've been to a few Holiday Inn, this particular one is older. We came 2 hours early and I was able to check in early. Our room is clean and just like the other reviews I've read, I love their pillows. Other reviews says that it's next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Hello, We are very happy that you loved our staff and hotel during your stay. We do indeed have a great staff. We treat everyone like family and they all love being a part of it. It truly shows with every guest interaction. We hope you would consider staying with again if your in the Merrillville area. Shelli W. General... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Merrillville last night, 10/4/14. The hotel itself was run down and in need of an upgrade. I booked a Jacuzzi room and although it was clean, it smelt musty and certain fixtures were falling apart. I probably will not stay at a Holiday Inn again. I kind of knew better, but was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Dear calista43, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your facility and address your concerns you had. We take all reviews, good or bad in a very seriously. We have noted your comments for review with ownership; We Also would like to thank you for the wonderful comments about Mary. Finding the right staff that is not... More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were awesome! On each bed, there were 2 "soft" and 2 "hard" pillows. The only negatives were that the bathroom counter was very small, and there was no hook on the back of the door for clothes; also, there was no place made in the shower for the soap and shampoo, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Hi betty b, Thank you very much for your review. I am happy that we were able to quickly correct the billing error. We love our staff here and it shows though to our guests.. Be sure to try is again when traveling in the Merrillville Area! Shelli W. General Manager More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I would plan on staying some place else. Nothing special about this hotel. Room wasn't ready at 2:45 in afternoon. Also room stunk and, it was loud. Windows thin and, close to I-65. There are several choices in the area to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Hello Jason, Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We do greatly appreciate your business. We apologize that your room was not quite ready when you arrived. I assure you that we located a clean comfortable room for you as quickly as possible. Thank you again. Shelli W. General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I will not stay here again. All rooms have a musty smell and overall the hotel needs a renovation. At check in the kid (front desk clerk) was unprofessional and the mgr was right next to him I will go across the street to the Hampton or Marriott next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you very much for taking to review your facility and address your concerns you had. We take all reviews, good or bad in a very seriously. We have discussed your issues with your maintenance department and have corrected the issue in the room you were staying. If you have any further concerns or comments, please feel free... More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff at this Holiday Inn Express was great during check in and again in the morning during breakfast. It is one of the pricier Expresses that we have stayed in, but not as updated. We had no complaints about the size of the room. The problem that we encountered was the room was not clean. The bathroom needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Dear Sonnie B, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our staff commendable. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we are working diligently on training to improve on guest services.... More 

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
60 hotel reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I will do this review in bullet point to save time. 1) Location: Off on a side road of US 30 which lowered the road noise in the room. 2) Check in: flawless. Very nice young lady checked us in. No upgrades were available but that was due to the place being booked. I can live with that it happens.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I found this hotel to be extremely pricey for what you got. The rooms were the smallest I have stayed in all year and we have stayed in hotels at least 10 weekends with my daughter's soccer team. The 3 or 4 Extended Stay rooms were very spacious with only a king, but we were mislead on the wording on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review

Dear bugphobic_10, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that you found the room size to be smaller than you have expected. We thank you for staying with us and we wish you the best of luck for your daughter during the tournament. Shelli W General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities