We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Madison

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Franks Dr., Madison, IN 47250
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Madison
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015
Chris G Tecumseh, Michigan
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
16
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Tecumseh, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Traveled to Madison on a last minute business trip. Check in using their android IHG app, very easy to use I might add. Arrived at the hotel (which if you are not from the area and its dark you can easily miss it). The hotel itself was a little out dated. The evening staff was friendly and nice. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIExpress2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and let me apologize for the problems you experienced. Our desk staff is trained to make certain everyone is happy with their stay before they leave, and I am sorry the person that checked you out dropped the ball. I would love to have you stay with us again, and give... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Great breakfast and liked free internet. We have stayed at Holiday Inn express locations frequently, was shocked when ever found the fold out couch for kids was a single. Wish we had known ahead of time. All the others we stayed at have had double fold out beds

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

Dear Janice6881 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am glad you appreciated our convenient location and pleased to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. However, I would like to apologize for the fact that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us due to the size... More 

Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We got in late, staff was very pleasant. Our room was clean. The bed was so comfortable. TV worked without problems. We slept good (always a plus). They kept breakfast open longer d/t so many people in the morning. Which was a plus to us since we slept in. Staff ,again, were very nice. Thank you, Madison, In HIE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This was a very nice motel for the Hanover College Homecoming. It was not as close to campus as we would have liked to be but very convenient. There was a large group of 50th anniversary graduates there. They seemed to have a wonderful time and it was clear that they were getting special accommodations. The was an issue with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We were amazed at the disservice to guests and staff that this inn displayed. We arrived on a Friday night to attend a city-wide, major art fair event called Chautauqua. The hotel was sold out, so we were not surprised to encounter a line-up at a 7 PM check in. But the poor clerk! She was alone, doing check-in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

Dear Kay M, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received... More 

Mount Vernon, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express over the Labor Day weekend. We arrived late on a Saturday evening, five or six o'clock, and were having a difficult time finding a place to stay. After numerous phone calls we found a vacancy at this motel. We made a reservation sight unseen, because we were getting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIExpress2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your problems during your stay at our hotel. Had you alerted the desk staff at the time about the bedding and whirlpool issues, they would have moved you to another room or brought fresh linens and made your bed for you. I apologize also for the desk clerk at check out. Our staff... More 

West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Our teenage sons were disappointed they could not go for a swim in the indoor pool after a day of hiking because the water was too cold (my niece and nephew reached the same conclusion). My sons enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIExpress2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for your response ! I'm sorry your boys didn't enjoy the pool. You might be interested to know that we are now renovating the pool to convert it to a saline pool. On your next visit to Madison, please stop back and check it out for us ! Sincerely, Bonnie Wheeler General Manager More 

Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Madison. The hotel is located north of the center of Madison in a commercial area on highway Indiana 62; the location is not as good as that of the Comfort Inn as it's more complicated to access downtown Madison or Hanover College. The room was clean, pleasant and quiet. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HIExpress2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for answering our survey and for your kind review. I am always pleased to hear when our staff has met or exceeded a guests' expectations. Unfortunately, there are some things beyond our control (such as location), but hopefully our added effort to create a pleasant stay helped. Please stay with us again soon ! Bonnie Wheeler, CHA General... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

There are very few great hotels in Madison so the choice is pretty limited to a few national chains, a couple of "no-tell" motels, and a few locally owned places. I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express several times and what I'll say is that the staff is what makes this place shine. The hotel has been through a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

Dear Scott M, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was a nice hotel which has recently been updated. We had a king suite with whirlpool. It was a spacious, nicely appointed room. The bed was comfortable. There were a few mechanical things which needed work -- the air conditioner was noisy when it kicked on and the switch on the whirlpool didn't work. Breakfast was OK, but could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HIExpress2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Madison, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about our hotel. We have addressed the maintenance problem with the Jacuzzi and noisy air conditioner unit. I know when I travel sometimes the different sounds of strange locations are bothersome. I apologize the Breakfast Attendant didn't get the breakfast replenished in a timely fashion. We have addressed proper staffing during busy times and believe this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question