We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Inn

Hotel website
Affiliate website
831 East Main St, Madison, IN 47250
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillside Inn
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've stayed at Hillside several times and it's been wonderful every time. Pleasant staff, clean rooms and beautiful views. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the Ohio River. We love it and will be staying again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crawfordsville,Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We thought this hotel was OK, but we were a bit disappointed during our recent stay. The elevator was not working and our tub did not drain. Breakfast was OK, but I have had better. All of the employees were fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third visit to Madison, IN for the annual River Roots Music & Arts Festival. Each year, we make sure we stay at the Hillside Inn. The historic Hotel has a wonderful past that you must experience to fully appeciate. The rooms are fabulously clean, and some have spectacular views of the Ohio River. They serve a complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We really do love making our guests feel right at home and are thrilled that you found our staff so helpful. Please feel free to give us a call when you are ready to come back at Hillside Inn . More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love the charming quietness of this hotel. Great view of the Ohio river and walking distance to many great restaurants. The price is also very good and great people to make your stay enjoyable. Great little breakfast room with plenty of choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your kind feedback for the Hillside Inn is truly appreciated. We are glad you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and convenient. It was truly our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Hillside Inn management. More 

Troy, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I and my mother-in-law stayed here for one night returning from the Gulf Coast to Michigan in late April. I had checked in and then was told that we were on the third (top) floor, as the heat wasn't on and heat rises, so we should be all right. We should have been told of this before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. We are very sorry for any inconveniences that occurred during your stay at our property. We appreciate your input as we continually work to improve our guest experience. If you are ever in the Madison ,Indiana area, we hope that you will give us the opportunity... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want very clean comfortable rooms and bathroom, amazing views and the best customer service then stay here. If you want a glitzy lobby and business centre and the Hilton amenities then this is not the place for you. Just returned from Madison - first time visit and first stay at this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Trip Advisor. I am happy you chose us for your recent stay at Hillside Inn. Our staff is very very happy to know that they were able to contribute to making your stay a enjoyable and memorable one. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We looked at all the hotels in the area and choose this after seeing the history and reviews. This hotel is definitely a step back in time. The rooms are updated and clean. The staff is super nice! And so helpful! Definitely will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you recent review on TripAdvisor and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We are happy that we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for the great comments! Best Regards, Hillside Inn Management More 

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Stayed at the Hillside Inn weekend of April 17-19th. Very clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff with excellent advice on the town. Great view of the town and the river. We'll stay there again without a second thought. Excellent weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and post about the Hillside Inn. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations at out beautiful hotel while in Madison. We do hope that you make your next trip to Madison as memorable as your last and we look forward to providing you with our most excellent accommodations. Thank you, Hillside Inn... More 

Chicago
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Rebuilt in 1970, the place does not appear to have been painted since then. Hallways are dirty with spots worn thru the rugs. Elevator not working. The touted view, for which you're charged extra, is nothing to write home about. You'd have a much better free view from the city-long riverfront park. No proper desk, but a dinette-style table with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We regret that your stay was not satisfactory to your liking; however we do provide elegant river view rooms that have breath-taking vistas. Unfortunately at the time you had checked into the hotel the elevator was temporary out of service due to repair maintenance.... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

My fiance and I were visiting Madison for a few days during a small vacation. The hotel was a surprise, I had no idea it was going to be so beautiful. We stayed in a suite on the third floor overlooking the Ohio river. Our room (including the deluxe whirlpool tub!) was as clean as clean could be and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HILLSIDEINN_10, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you chose us and that we were more than you expected. Housekeeping certainly does a fantastic job and I will make sure they see you kind words.We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for bringing to our attention areas in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay